User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: PS5 - My first real test:::

  1. #1
    Account Closed Atlas's Avatar
    Join Date
    21 Jul 2006
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    156
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Thumbs down PS5 - My first real test:::

    Hi All,

    For those that have PS5 how are you finding it... After a good working out tonight I have to say I am less than impressed....

    I have not changed anything on my laptop, CS3 worked just fine... Anyway, my complaints about PS5...

    * So slowwwwwwwwwwwwwww

    * If I open more than 2 images subsequent ones come out black... Yet I can see the photo in the layers palette..

    Has anyone else experienced this ? Don't get me wrong, there are some greta features, but I seem to be able to do a lot more and quicker in PS3... ???

  2. #2
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,137
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    I think CS5 is slower than CS4 too. I haven't really tried to give it any real world tests, but my general perception at times is that it seems to take a while to do some tasks.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,837
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    all new software releases, developers also assume that youve also updated your hardware to keep pace...have you ?
    Darren
    Gear : Nikon Goodness
    Website : http://www.peakactionimages.com
    Please support Precious Hearts
    Constructive Critique of my images always appreciated

  4. #4
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,137
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by kiwi View Post
    all new software releases, developers also assume that youve also updated your hardware to keep pace...have you ?
    I am using a quad core system with 4gb of ram, scratch disk is separate from main one, photos are stored on a third drive. One thing I am going to investigate is my RAID backup. It is set to auto backup any new photos that hit my catalogue, and I have a feeling that while that is running it is slowing my system, might need to look at how it manages resources doing the back-up.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    07 Jul 2008
    Location
    Riverland
    Posts
    560
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    CS5 is good on my laptop that has 4gig of RAM, but slow and problematical on my home computer that only has 2 gig of RAM. I shall get some RAM soon.
    Both systens running Windows 7
    Graham

    Canon- EOS 7D with BG-E7 grip, 10-22 f/3.5-4.5, 24-105L f/4; Speedlites 580EX II, 550EX, 430EX.
    Sigma- 18-50 f/2.8, 50-150 f/2.8, 120-300 f/2.8, 50-500 f/4.5-6.3 APO DG OS, 30 f/1.4, 150 f/2.8 macro, Sigma APO 1.4x and 2x Teleconverters;
    Kenko Extension tubes; Benro- M-257 tripod & B-1 ballhead; Wimberley- Sidekick.
    Home made "bag" on wheels; heaps and heaps of other minor stuff!

  6. #6
    Focus Pocus
    Join Date
    25 Jul 2010
    Location
    Kelmscott
    Posts
    738
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    "CS5 is good on my laptop that has 4gig of RAM, but slow and problematical on my home computer that only has 2 gig of RAM. I shall get some RAM soon."

    I think that RAM might be the key Graham. I find CS5 to be faster than CS4 (particularly starting up) and I'm running 8GB on a quad core.

    It might also be slower for some as its running in 64 bit mode - just a guess on that.

    I must admit I'm sold on the content-aware fill.
    Mike

    The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new landscapes, but in having new eyes.
    Marcel Proust



  7. #7
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    14,865
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What scratch disk settings - and other Prefs - are changed from the previous versions? Am.
    CC, Image editing OK.

  8. #8
    It's all about the Light!
    Tech Admin
    Kym's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2008
    Location
    Modbury, Adelaide
    Posts
    9,633
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It's fine on 4gb reasonable HW and Win 7 64 bit.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    02 Jul 2008
    Location
    Launceston, TAS
    Posts
    335
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I jumped straight from CS3 to CS5 as colleagues had all sorts of dramas with CS4.

    Short answer, I like it. The new pan action takes some getting used to, but I prefer it, same for the tabs across the top. They moved the ruler too, that took some finding, haha.

    Runs faster than me on my new laptop, mind you it is pretty powerful (i7 740QM, 6GB DDR3, ATI 5730 1GB, 120GB SSD, Win7 Ultimate 64-bit).
    Adam.


    AGSPhotos.com

    Using Nikon & PS CS5.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    09 Sep 2008
    Location
    The Marsh
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What version Mac / PC? What are your computer specs?

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    14 Sep 2008
    Location
    Salamander Bay NSW
    Posts
    737
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It is a hungry beast, you need lots of RAM to run it efficiently or close everything else down, I have 4GB RAM on the iMac and use a 2TB external as the main scratch disk, I sometimes have problems with the images 'drawing' on the screen initially but it settles down. I love the interface itself particularly the 'refine edge' tool. Camera Raw is much better with all the tools having much finer control, the noise reduction area really works this time around, Adobe seem to have looked at what people add as Plug Ins and come up with them within Camera Raw. I don't like the HDR area very much!
    Margaret

    Nikon D7100 Manfrotto MF 055XPROB Pro Tripod & gynbal head, Nikon 18-70 mm, Sigma 10-20 mm, Kenko tubes, Nikkor 80-300 mm VR, Sigma 180 mm macro, Sigma 120-400 mm OS lenses, SB600 Speedlight, Photoshop CS5 on a Mac, Caapture One 7, Lightroom 4 Critiques welcomed


  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    29 Dec 2009
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    87
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    CS5 runs faster on my laptop than CS3 did. Works perfectly on the my desktop too. I don't seem to have any real problems with it, it did take some getting used to it but overall I am very happy with it.

    Laptop Dell Studio 15
    Intel Core2Duo 2.0Ghz
    3GB Ram
    Raedon 4750 ( I think )
    Windows 7 64bit

    Dekstop:
    Intel i7 930 2.9Ghz
    8GB Ram
    Raedon 5750 ( I think )
    Windows 7 64bit
    -Nigel
    Last edited by Nige; 16-08-2010 at 4:55pm. Reason: Added system specs

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    02 Jul 2008
    Location
    Launceston, TAS
    Posts
    335
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've spent several hours processing a photos tonight. I can now say CS5 is far far superior over CS3. More intuitive, more stable, and most importantly for paying shoots, faster!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •