User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Canon offers locking mode dial upgrade for 5D Mark II, 7D

  1. #1
    Ausphotography Regular JimD's Avatar
    Join Date
    16 Mar 2009
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    1,286
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Canon offers locking mode dial upgrade for 5D Mark II, 7D

    .
    .
    .
    .
    f o t o w o r x

    People taking the time out to give me CC is always very much appreciated

  2. #2
    Account Closed
    Join Date
    21 Jul 2010
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    422
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

  3. #3
    Member philiph's Avatar
    Join Date
    22 Nov 2010
    Location
    Huon Valley
    Posts
    269
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Has it been an issue? I have never had a problem with it moving by itself only when it doesn't move because I forget to move it!

  4. #4
    It's all about the Light!
    Tech Admin
    Kym's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2008
    Location
    Modbury, Adelaide
    Posts
    9,641
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    regards, Kym Gallery Honest & Direct Constructive Critique Appreciated! ©
    Digital & film, Bits of glass covering 10mm to 500mm, and other stuff



  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    09 Nov 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    34
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hmm, interesting, never had an issue at all.

    It's a $100 button after all

  6. #6
    Account Closed
    Join Date
    03 Mar 2010
    Location
    Townsville
    Posts
    889
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I wouldn't want that.

    Much prefer just to flick through with my thumb without a seperate pressing as well. I've set up the custom user settings with c2 for stationary birds, animals etc, then can flick to c3 in an instant for my BIF optimised settings, usually while my eye is still in the view finder. C3 being the last one is hard to muck up when urgent no matter what mode I'm in, it's just all the way round to the end

    Never had a problem. Hope they dont start putting that as standard.
    Last edited by Art Vandelay; 02-12-2010 at 7:58pm.

  7. #7
    Ausphotography Veteran rwg717's Avatar
    Join Date
    29 Jun 2009
    Location
    Southern NSW
    Posts
    3,569
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    All the manufacturers should be putting these locks on for free, really irritating on Canon, Nikon and Pentax, they all move if you brush something with the unit over your shoulder!
    Richard
    I've been wrong before!! Happy to have constructive criticism though.Gear used Canon 50D, 7D & 5DMkII plus expensive things hanging off their fronts and of course a "nifty fifty".

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    28 Aug 2008
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    1,913
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    would love to have this feature - all too often during work my cameras would get bumped and change the settings, and when i grab it for a quick snapshot its not on the right mode

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    19 Aug 2008
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    365
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Got to admit when I'm flat out in a wedding with my 2 5D's that there's the odd time I've brushed on something and flicked onto something else.
    www.paulmacphotography.com

    If it wasn't for physics and law enforcement I'd be un-stoppable!


  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    08 May 2009
    Location
    Buninyong
    Posts
    1,235
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've never had an issue with the mode dial changing, and need to be able to change it quickly as I flick between custom functions a lot at events so this feature is something I wouldn't want.

    My hassle is the battery grip controls, I'll often accidental change a setting due to the wheel on there when it is hanging just the wrong way at my side on the R-strap. Have to get in the habit of turning it of all the time.
    Mic

    Photography is the art of telling stories with light.

    www.michaelgoulding.com

  11. #11
    Account Closed
    Join Date
    21 Jul 2010
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    422
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    One of those things where you learn to live with what you've got either way. Interesting that Canon has offered the option, I can't figure if they see it as an upgrade or just an option.

  12. #12
    Ausphotography Veteran
    Join Date
    08 Nov 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    3,303
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just noticed an article on dpreview.com re the same issue:

    http://www.dpreview.com/news/1012/10...al5dmkii7d.asp

    It sounds interesting, but I cannot say accidental mode changes have ever been a problem for me, nor have I wished for an ability to physically lock the dial.

    I cannot see myself paying whatever ridiculous price will be charged in Australia for the upgrade; it'll be an expensive solution to a problem I don't have.

  13. #13
    Ausphotography Site Sponsor/Advertiser DAdeGroot's Avatar
    Join Date
    26 Feb 2009
    Location
    Cedar Creek, Qld, Australia
    Posts
    1,890
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I can see that it'd be useful as it's bitten me before (and having no dial on the 1D is fantastic really). Not sure I'd be bothered to retrofit it to the 5DII though.
    Dave

    http://www.degrootphotography.com.au/
    Canon EOS 1D MkIV | Canon EOS 5D MkII | Canon EOS 30D | Canon EF 400mm f/5.6L USM | Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM | Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM | Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM | Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM | Canon TS-E 17mm f/4L & some non-L lenses.

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    30 May 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    2,599
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Occassionally it moves when the camera has been dangling on the strap and it's brushed up against my waist. However, it never bothers me, at most it has taken me a few seconds to work out why a can't adjust the apperture ('cause it's moved onto that mode) etc.

    Not worth either the $100 + or the time without my camera.

    Scotty
    Canon 7D : Canon EF 70-200mm f:2.8 L IS II USM - Canon EF 24-105 f:4 L IS USM - Canon EF 50mm f:1.8 - Canon EF-s 18-55mm f:3.5-5.6
    Sigma APO 150-500mm f:5-6.3 DG OS HSM
    - Sigma 10-20mm f:3.5 EX DC HSM
    Speedlite 580 EX II - Nissin Di866 II - Yongnuo 460-II x2 - Kenko extension tube set - Canon Extender EF 1.4x II
    Manfroto monopod - SILK 700DX Pro tripod - Remote release - Cokin Z-Pro filter box + Various filters

    Current Social Experiment: CAPRIL - Wearing a cape for the month of April to support Beyond Blue
    Visit me on Flickr

  15. #15
    Ausphotography Regular agb's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Sep 2010
    Location
    Cleveland
    Posts
    825
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Happened to me yesterday during the Kill Bill shoot. Suddenly I was on Bulb, and for a while could not work out what had happened. Thanks Allan!! First time for everything and from now on its just one more thing to think about.But I don't think that I will fork out for it.

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    29 Jul 2009
    Location
    Cessnock, NSW AU
    Posts
    472
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It's a real problem for me - crawling around on stage, I tend to get pretty physical, but I often bump the Mode Dial which causes delays and screws with me.
    Has anyone heard if the fix (which should be free) is yet available in Australia?
    .
    Cheers, Mal

    crafthouse images - my Flickr

    Canon EOS 5DM3, 7D and a modest collection of "L" goodies

  17. #17
    Account Closed
    Join Date
    14 Mar 2010
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    79
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The Mode Dial on the 5D2 is the biggest irritant with this camera. I shoot weddings together with a 1D3, and I have to continually monitor what the 5D is doing when I pick it up. With the 1 series cameras it's not possible to knock the mode dial, cause is doesn't have one.

    Common Canon. This is about 2 years overdue! Better still, get rid of the mode dial.

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    08 Oct 2010
    Location
    Greenwich
    Posts
    1,708
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have the locking dial on my 60D and I find it very usefull.
    Previously, I did move the dial unintentionally many times and because I'm often in a hurry with pictures for work, you sometimes don't realise it until you see the shots on screen, and then it's too late!

    Pushing the button and adjusting the dial is no hassle, as you quickly become used to pushing it in with your index finger, while turning it with your thumb and middle finger.
    It becomes quite intuative after you've done it a few times.
    I believe they are charging around $100 for the fix in the US, and personally, if you don't really need it, I wouldn't pay for it, but i'm glad my camera has it.
    All my photos are taken with recycled pixels.
    Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit.
    Wisdom, is knowing not to serve it in a fruit salad.

  19. #19
    Member jeffde's Avatar
    Join Date
    19 Nov 2006
    Location
    Central West NSW
    Posts
    509
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My 7D moves mysteriously - but $100 bit rich..
    Jeff - Jeff D Photography
    Canon -
    http://jeffdphoto.ifp3.com/
    www.jeffdphotography.com.au


  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    18 Nov 2010
    Location
    Santiago
    Posts
    166
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Had several problems with this in my last trip, trekking through national parks in Costa Rica with slight rain and trying to shoot for animals. I needed to have the camera covered (in a bag) and many times I had only a few moments to catch the subject...lost quite a lot of photos

    Is there something similar for Nikon D90?
    From the end of the World with a Nikon D90, Nikon 16/85 3.5-5.6 and Sigma 30 1.4
    Come and visit!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •