User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Flash Tranmitter thingies - Which one

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    15 Jul 2010
    Location
    Forest Lake
    Posts
    1,948
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question Flash Tranmitter thingies - Which one

    Hey Pentaxians,

    I'm wondering what recivers/transmitters you guys are using out there.

    I got a set of RF-602's (nikon mount) and I get all sorts of miss fires, black banding problems, black frames, frames where the flash goes off, but completely out of sync (even at 1/125th and less) I've found that using trailing curatin sync helps (a little)

    It's been most annoying. Some days it works just fine with maybe 1 or 2 miss fires and then the next day will be all over the place with 10 or more shots in a row not working and then a couple that will. (you can understand my annoyance?)

    Ps, I'm on a k10d with 2 flashes (yn 462 and a sigma 530 dg super) but I've found that I'm better off using 1 to trigger the other optically.

    So I pose the question, what systems are working for you and what's your max sync?
    Greg Bartle,
    I have a Pentax and I'm not afraid to use it.
    Pentax K5
    Sigma 10-20 | Tamron 17-50 F:2.8 | Sigma 50 F:1.4 | Sigma 70-200 F:2.8 Plus a bunch of Ye Olde lenses


    Would you like to see more?
    http://flickr.com/photosbygreg

  2. #2
    Member Ozzi Paul's Avatar
    Join Date
    26 Nov 2009
    Location
    Corowa
    Posts
    95
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am waiting on a set of the RF 602s myself, but are getting the Canon version because I had read and was told that they work better on the Pentax and don't have the misfires like you are getting with the Nikon version, will find out soon I guess. I will be using them on a K20D & with a Metz 48 flash. Have you tried holding in the button on the transmitter while you are taking the shot, that seems to fix some of the problems with the shutter curtain shadow at 1/160 & 1/180 so may also help with the misfires but I'm not sure so it may be worth a try. Hopefully the Canon version don't do it.
    Pentax K20D & Grip, Sigma 17-70 f2.8-4.5 DC Macro, Sigma APO 70-200 f2.8 EX DG HSM II, Metz Mecablitz 48 AF-1 flash, LowePro Flipside 300 backpack, Photoshop CS 5, Lightroom 3, Manfrotto Monopod & 498 RC2 Ball Head, GoldPhoto "Tracker" Tripod, Hoya CPL and UV filters, Yongnuo RF602 flash triggers.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2009
    Location
    Northern Beaches, Sydney
    Posts
    2,338
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have the Cactus V4s, and they haven't missed a beat. I mostly shoot at 1/200th (I have a Nikon D90 and that's the max sync speed).

  4. #4
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    15 Jul 2010
    Location
    Forest Lake
    Posts
    1,948
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Ozzi Paul View Post
    I am waiting on a set of the RF 602s myself, but are getting the Canon version because I had read and was told that they work better on the Pentax and don't have the misfires like you are getting with the Nikon version, will find out soon I guess. I will be using them on a K20D & with a Metz 48 flash. Have you tried holding in the button on the transmitter while you are taking the shot, that seems to fix some of the problems with the shutter curtain shadow at 1/160 & 1/180 so may also help with the misfires but I'm not sure so it may be worth a try. Hopefully the Canon version don't do it.
    Which is funny because the canon version has a completley different pin configuration then the pentax. Nikon's is the same, but had different pin assignments.
    The Canon Version, however has the same 2.5mm jack for remote shutter, so no dodgying to get that to fire.

  5. #5
    Member Ozzi Paul's Avatar
    Join Date
    26 Nov 2009
    Location
    Corowa
    Posts
    95
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    They arrived this morning and work well. The Rx units have hot shoe the same layout as the Pentax although there all the same no matter what version of the Tx you get & the Tx unit has 5 pins. It works well up to 1/125 & then I have to hold the button on the Tx in to get 1/160 & 1/180 shots without the shutter curtain shadow. Thats ok though.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    15 Dec 2009
    Location
    central west
    Posts
    933
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I got the cannon version ( to use with 2 x sb28's ) on Pentax........worked well untill 1 reciever died

  7. #7
    Ausphotography Regular KevPride's Avatar
    Join Date
    27 Jun 2008
    Location
    Modbury North
    Posts
    500
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've got Phottix ASTER - which were quite cheap & they have worked quite successfully - although I don't use them daily. The beauty is I can use them wirelessly or with the built in light sensor. They are well built & better than the V4 I had used previously.

    Max sync is 180.
    Last edited by KevPride; 16-10-2010 at 2:32pm.
    Regards
    Kevin

    Pentax K3, Pentax Tamron Sigma short glass
    Nikon D500. nikkor 200-500 f5.6.

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/kevpride/

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    07 Jul 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, Outer east.
    Posts
    43
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use Twin link T2RxD receiver transmitters. these work very well with my K-7. No misfires as yet, I have used them for well over a year without mishap.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  9. #9
    Ausphotography Site Sponsor/Advertiser PROtog's Avatar
    Join Date
    20 Aug 2009
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    22
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Rattus79 View Post
    Hey Pentaxians,

    I'm wondering what recivers/transmitters you guys are using out there.

    I got a set of RF-602's (nikon mount) .... I'm on a k10d with 2 flashes (yn 462 and a sigma 530 dg super)
    We have a customer buy the RF602N (Nikon version) for his K10D. His camera was fine, but his wife's K10D had the sort of issues you are having. We swapped the RF602N for the RF602C (Canon version) and the problems went away. Perhaps ask your supplier to swap them for you?
    PROtog - Ausphotography Site Sponsor Website Facebook twitter
    Gear: Canon 5D Mk III | Canon 70-200 II 2.8 IS | Canon 24-105 | Canon 50 1.8 | b-grip hand strap | 3 Legged Thing Eddie tripod

  10. #10
    Member ploveday's Avatar
    Join Date
    29 Oct 2010
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    14
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use the Elinchrom Skyport remotes, and I've yet to have any problem with those with any of my cameras or flashes.

    - Peter

  11. #11
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    15 Jul 2010
    Location
    Forest Lake
    Posts
    1,948
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    OK!!! I have the official solution to the rf-602 nikon transmitter issues!!!

    All I've done is tape up all the contacts bar the center and outside contacts. the green light never comes on, but it syncs to 1/160'th every time and with the button tweak you can get 1/180th every time too. No mis fires, no messing up or around.

    Now i can use my flashes in public without being ashamed or looking un professional (even though i am!)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •