User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  1
Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Need help with Speedlite 580 EX II/50D combo

  1. #1
    Member gunna64's Avatar
    Join Date
    19 Aug 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    51
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Need help with Speedlite 580 EX II/50D combo

    Just got a Speedlite 580 EX II and am having some issues with it on my Canon 50D. It worked fine for about the first 60-70 shots but now just gives me black pictures instead of nice flash illuminated ones.

    The flash is set to ETTL and recognises/displays all the camera/lens parameters. If the camera is set to P or (box) it recognises that an external flash is attached and sets the shutter speed to 1/60 .. but the resultant picture is almost jet black with only a couple of highlights visible.

    If I now set the camera to M with a shutter speed of 1/125 and f4.5 and the flash to M, I get a nice picture and well illuminated.

    Does anyone have any ideas? I've gone through the manual and am at a loss as to what suddenly went wrong.
    Last edited by gunna64; 17-09-2010 at 8:06pm.
    Any C & C welcomed! If you don't like what you see, tell me - it's just another way to become a better photographer - but I don't necessarily have to agree with you either.

  2. #2
    Account Closed
    Join Date
    03 Mar 2010
    Location
    Townsville
    Posts
    889
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Battteries ?

    Is it actually flashing ?

    Maybe check the exposure compensation hasn't been adjusted way down ?

  3. #3
    Member
    Threadstarter
    gunna64's Avatar
    Join Date
    19 Aug 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    51
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Art Vandelay View Post
    Battteries ?

    Is it actually flashing ?

    Maybe check the exposure compensation hasn't been adjusted way down ?
    Art,

    Batteries are fresh and pilot light is lit.
    Flash is going off when it is supposed to (almost burnt my retinas out checking that one )
    FEC is set to zero.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    03 Dec 2009
    Location
    West Sydney
    Posts
    256
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have no clue as to the possible cause/fault but two things Id check
    are the contacts clean
    if you set the camera to sync speed (tv mode)which is usually around 1/200-1/250(i think) and shoot do you still get the same thing?

    One day I'll take some serious photos, just not today
    Canon 50D | 450D Gripped | 50mm 1.8| 18-55 | 100-300 | Tamron 17-50 f2.8 | 85mm f1.8 | Manfrotto Tripod | Studio Flashies | 430EX | Loads of useless gadgets | All this gear and still no idea.....

  5. #5
    Account Closed
    Join Date
    03 Mar 2010
    Location
    Townsville
    Posts
    889
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I see you added the bit of working Ok in Manual mode (both camera & flash).

    Are you shooting in the dark or using it for fill ?

  6. #6
    Member
    Threadstarter
    gunna64's Avatar
    Join Date
    19 Aug 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    51
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for all the replies for far ....

    The plot however thickens ... I get a black screen in E-TTL mode but if I go into the flash settings and override this and make it only TTL ...the flash works fine and I get a well illuminated picture!

    E-TTL is definately the problem - however, I wonder what is causing that.

    I have cleaned and checked the contacts but it doesn't make a difference.

  7. #7
    Member
    Threadstarter
    gunna64's Avatar
    Join Date
    19 Aug 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    51
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ....also in addition to the above - I also find that the modelling flash functionality is not working ... I have it set up for the DOF button and when I hit that I "m supposed to get a 1 second pulsing flash.. instead all I'm getting is one big flash and that's it .......hmmmmmm!

  8. #8
    Account Closed
    Join Date
    03 Mar 2010
    Location
    Townsville
    Posts
    889
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hmm. Try a different lens. Maybe it's not registering focal distance or something wierd.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    03 Dec 2009
    Location
    West Sydney
    Posts
    256
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hope you figure this one cos Im picking up a 50 tomorrow!

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    08 Sep 2010
    Location
    Syd
    Posts
    259
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    worse was the problem with the 40D where it would loose ETTL and change to TTL, where the flash would default to full power, and blow out all your shots.

  11. #11
    Member
    Threadstarter
    gunna64's Avatar
    Join Date
    19 Aug 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    51
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yeah, I had that problem too initally but after some messing with the contacts, it righted itself ....now this ... I still can not for the life of me figure out what has happened. I've been through both the 50D manual and the 580 manual and there are no clues in there.

    About the 50D, I've had it now just over 20 months and its a solid camera - bit noisy above 400 ISO but good in reasonable light with a decent lens on the front.
    Last edited by gunna64; 17-09-2010 at 11:53pm.

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    26 Jul 2010
    Location
    South
    Posts
    254
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What shutter speed are you using?
    Canon stuff 5Dmk1 w/ 24-70 f2.8L, Canon 5Dmk1 w/70-200f2.8L, 100mm f2.8 macro, 50mm f1.4, 580exII
    Alienbees B800, Lumopro 160, Manfrotto 155XPROB w/ 498RC2, Lowepro ProRunner X450AW
    Phew!

  13. #13
    Member
    Threadstarter
    gunna64's Avatar
    Join Date
    19 Aug 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    51
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ZedEx,

    The E-TTL automatically sets the shutter speed at 1/250 sec.

    I know that the flash worked earlier in the piece with exactly the same settings so I don't think its setup related , more hardware related.

  14. #14
    Today may be the day, Or not !
    Join Date
    31 Jul 2010
    Location
    Perth Northern Suburbs
    Posts
    3,712
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Stupid question time, have you tried Canon tech Support ???
    They call me "Blue" it's a red head thing.
    "My Flickr Site"
    Canon Bodies - 1DMk2N + 50D - Lenses - 17-35mm F2.8 L - 24-70mm F2.8 L - 70-200mm F2.8 L - 300mm F4 IS L - Sigma 18-50mm F2.8 - Sigma 10-20mm
    " I Never get tired of looking at our diverse country, even if its through the lens of someone else".
    CC is always appreciated.


  15. #15
    In Training MarkChap's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Jan 2008
    Location
    Widgee, Queensland
    Posts
    2,237
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by gunna64 View Post
    ZedEx,

    The E-TTL automatically sets the shutter speed at 1/250 sec.

    I know that the flash worked earlier in the piece with exactly the same settings so I don't think its setup related , more hardware related.
    Are you sure - that is a function that is enabled through the menu, it only applies in Av(aperture priority mode) the default for that menu item lets the camera choose what ever shutter speed is needed for exposure although it sounds like you are shooting in lower light situations anyway.

    Have you got a sample pic or 2 you could post with the exif data intact ?
    Smoke Alarms Save Lives, Install One Today
    I shoot Canon
    Cheers, Mark


  16. #16
    In Training MarkChap's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Jan 2008
    Location
    Widgee, Queensland
    Posts
    2,237
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    How far away are you ?? from the subject ?? at f4.5 you need to be about 12-13 meters any further and the flash won't reach your subject.

    Have you set the flash to manual zoom and therefore the flash head is not zooming to match your focal length which in turn gives you a lower power flash, which would cause under exposure.
    Guide Number at 24mm - 28mt so at f4.5 you would need to be with in about 6mtrs
    Guide Number at 105mm (full zoom) - 58mt
    So you can see that the flash head zoom will have a big impact on exposure

    To check attach flash and lens, set flash to E-TTL and try zooming the lens in and out, if you can't hear the flash head zoom that could be your trouble
    Last edited by MarkChap; 30-09-2010 at 10:38pm.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •