Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: burst buffer

  1. #1
    Account Closed reaction's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    792

    Angry burst buffer

    The D90 burst buffer is supposed to take 9 RAWs.
    I've only ever seen it show r06 or r02. How do you get 9?

  2. #2
    Administrator (Site Owner) ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    13,172
    9 is a maximum. Each RAW file can be a different size, try shooting a white wall or a blue sky and look at the RAW file size. So the 9 RAW files is just an estimate based on the buffer size only
    RICK
    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    www.tassiephotos.com

  3. #3
    Account Closed
    Threadstarter
    reaction's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    792
    OK. so I should expect if D90's 9 give me 6, then the D7000's 11 will give me around 6-7 something like that?
    Anyone comment what D300s' 17 gives?

  4. #4
    Capturing God's Creations TEITZY's Avatar
    Join Date
    27 Nov 2008
    Location
    Wunghnu Victoria
    Posts
    1,425
    My D300 has r17 for RAW only. Drops back to r12 if you have AD-L on.

    Cheers
    Leigh
    Nikon D300, 24-70, 70-200 VR1, 300 VR1 2.8. Tokina 12-24. Tamron 60 f2 macro + Kenko tubes. SB800.



    My Nikonians Gallery

  5. #5
    Account Closed
    Threadstarter
    reaction's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    792
    TEITZY so you can comfortably burst for 2.5s with ADL off then?

  6. #6
    Try turning off long exposure NR settings and see if the buffer increases.
    "The greatest camera in the world is the one you hold in your hands when shit happens." 2007 Raoul Isidro

  7. #7
    Capturing God's Creations TEITZY's Avatar
    Join Date
    27 Nov 2008
    Location
    Wunghnu Victoria
    Posts
    1,425
    Quote Originally Posted by reaction View Post
    TEITZY so you can comfortably burst for 2.5s with ADL off then?
    Yes no worries.

    Cheers
    Leigh

  8. #8
    Account Closed
    Threadstarter
    reaction's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    792
    Quote Originally Posted by RaoulIsidro View Post
    Try turning off long exposure NR settings and see if the buffer increases.
    Yes, I got r09!! Why is this? On 1/800s surely LE NR shouldn't happen anyway??

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by reaction View Post
    Yes, I got r09!! Why is this? On 1/800s surely LE NR shouldn't happen anyway??
    LE NR uses up a pretty hefty RAM and the CPU allocates to it, sacrificing the buffer for RAW.
    It also happens to Canons, so this is not just a Nikon thing.
    Cheers!

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    07 Jul 2009
    Location
    Arnhem Land
    Posts
    596
    If you are using a slow card the write speed will cause the cache buffer to stay full for longer and reduce the shot count.
    DM
    Nikon, Really Right Stuff, Gitzo, Manfrotto, Mac
    flickr

  11. #11
    Ausphotography Addict
    Join Date
    12 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,837
    14 vs 16 but raws will make a diff too
    Darren
    Gear : Nikon Goodness
    Website : http://www.peakactionimages.com
    Please support Precious Hearts
    Constructive Critique of my images always appreciated

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •