User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21

Thread: photoshop file size

  1. #1
    Member Mircula's Avatar
    Join Date
    03 Dec 2009
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    406
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    photoshop file size

    Hi,

    I am currently trying myself in doing some things in photoshop. I export 16 bit tiff out of lightroom, do some adjustments save it and then get a file which is larger than 100mb.

    Is that normal?

    How do you handle these large file sizes?

    And one more question...

    Does the editing i do on that tiff file saved in lightroom with lightroom has the same effect than if i would do it on the raw file? Or is for instance the change of whitle balance not possible anymore, like in a jpg?

    Thanks guys !
    Constructive criticism is most welcome!!!

    Canon 40D, 100-300 5.6 L
    Sigma 17-70
    Manfrotto Tripod

  2. #2
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,138
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Yep it's normal! I handle them with over 10TB of storage. If you need to change the white balance of the RAW file go back to lightroom, change it and export again.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  3. #3
    It's all about the Light!
    Tech Admin
    Kym's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2008
    Location
    Modbury, Adelaide
    Posts
    9,633
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    FWIW I save as PS work as PSD and not Tiff, my main work is in Lightroom so that's all raw (pef in my case)

    I export JPEG for publishing/printing as a last step
    regards, Kym Gallery Honest & Direct Constructive Critique Appreciated! ©
    Digital & film, Bits of glass covering 10mm to 500mm, and other stuff



  4. #4
    Member
    Threadstarter
    Mircula's Avatar
    Join Date
    03 Dec 2009
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    406
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi, wow thanks for the info....that is a lot of storage hehe...

    so, again to make it totally clear....tiff is like jpg and it is not good/possible to change to wb or other settings with it in lightroom?

    That would mean that I need to do all these things before i export it to ps....because afterwards i only have the tiff coming from ps as a tiff.

    Does it has any disadvantages to work with the tiff file in ps instead of the raw?
    which adjustments can i make then in ps, which can't i make?


    What disadvantage does psd has, compared to tiff or raw?

    Thanks and sorry for all these silly questions.

  5. #5
    Member GriMo's Avatar
    Join Date
    25 Oct 2008
    Location
    **Suburb/Town Required**
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The only silly question is the one you don't ask. As someone who also struggles with PP workflows I'm also looking forward to learning the benefits if various file types
    Please feel free to rework my photos, but give me step-by-step instructions on what you did, so I can learn

    CC is always welcome and appreciated

    Canon 40D + EFS 17-85 IS USM + EF50MM f 2.5 Compact Macro

  6. #6
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,138
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Tiff is just another file format. Unlike JPG which is a lossy format, and that can only be saved as a single layered image, Tiff (and PSD) are not lossy, so your file retains all its original data (which is why the files are so big). Tiff and PSD can be saved with layers intact, so you can come back and edit your separate layers at another time.

    You cannot edit a RAW file in Lightroom, PS or any other software. Your RAW file itself never changes. You are always editing a 'copy' no matter what software you use. I think from memory Lightroom (and Adobe Camera Raw) converts the file to TIFF for display on your screen anyway. So what you see is really a TIFF copy of the RAW data.

    I would suggest if you are serious about using both lightroom and PS for your workflow you go out and get a copy of Scott Kelby's books on both software packages. You will learn a lot from them and get a better understanding of how they work, than we could ever give you on a forum..without writing book sized threads.

    TIFF is probably as close as you can get to an editable raw format. So much so, that in the past one Canon camera's RAW files could just be renamed as TIFF files and be totally usable. Yep the RAW file itself was just a Tiff file with a different file extension.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Aug 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    104
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Could save a bit of space with TIFF compression, PS gives you the option to compress it with ZIP or LZW. Only downside to this is that other editors might not be able to preview this

  8. #8
    Member
    Threadstarter
    Mircula's Avatar
    Join Date
    03 Dec 2009
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    406
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,

    thanks again for the info!

    So does it matter at all if I do my white balance settings in lightroom before or after i do some changes in PS? If tiff does not loose any information, i could just do these things after i add the image in ps. Or does that has any disadvantages compared to edit on a raw file(or better on the tiff copy form lr)?
    I just noticed that the tiff file coming from ps back into lightroom has all settings resetted i did before in lightroom. including wb....Everyhting is on 0 again. This is really crap if I decide to add some settings in lightroom afterwards, or?

    How do you include ps in your lr workflow?

    How come I only have the cr2 files of my photos on my computer and not tiff ones created by lr as well? I thought lightroom just saves a little file with all the settings besides the raw file....



    I think the books are a good idea...I just cannot get them, as i will be travelling soon on the way back to europe....

  9. #9
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,138
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    I use lightroom to adjust exposure, set WB, straighten horizon etc. Basically the 'whole of image' processing. I then move to PS to do any edits to specific areas of my photo, mono conversions, sharpening etc. For me Lightroom is a more for cataloguing, keywording and RAW processing. Most of my editing is done in PS. Each person needs to determine their own workflow that suits their needs.

    Lightroom only creates a Tiff file when you export to PS, so the tiff file only exists in PS.

  10. #10
    Member
    Threadstarter
    Mircula's Avatar
    Join Date
    03 Dec 2009
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    406
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hmm...ok...i guess that is a good start point.

    the question of the difference in wb adding "on raw" in lr or on the tiff coming from ps is still open though.
    does this make any difference at all? i will give it a go later tonight and see what i can find out.

    "So does it matter at all if I do my white balance settings in lightroom before or after i do some changes in PS? If tiff does not loose any information, i could just do these things after i add the image in ps. Or does that has any disadvantages compared to edit on a raw file(or better on the tiff copy form lr)?"

    Rick, what do you do if you want to change the wb after you have done all your editing in ps and lr and you have the tiff from photoshop in your lr library? All settings are on 0 so it is kind of hard to see what wb there is etc etc. ....

    Thank you again for taking the time!

  11. #11
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,138
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    easy answer re white balance..start again. White balance can only be altered from the RAW file, so make sure you get the WB right at the start

  12. #12
    Ausphotography Veteran
    Join Date
    08 Nov 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    3,303
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Mircula View Post
    I am currently trying myself in doing some things in photoshop. I export 16 bit tiff out of lightroom, do some adjustments save it and then get a file which is larger than 100mb.

    Is that normal?
    Absolutely. I save all of my processed images as 16-bit PSD files, and these days I sometimes have as many as 13 layers. The largest PSD file I have at the moment is 580MB or so, and the camera which captured the image is a 21mp DSLR.

    The size varies depending on what's in the image, how many layers there are, etc. Bit depth also has a huge impact.

    The only solution is to maintain sufficient disk space. :-)

    I only have 127GB left on my laptop's HDD (500GB), of which my 2010 image directory tree contains 76GB, so I'm starting to get concerned.

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    03 Dec 2009
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    1,703
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Also be aware (if storage is an issue) that if compatibility mode for .PSD is ticked (on) a full composite image (i.e. with layers flattened etc) is _also_ embedded in the .PSD file. Turning "maximise compatibility" off reduces the size of the .PSD file, although it unfortunately also means that Lightroom cannot work with those files

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    03 Dec 2009
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    1,703
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I actually save my files as 8-bit TIFF (with LZW compression which is lossless) unless it's a really great photo and then I might save it as 16-Bit

  15. #15
    Member
    Threadstarter
    Mircula's Avatar
    Join Date
    03 Dec 2009
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    406
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks guys. Seems like i need some more storage if i keep working with ps....

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2009
    Location
    Northern Beaches, Sydney
    Posts
    2,338
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ricktas View Post

    Lightroom only creates a Tiff file when you export to PS, so the tiff file only exists in PS.
    But while in PS, if you hit "save" rather than "save as" it will bring you back to LR with a TIFF file now in the catalogue.

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2009
    Location
    Northern Beaches, Sydney
    Posts
    2,338
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ricktas View Post

    Lightroom only creates a Tiff file when you export to PS, so the tiff file only exists in PS.
    But while in PS, if you hit "save" rather than "save as" it will bring you back to LR with a TIFF file now in the catalogue, and although not as effective as starting again, all of your LR settings will read as default in the TIFF, and you can in fact adjust WB and the like.

  18. #18
    Member
    Threadstarter
    Mircula's Avatar
    Join Date
    03 Dec 2009
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    406
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by maccaroneski View Post
    But while in PS, if you hit "save" rather than "save as" it will bring you back to LR with a TIFF file now in the catalogue, and although not as effective as starting again, all of your LR settings will read as default in the TIFF, and you can in fact adjust WB and the like.

    Hmmm...what do you mean by all of the lr settings will read as default?

    I think it is confusing that all the settings in the tiff file are on 0 again. So i have no idea what the wb is or how much exposure or whatever i added to it before exporting it to PS.

    That makes it really hard to edit the file after coming from ps as a tiff.

    I still dont get it.....can i adjust (without loss) the wb of a tiff file?
    Does it has the same effect as adjusting the wb of a raw file in lr?

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2009
    Location
    Northern Beaches, Sydney
    Posts
    2,338
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Mircula View Post
    Hmmm...what do you mean by all of the lr settings will read as default?
    What I mean is what you say in the your paragraph, they go to 0

    Quote Originally Posted by Mircula View Post
    I think it is confusing that all the settings in the tiff file are on 0 again. So i have no idea what the wb is or how much exposure or whatever i added to it before exporting it to PS.

    That makes it really hard to edit the file after coming from ps as a tiff.
    I'm not sure what the issue is - you want the TIFF warmer, you move the slider to the right. You want it cooler, you move it to the left.

    Quote Originally Posted by Mircula View Post
    I still dont get it.....can i adjust (without loss) the wb of a tiff file?
    Does it has the same effect as adjusting the wb of a raw file in lr?
    Try it! The files will be side by side in your LR catalogue.

  20. #20
    Member
    Threadstarter
    Mircula's Avatar
    Join Date
    03 Dec 2009
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    406
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm not sure what the issue is - you want the TIFF warmer, you move the slider to the right. You want it cooler, you move it to the left.

    Well yeah but If i for instance have more photos from the same or similar szene and i want to have the same settings....Or it usually just helps to see what the highlights darks and tonecurve etc. are to really finetune the image, instead of having everything on 0.


    Will defenitely try it and let you know!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •