User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  1
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: built-in sensor cleaning

  1. #1
    Amor fati!
    Join Date
    28 Jun 2007
    Location
    St Helens Park
    Posts
    7,275
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    built-in sensor cleaning

    as kyou are prolly aware i now have upgraded from a d40 to d90... i notice there are various built-in sensor cleaning settings....

    for those with this camera or another with sensor cleaning does it work well? what setting do you use?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    13 Sep 2010
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    490
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've set mine to clean on start up and shutdown. I figure it can't hurt to clean as much as possible. I haven't noticed any dust in my camera after 2 years, but I tend not to shoot stuff that is likely to show it up. I am meaning to get it checked out on the next bright blue day.

  3. #3
    Moderately Underexposed I @ M's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 May 2007
    Location
    Marlo, Far East Gippsland
    Posts
    4,911
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It definitely works better than not having any cleaning.

    I have it set to operate at camera startup / shutdown but there is still one large bunny that it hasn't removed.
    Andrew
    Nikon, Fuji, Nikkor, Sigma, Tamron, Tokina and too many other bits and pieces to list.



  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,831
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ditto, works too (but not a really sticky or big bunnies)
    Darren
    Gear : Nikon Goodness
    Website : http://www.peakactionimages.com
    Please support Precious Hearts
    Constructive Critique of my images always appreciated

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Jul 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    274
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I leave it on all the time.
    "The greatest camera in the world is the one you hold in your hands when shit happens." ©2007 Raoul Isidro

  6. #6
    It's all about the Light!
    Tech Admin
    Kym's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2008
    Location
    Modbury, Adelaide
    Posts
    9,641
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have it on at startup (Pentax have a similar cleaning system). I also use it as a first resort (manual mode) when there is a bunny. I then use a blower if needed.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    10 Oct 2007
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Funny, I've had my D90 (& D300) for some time now.. and I've rarely used this... never had the need, however may just go back and take another look
    Cath C
    Constructive feedback, comments and critiques always welcome
    Please do not edit my images without asking first
    -------
    www.twocollins.com.au
    Personal Site: www.cath.twocollins.com.au
    Lots of Nikon's and Nikon related stuff

  8. #8
    Ausphotography Site Sponsor/Advertiser OzzieTraveller's Avatar
    Join Date
    12 Oct 2009
    Location
    Forster- Tuncurry, eastern Australia
    Posts
    1,600
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    G'day all

    Can I pose a Q to Ving & others here ...
    To get the camera to do its sensor / dust self check operation ... does your camera give the same results with lens cap 'on' as when shooting a white screen??

    Regards, Phil
    Of all the stuff in a busy photographers kitbag, the ability to see photographically is the most important
    google me at Travelling School of Photography
    images.: flickr.com/photos/ozzie_traveller/sets/

  9. #9
    I am older than I look. peterb666's Avatar
    Join Date
    31 Oct 2009
    Location
    Tura Beach, NSW
    Posts
    3,607
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by kiwi View Post
    ditto, works too (but not a really sticky or big bunnies)
    Agree but it is heaps better than nothing.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,831
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sensor cleaning is not the same as taking the dust reference photo

    Sensor cleaning just does a ultrasonic shake of the sensor

    The reference photo that you can Then look at in post I think can be taken with lens on or off


    Quote Originally Posted by OzzieTraveller View Post
    G'day all

    Can I pose a Q to Ving & others here ...
    To get the camera to do its sensor / dust self check operation ... does your camera give the same results with lens cap 'on' as when shooting a white screen??

    Regards, Phil

  11. #11
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    27 Nov 2008
    Location
    Wunghnu Victoria
    Posts
    1,436
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thought it was a gimmick when I got the D300 but it definitely works. I have mine set to clean at shutdown only.

    Cheers
    Leigh

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    09 Aug 2006
    Location
    Echuca
    Posts
    461
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have my D300 set to clean on startup & shutdown, never had a problem as yet.

    An honest C+C please!


    "I started life with nothing and I still have most of it left"

    Nikon D300
    Photoshop CS4 Extended



  13. #13
    Ausphotography Site Sponsor/Advertiser OzzieTraveller's Avatar
    Join Date
    12 Oct 2009
    Location
    Forster- Tuncurry, eastern Australia
    Posts
    1,600
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thankyou Kiwi

    I'm not sure whether this really should become a new thread ...
    but the Q remains:-
    [quote] To get the camera to do its sensor / dust self check operation ... does your camera give the same results with lens cap 'on' as when shooting a white screen?? [quote]

    I guess what I'm querying is that some users talk about shooting a white wall/card etc to determine dust spots, other cameras talk about ain 'internal' self-check of the sensor to do the same thing ... and I'm wondering about the 2 approaches

    This help at all??
    Regards, Phil

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,831
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes, it is

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •