User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Sigma 120-400mm with Nikon F4 & F5

  1. #1
    Member illaroo's Avatar
    Join Date
    02 Oct 2010
    Location
    Dapto
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Sigma 120-400mm with Nikon F4 & F5

    Hi,
    I bought a Sigma 120-400mm DG APO HSM Lens to use with my D200 and D60.Will this work on the F4 and F5 with the full functions of the Lens Optical Stabilizer.
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Moderately Underexposed I @ M's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 May 2007
    Location
    Marlo, Far East Gippsland
    Posts
    4,911
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I would assume that it would work fine, the lens only relies on power form the camera battery to drive the OS function and as far as I know the F4 / F5 share the same electrical contacts in the body as the later digital bodies.
    Andrew
    Nikon, Fuji, Nikkor, Sigma, Tamron, Tokina and too many other bits and pieces to list.



  3. #3
    A royal pain in the bum! arthurking83's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Jun 2006
    Location
    the worst house, in the best street
    Posts
    8,168
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think the optical stabiliser won't work on the F4, whereas it should work on the F5.
    (but I really can't remember exactly)

    I was once looking to get myself either an F4 or F5.. or maybe an F100, and I read that the F4 doesn't utilise all of the latest lens features properly.. so I started looking for F100's and F5's.
    Nikon D800E, D300, D70s
    {Nikon} -> 50/1.2 : 500/8(CPU'd) : 105/2.8VR Micro : 180/2.8ais : 105mm f/1.8ais : 24mm/2ais
    {Sigma}; ->10-20/4-5.6 : 50/1.4 : 12-24/4.5-5.6II : 150-600mm|S
    {Tamron}; -> 17-50/2.8 : 28-75/2.8 : 70-200/2.8 : 300/2.8 SP MF : 24-70/2.8VC


  4. #4
    In Training MarkChap's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Jan 2008
    Location
    Widgee,
    Posts
    2,252
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you have the lens, and you have the cameras

    Bolt them together and then you can tell us if it works ??
    Smoke Alarms Save Lives, Install One Today
    I shoot Canon
    Cheers, Mark


  5. #5
    Member
    Threadstarter
    illaroo's Avatar
    Join Date
    02 Oct 2010
    Location
    Dapto
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks everyone.I'll try it on the F5 when I take delivery of it in a couple of Day's time.Just thought I'd ask before I got the Camera.

  6. #6
    Member
    Threadstarter
    illaroo's Avatar
    Join Date
    02 Oct 2010
    Location
    Dapto
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,
    Got my F5 this Morning stuck the Lens on and away it went.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •