User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  2
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: MP-E 65 and dust

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    03 Dec 2009
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    1,703
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    MP-E 65 and dust

    This is strange and I have no explanation. When I shoot with the MP-E 65, there are more dust bunnies than using a different lens at the same aperture (shooting the sky or a white screen (my monitor) @f22 to test). Why would that be so?

    Cheers
    Last edited by gcflora; 11-09-2010 at 10:16am.

  2. #2
    Ausphotography Veteran
    Join Date
    18 May 2008
    Location
    Bremer Valley
    Posts
    2,563
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Is it the same dust bunnies as with other lenses Craig? I mean, is it dust bunnies on your sensor, or could it be dust on the rear element of the lens? (I'm totally guessing here.)
    Canon 5D MkII | Canon 7D
    Various prime and zoom lenses



  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    26 Nov 2009
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    1,363
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think it's just the way the optics in MP-E work. I'm sure a more knowledgeable person will be able to explain but I know what you mean. It takes me for ever to remove all the buggers.

  4. #4
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    03 Dec 2009
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    1,703
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Jules View Post
    Is it the same dust bunnies as with other lenses Craig? I mean, is it dust bunnies on your sensor, or could it be dust on the rear element of the lens? (I'm totally guessing here.)
    That's what I am trying to work out. Could the dust that's showing be from the lens rather than the sensor? Some of the dust bunnies are the same, the others I don't know... they're obvious when using the MP-E but I can't really see them when using another lens

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    16 Mar 2009
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    1,282
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've found/find the same thing Craig.

    When did you get it mate? I didn't know you had one.
    .
    .
    .
    .
    f o t o w o r x

    People taking the time out to give me CC is always very much appreciated

  6. #6
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    03 Dec 2009
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    1,703
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I only got it last weekend Jim Can't really use it very well at the moment

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    16 Mar 2009
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    1,282
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Did you get a macro flash with it Craig?

  8. #8
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    03 Dec 2009
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    1,703
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by JimD View Post
    Did you get a macro flash with it Craig?
    No, which is probably why I'm having so much trouble with anything over about 2:1

  9. #9
    Ausphotography Regular Tricky's Avatar
    Join Date
    27 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    640
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by gcflora View Post
    This is strange and I have no explanation. When I shoot with the MP-E 65, there are more dust bunnies than using a different lens at the same aperture (shooting the sky or a white screen (my monitor) @f22 to test). Why would that be so?

    Cheers

    As you probably know, dust bunnies show up more with a smaller aperture (which is why sky/white screen tests to check for dust bunnies are usually done at the smallest available aperture).

    With macro lenses, the aperture setting on the lens is affected by the degree of magnification (I think this is explained in the MPE 65mm manual, if I'm not mistaken):

    Effective Aperture = (Aperture Setting) + (Aperture Setting x Magnification)

    So, an aperture setting of f/2.8 at 1x magnification is an effective aperture setting of (2.8) + (2.8 x 1) = f/5.6.

    By the time you get to 5x magnification, an aperture setting of f/2.8 is an effective aperture of (2.8) + (2.8 x 5) = f/16.8.

    If you select f/16 at 5x, your effective aperture setting is (16) + (16 x 5) = f/96!!

    If you're seeing more dust bunnies with the MPE, then that's probably because the effective aperture you're using is way smaller then anything else you've ever tried.

    Of course, as you reduce the aperture in this draconian fashion, the amount of light getting through is tiny (plus any camera shake is greatly exaggerated by the lens' high magnification). Hence it is very hard to use the MPE with natural light alone... a dedicated macro flash is pretty much mandatory. Not surprised to read that you're struggling at even 2x magnification.
    Richard
    Canon 5D4 | 11-24 f/4 L | 24-105 f/4 L| 100-400 L II | 85 f/1.2 L | 100 f/2.8 L macro | MP-E 65 f/2.8 macro | 1.4x | 580EX2 | MT-24 Twin Lite | Manfrotto | Photoshop CS5


  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    29 Jun 2006
    Location
    North Shore
    Posts
    228
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well answered, I knew there was a reason but couldnt remember it.
    Using a 7d or a s95
    Advice and Edits welcome
    http://adamrose.wordpress.com/ [/CENTER]

  11. #11
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    03 Dec 2009
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    1,703
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Tricky! Perfect explanation

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •