Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0

Thread: CFL lighting

Account Closed
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

CFL lighting

On eBay I came across this set for just about $ 200 (incl. shipping).

I wonder if there is anyone with experience with this particular seller and these lights.
    How would 2 x 4 x 50W CFL work out. I am not a professional and would like this as additional light for my small object photography (and maybe the odd portrait).

Account Closed
    Threadstarter

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No one?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    they will be very very weak in terms of lighting the subject and the lighting will be less appealing than using studio strobes against a back drop

but if you are using it primarily on a casual and fun basis, 200 bucks plus shipping is not bad!

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    mmm .. for product stuff maybe, but people photography .. no, I wouldnt.

Youve already got a couple of nice flash options in your sig so Im a bit confused as to why youd be interested in spending money on these things.
    Hi Im Darren

www.darrengrayphotography.com

SONY A850 (FF)] + GRIP | SONY A350 (APS-C) + GRIP | SONY NEX-5 +16 2.8 + 18-55 E-MOUNT LENSES | CZ 85 1.4 | 50 1.4 | 28-75 2.8 | 70-200 2.8 | 2 x 42AMs | 24" imac | LR | CS4 | + loads of other junk

Ausphotography Site Sponsor/Advertiser OzzieTraveller's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    G'day Henk

From a qwik look at the ref site, I feel "a bit both ways" here

SO -
    2x lamp units is okay
    each lamp unit has 4 bulbs

As I understand it, these fluoro bulbs have an equivalent output equal to "double the old bulbs" ... so 4 x 50w here gives the same as 4 x 100w of the old bulbs ... therefore you are shooting with an equivalent of 2 light units each giving the equiv of 400watts of output