User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: A-dep useful?

  1. #1
    Member Mircula's Avatar
    Join Date
    03 Dec 2009
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    406
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question A-dep useful?

    Hello,

    I was wondering how many of you guys use the A-dep setting on your camera. I barely use it at all and just read about it in the manual of my new 40d….

    Could be quite useful for some situations, although I guess you have much more control with manual, av or tv.

    So, how often do you use it and for what ☺ ?


    Ciao ciao,

    Mirc
    Constructive criticism is most welcome!!!

    Canon 40D, 100-300 5.6 L
    Sigma 17-70
    Manfrotto Tripod

  2. #2
    Account Closed Wayne's Avatar
    Join Date
    07 Dec 2009
    Location
    Eastside
    Posts
    1,639
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don't have such a setting on either D700/D3

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    08 May 2009
    Location
    Buninyong
    Posts
    1,235
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I had it on my 450D and never used it. Don't miss it on the 7D.
    Mic

    Photography is the art of telling stories with light.

    www.michaelgoulding.com

  4. #4
    Member Kerry's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Jul 2008
    Location
    Kilmore, Vic
    Posts
    131
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Have it but never use it!
    flickr

    C+C welcome and appreciated

  5. #5
    Member
    Threadstarter
    Mircula's Avatar
    Join Date
    03 Dec 2009
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    406
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hmm ok....thought so...have it too, never really used it.... cheers

  6. #6
    Member FallingHorse's Avatar
    Join Date
    07 Apr 2010
    Location
    Adelaide River
    Posts
    1,586
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have it on the 1000D but have never used it either. I did read somewhere that if you are using filters, you can press the A-DEP and get a better idea of the effect the filters will have... but don't know, never tried it

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    05 May 2010
    Location
    Launceston
    Posts
    104
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hey Mircula.....

    I have this on my 500D as well. They tell me it's useful for getting an idea of the correct settings for certain pics, either S/Speed or aperature, or both for use in manual, then switching back to whichever mode you use most....for example:

    Your taking a landscape shot of some mountains in the distance & also something in the foreground & you wish to keep all things in focus. Switch to A-DEP, compose your shot & depress shutter button half way to get the settings....then use these as a guide to shoot in your prefered mode, be it TV, AV or manual. I have tinkered with this at times, & it does help.

    Hope this helps....

    Clayton

  8. #8
    Member gje38752's Avatar
    Join Date
    16 Jan 2010
    Location
    Lake Cathie
    Posts
    106
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Li.ke everybody else, have it but never use it

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    29 Jun 2006
    Location
    North Shore
    Posts
    228
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Never use it. Would love to change it to a mirror lock up button or some such.
    Using a 7d or a s95
    Advice and Edits welcome
    http://adamrose.wordpress.com/ [/CENTER]

  10. #10
    Member
    Threadstarter
    Mircula's Avatar
    Join Date
    03 Dec 2009
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    406
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks guys.

    And thank thoma, i think i will try that out. might by useful afterall!!!!

  11. #11
    Ausphotography Veteran tanz's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2010
    Location
    Sunshine Coast
    Posts
    2,864
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It says in my manual 'All the AF points will function to detect the subject, and the aperture required to attain the necessary depth of field will be set automatically'. And I saw on one of the Canon tutorials that it is good for photographing more than one person, so I have tried it with my two girls but it can be a bit hit and miss with the focus points. I haven't played around with it that much so maybe I am just doing it wrong
    Tania
    Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. Albert Einstein


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •