Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: setting up a 580exII to fire from a receiver???

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    09 Aug 2007
    Location
    Brisbane - Bayside
    Posts
    3,416

    setting up a 580exII to fire from a receiver???

    OK, I have a light kit with 2 flashes which are easy to use..BUT I'd like to use my 580exII flash as well to lighten up the white background. I use a set of Yongnuo receivers RF-602RX. I have 3 of them but would really know how to get my 580 flash to work from them as well to have that 3rd flash. I've tried and am going to try again tomorrow on my day off but I thought I'd ask today so I can put the method into action tomorrow to make sure it works..What settings do you need to have it on so it works. I tried Manual but is there something else you need to do with it?
    I appreciate any advice....Please help!

    I'm fine with it on camera but when its on the receiver I'm Stumped.
    I'm sure it's something simple.
    Thanks for looking....Cheers,
    Julie-Anne / Julie / Jules / Julesy / JAS

    MY ..... MY BLOG..... Feel free to look.
    Canon 40D / 24-105mm L IS / 70-200mm L IS / 75-300mm / 50mm 1.8 / Sigma 10-20mm / Manfrotto tripod / Bits and pieces to fill the bag.


  2. #2
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    09 Aug 2007
    Location
    Brisbane - Bayside
    Posts
    3,416
    I was hoping to get some help before tomorrow when I'm home to try it.
    Does anyone know?....anything about it.

  3. #3
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    09 Aug 2007
    Location
    Brisbane - Bayside
    Posts
    3,416
    Can ANYONE help out with this???

  4. #4
    In Training MarkChap's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Jan 2008
    Location
    Glendale, Rockhampton, Qld
    Posts
    2,100
    Julie-Anne
    Just set you 580EXII on manual, attach it to the trigger and away you go

    You can dial down the output power by using the cetre wheel on the 580 to get the desired result
    Smoke Alarms Save Lives, Install One Today
    I shoot Canon
    Cheers, Mark


  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    28 Aug 2008
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    1,913
    Hi Julie, just make sure the receivers are all on the same channel too, if u find that they are not all firing at once. Also make sure that none of the flashes are on slave mode as it sometimes interfere with the signal from the receiver from my experiences.

  6. #6
    Ausphotography Site Sponsor/Advertiser DAdeGroot's Avatar
    Join Date
    26 Feb 2009
    Location
    Cedar Creek, Qld, Australia
    Posts
    1,890
    Pretty much been already said, but in case you haven't found it yet, the PC port on the flash is on the left hand side (looking from rear) under the rubber cap at the base. You'll need a PC -> trigger cable.

    Set your 580 to manual mode, dial in the desired flash power (1/1 is probably going to be too much), and try a test flash with the trigger. If it doesn't go off, make sure your receiver is on and on the same channel as the trigger and that the PC port is connected properly.
    Dave

    http://www.degrootphotography.com.au/
    Canon EOS 1D MkIV | Canon EOS 5D MkII | Canon EOS 30D | Canon EF 400mm f/5.6L USM | Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM | Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM | Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM | Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM | Canon TS-E 17mm f/4L & some non-L lenses.

  7. #7
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    09 Aug 2007
    Location
    Brisbane - Bayside
    Posts
    3,416
    Thanks Mark for ringing.

    Yeah, that's what I've tried and I will triple check that everything is switched on. I will get back to you as soon as I know everything is working.

    It had me stumped before but like you said...I could of missed something so simple. (more than likely)

  8. #8
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    09 Aug 2007
    Location
    Brisbane - Bayside
    Posts
    3,416
    Trigger cable..I do have one. I will look later and give it all a test. Thanks you sooo much guys.

    Much appreciated.

  9. #9
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    09 Aug 2007
    Location
    Brisbane - Bayside
    Posts
    3,416
    Well I tested it and it's B!@@dy working.

    God knows what I did wrong but thanks for taking the time to help me.

    Now the family is gone I'm going to have more of a play. (just to make double sure)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •