User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: remote shutter release question.

  1. #1
    Amor fati!
    Join Date
    28 Jun 2007
    Location
    St Helens Park
    Posts
    7,275
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    remote shutter release question.

    the d40 and d90 use the same remote shutter release which was handy when i upgraded and while the shutter is still released with the remote i used on the d40 it no longer focuses.... weird

    on the d40 when you hit the release button the camera will focus before taking the shot, but the d90 will just shoot. is there something in the menu system i am missing that should be turned on so that it will focus because i am having to preform prefocus and hope it hits the spot on say self portraits.

  2. #2
    Moderately Underexposed I @ M's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 May 2007
    Location
    Marlo, Far East Gippsland
    Posts
    4,911
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Are you using the AF ON button to focus when not using the remote?
    If you are and the menu has a setting to enable shutter release without focus being achieved as other Nikon models have, no amount of button pushing on the remote will make the camera focus.
    Andrew
    Nikon, Fuji, Nikkor, Sigma, Tamron, Tokina and too many other bits and pieces to list.



  3. #3
    Amor fati!
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    28 Jun 2007
    Location
    St Helens Park
    Posts
    7,275
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    eh? af on button?

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2009
    Location
    Northern Beaches, Sydney
    Posts
    2,338
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Andrew is wondering whether you activate autofocus (without the remote on) with a half press of the shutter or via the AE-L / AF-L botton on the back of the camera.

    As that seems not to be the case, what autofocus mode are you in? AF-A, AF-S or AF-C? I think that if you are in AF-C mode you will have the problem that you are describing (because the camera is set to take a shot even if the scene is not in focus) whereas with the other two, focus must be locked before you can take a shot.

  5. #5
    Moderately Underexposed I @ M's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 May 2007
    Location
    Marlo, Far East Gippsland
    Posts
    4,911
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Tony said it better than I did well, no wonder he gets paid a small fortune to talk.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2009
    Location
    Northern Beaches, Sydney
    Posts
    2,338
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes I can talk $hit but it appears to dribble all over my photos as well, unlike yours Andrew

  7. #7
    Amor fati!
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    28 Jun 2007
    Location
    St Helens Park
    Posts
    7,275
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanks tony. all sorted

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •