User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Cactus V4 Transmitter appears to be cactus.

  1. #1
    As Keen As Mustard NikonNellie's Avatar
    Join Date
    01 Jan 2009
    Location
    North West, Sydney
    Posts
    4,610
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Cactus V4 Transmitter appears to be cactus.

    Does anyone know if I could send my Cactus V4 transmitter off for repair anywhere? I have changed all of my batteries with new ones and nothing seems to happen. The last time I fired it was when I was seeing if this sytem worked on my Sigma EF 460 super flash (which it did ). I should have probably checked the voltage for the flash but I had read that the V4's were compatible with the Sigma EF series of flashes.
    Looking inside of the transmitter I can't see any obvious burn out points but the battery becomes very hot, very quickly, i.e. after say half a dozen attempts at trying to fire off a flash.
    I purchased the set from ############## and haven't contacted them yet as I am pretty sure they are going to tell me I will have to replace the transmitter. Unfortunately it appears that you can't just buy the transmitter by itself so I would have to buy a whole new set.

    Just thought I would run it by you guys first.
    CAMERA: Nikon D800, Nikon D7000
    LENSES: AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8, Tamron SP AF 90mm F/2.8 Macro, Sigma 10 - 20mm F/4 - 5.6, Sigma 150 - 500mm F/5 - 6.3 APO DG OS, Nikkor 18 - 200mm F/3.5 - 5.6 VRII,
    Sigma 70 - 200mm f/2.8 APO EX DG OS, Tamron SP 24 - 70mm f/2.8 Di VC USD, Sigma 85mm F/1.4 EX DG, Nikkor AF-S 16-35mm F/4 ED VR, Nikkor AF-S 200-500 f/5..6E ED VR
    MY WEBSITES: www.nawimages.com, http://nelliewajzerphotography.smugmug.com/, http://NellieWajzerPhotography.blogspot.com



  2. #2
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    29 Dec 2007
    Location
    Mansfield, Victoria
    Posts
    856
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hmmm... - I had a problem with loose battery connectors on my Cactus trigger (after I dropped it - oops),

    Does it work when you press the button on the top (try it not connected to camera or flash) - the transmitter button should cause a led to come on on the receiver.

    The battery getting hot is a worry - suggests too much current being drawn somehow - but I am confused as to how a problem with the transmitter is caused by the flash (which would have been attached to the receiver.)

    Worst case, you buy a second Tx/Rx set - you can never have too many receivers even though you are really only replacing the transmitter. (I have already bought a second receiver. Soon, I'll go for a 3rd flash and receiver.)
    Regards, Rob

    D600, AF-S 35mm f1.8G DX, AF-S 50mm f1.8G, AF-S 24-85mm f3.5-4.5G ED VR, AF-S 70-300mm F4.5-5.6G VR, Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM
    Photos: geeoverbar.smugmug.com Software: CS6, Lightroom 4

  3. #3
    As Keen As Mustard
    Threadstarter
    NikonNellie's Avatar
    Join Date
    01 Jan 2009
    Location
    North West, Sydney
    Posts
    4,610
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Rob - no it dosn't work when I press the transmitter button when the flashes aren't attached to the receivers.

    Looks like I'll have to buy a new one - that will give me three receivers .

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    30 Apr 2008
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    140
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    if you want a cheap trigger I'd try out the Yongnuo RF-602's.

    http://www.brodiebutler.com/blog/201...ue-but-beware/

    Pick em up on ebay very cheap. Much better than the cactus
    Brodie Butler (Perth, WA)
    Photographer / Filmmaker / Retoucher
    Canon & Elinchrom user

  5. #5
    As Keen As Mustard
    Threadstarter
    NikonNellie's Avatar
    Join Date
    01 Jan 2009
    Location
    North West, Sydney
    Posts
    4,610
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Brodie - I have just ordered another Cactus set from Gadget Infinity. With USD as it is at the moment it only cost me less than $50 including postage. I had two receivers from when I initially bought the V4 set so I thought I might as well still put those to good use.
    If this new transmitter only last another twelve months like the first one I will definitely change brands.

  6. #6
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban
    Join Date
    16 May 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    45
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Contact the guys at www.##############.com.au - they offer a 12 month warranty. They sell the RF602s as well, and warranty too those unlike most online sellers. Either brand will work well for most shooters.
    Last edited by Zac; 28-10-2010 at 10:19am.

  7. #7
    As Keen As Mustard
    Threadstarter
    NikonNellie's Avatar
    Join Date
    01 Jan 2009
    Location
    North West, Sydney
    Posts
    4,610
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Zac - I had already contacted them but I was unable to find my receipt to prove my purchase. Very annoying because I have kept every other receipt of my photographic purchases but I think it was just a few days out of warranty anyway. I have sinced purchased a new transmitter which I am putting to good use.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •