User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  1
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How do you check No. of actuations on 1dsmk2?

  1. #1
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    04 Apr 2007
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    550
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    How do you check No. of actuations on 1dsmk2?

    How do you check No. of actuations on 1dsmk2?

    I've tried EOSINFO and that worked OK on my 40D but doesn't work on the 1ds2.

    Is there any software that lets you find out?

    Thanks
    JJ

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,837
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Photoshop will, yiu have to shoot raw though usually
    Darren
    Gear : Nikon Goodness
    Website : http://www.peakactionimages.com
    Please support Precious Hearts
    Constructive Critique of my images always appreciated

  3. #3
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    04 Apr 2007
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    550
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by kiwi View Post
    Photoshop will, yiu have to shoot raw though usually
    Can you please elaborate?

    JJ

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,837
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    take a photo in RAW format, open that up in photoshop (most other RAW file processors will do this too I think) and you will find buried deep in the file properties/EXIF data the number of actuations

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    30 Oct 2006
    Location
    Bris Vegas
    Posts
    1,102
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    John call me as i have recenlty done this with my 1dII

    M
    www.pbase.com/mcphotographics loooots of pictures!
    hmmm Eq list... 1D II, 5D II, 7D, 100-400 LIS F4.5-5.6, 70-200 F2.8L, 135 F2, 85 F1.8, 24-70 F2.8L, 16-35 F2.8L, 420EX, 580EX II x2 ST-E2 Cir polar filters and much much more all in a neat back pack that kills my back!

    Adobe CS5
    Week 16 Sheep Winner
    If you have a question about car / action / sports photography or Canon Cameras PM me...

  6. #6
    Member rmigliorati's Avatar
    Join Date
    30 Mar 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I used to use a lovely, simple tool, called 'cancount'. Rob Galbraith website mentioned it once or twice as well. Just 'drop' an image onto the executable and it'll tell you camera model, firmware version and shutter actuations.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    28 Aug 2008
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    1,913
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by rmigliorati View Post
    I used to use a lovely, simple tool, called 'cancount'. Rob Galbraith website mentioned it once or twice as well. Just 'drop' an image onto the executable and it'll tell you camera model, firmware version and shutter actuations.
    yup I second Cancount


    its imperative to know how many actuations your 1DsMK2 has done, as many of them have had shutter failure from around 50,000 to 100,000, and some even earlier than that, quite expensive to repair too

    2nd hand buyers should be aware of this. My shutter block was replaced at 100,000 actuations by Canon, well the previous owner did it right before I bought it from him.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •