Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0

Thread: Slide scanner

Who let the rabble in?
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Slide scanner

I think this is the correct area to pose this question, so please forgive me if it isn't.

I have about 3,000 slides that I would like to scan with the best available scanner, depending on price, of course! I was wondering if anyone could help me with some suggestions on which brand and what resolution to get.

Once I have them copied, I shall do my usual Photoshopping of the photo depending on their relevence and what I am going to do with them. There are some that I want as treasured keepsakes, like those of the kids and family etc, and of course others that I would just like to have as mementos rather than a critically recorded image.

Any tips of how to go about it and how to copy them etc would be most appreciated as I am a complete novice at this sort of thing. I am thinking of converting them to TIFFs and dedicating a hard drive or two to that task, but this maybe overkill for the majority andf maybe I should just go jpegs to the not so critical?

Ausphotography Site Sponsor/Advertiser OzzieTraveller's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    G'day Lance

I have a similar project ahead of me too
    I seem to recall several other threads over the past 6-months on this topic ~ might be something to chase up

Regards, Phil
    Of all the stuff in a busy photographers kitbag, the ability to see photographically is the most important
    google me at Travelling School of Photography
    images.: flickr.com/photos/ozzie_traveller/sets/

Who let the rabble in?
    Threadstarter

Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for the info. The trouble with past threads is that there may be better scanners and techniques now.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)