User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  6
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Silly question I know

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    19 Aug 2010
    Location
    Australind WA
    Posts
    684
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Silly question I know

    Sorry to ask but how do I disable the flash on my 500D? I have looked in the manual & I tried the other night for ages to do it but just cannot work it out. I need to have it off for tonight. Thank you

  2. #2
    Moderately Underexposed I @ M's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 May 2007
    Location
    Marlo, Far East Gippsland
    Posts
    4,911
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Duct tape?

    Sorry, silly response I know but never ever be afraid to ask questions on here. The silliest question is the one that isn't asked.
    Andrew
    Nikon, Fuji, Nikkor, Sigma, Tamron, Tokina and too many other bits and pieces to list.



  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    18 Aug 2010
    Location
    shepparton
    Posts
    2,682
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i have not got a 500 d but i would think if you went into menu you should have disable flash option
    cheers macca

  4. #4
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    19 Aug 2010
    Location
    Australind WA
    Posts
    684
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi macca & Andrew,

    I have been into the menu & cannot find it. I will keep trying. Thank you

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    05 May 2010
    Location
    Launceston
    Posts
    104
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hey Chinook,

    I have a 500D......i hardly ever use the flash. Mate.....might be best to use aperature or shutter priority which allows you to manally control the flash. If not, i think you disable it in custom functions in the menu.

    Regards,
    Thoma

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    23 Sep 2010
    Location
    Orange
    Posts
    131
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I mostly use "P" for perfect mode and the flash is only available if I pop it up, otherwise it stays off.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    05 May 2010
    Location
    Launceston
    Posts
    104
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sorry mate...

    It's in the main menu under 'Flash Control'.

    The following should help.....Is a page from the manual.

    http://gdlp01.c-wss.com/gds/6/030000...00d-imh-en.pdf

    Thoma.

  8. #8
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    28 Aug 2010
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    730
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Not sure about the 500 but with the 450 you can disable the flash in the "custom functions" but if you are shooting in full auto mode you can't disable it.

  9. #9
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban Tatts's Avatar
    Join Date
    05 Jan 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    105
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Mick B View Post
    I mostly use "P" for perfect mode and the flash is only available if I pop it up, otherwise it stays off.
    this is probably the easiest option.

  10. #10
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    19 Aug 2010
    Location
    Australind WA
    Posts
    684
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Everyone, I will get back to you as soon as I sort it out. I had been in a disabled it but it stilled fired when I did not want it to. I was using AV. Thanks will grab a coffee & look through the manual yet again. Cheers.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    19 Aug 2010
    Location
    NSW
    Posts
    628
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Chinook View Post
    Thanks Everyone, I will get back to you as soon as I sort it out. I had been in a disabled it but it stilled fired when I did not want it to. I was using AV. Thanks will grab a coffee & look through the manual yet again. Cheers.
    Not 100% sure, but if its in Av mode the flash shouldnt pop up on its own accord. If it is raised already it will want to fire however
    1DIII, 5DII, 15mm fish, 24mm ts-e, 35L,135L,200L,400L,mpe-65mm
    Film: eos 300, pentax 6x7

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •