User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Bulb setting on KX

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    19 Jul 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    50
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Bulb setting on KX

    I've tried a few times using my bulb setting with a remote... and it seems my camera switches itself off after a minute? Maybe I'm doing something wrong or maybe I have to turn off the auto shutoff every time I do long exposures, but surely pentax must have thought out the fact that it shouldn't auto turn off on a long exposure even with the shut off mode on?

    maybe i'm doing something wrong, has anyone else had this problem?
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC] K-X w/ Sigma 18 - 125mm lens

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    03 May 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    341
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    have you tried making the auto shut off delay longer or switched it off? You may have to set bulb to on or program it some how etc? will have a read of my k7 manual but may be different to kx
    K7, Pentax DA35Ltd, DA70Ltd, DA18-55WR, DA50-200WR, SMC-K 400f5.6; Sigma 8-16mm; Super TakumarM42 20f4.5, 24f3.5, 28f3.5, 35f3.5, 55f1.8, 135f3.5, SMC 200f4, SMC 85-210f4.5

  3. #3
    It's all about the Light!
    Tech Admin
    Kym's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2008
    Location
    Modbury, Adelaide
    Posts
    9,641
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Latest firmware? http://www.pentax.jp/english/support/digital/k-x_s.html

    This is not the behaviour on a K-7 and they both use the same base software (PRIME II)

    What remote are you using? Is your remote losing contact with the body?

  4. #4
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    19 Jul 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    50
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Kym View Post
    What remote are you using? Is your remote losing contact with the body?
    I'm using a proper pentax remote, and have the setting so that I have to push the remote a second time to close the shutter... then when i tried to close it the camera didnt respond, so i tried to push the button on the camera itself and there was no response.
    I read the manual and it said that i need to make sure that the batteries are at full charge because its still using battery power when the shutter is open. From what i remember, the batteries were at full charge but maybe ill try again with freshly charged batterys just so that i cant rule out the fact that it might have been the batterys that died the first time.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    15 Jul 2010
    Location
    Forest Lake
    Posts
    1,948
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Never had this problem with my k10, but I'm using a home made release (just a couple of switches a film canister and the wiring from an old skool hands free kit)
    Greg Bartle,
    I have a Pentax and I'm not afraid to use it.
    Pentax K5
    Sigma 10-20 | Tamron 17-50 F:2.8 | Sigma 50 F:1.4 | Sigma 70-200 F:2.8 Plus a bunch of Ye Olde lenses


    Would you like to see more?
    http://flickr.com/photosbygreg

  6. #6
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    19 Jul 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    50
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think I've worked out what's happening... after I have taken a photo on bulb setting of over 30 seconds, the camera seemed to be non-responsive, the blue light was on, but the live view screen at the back didn't show my picture or anything... but it turns out that maybe I was just too impatient.
    After taking a photo on bulb setting, I have to wait like 30 secs for the camera to kind of "Process" the image, and finally the image turns up.
    I was just confused and thought the camera had crashed or something after, or turned itself off as it never happens with a 30 sec exposure, the photo always appears instantly on the screen as soon as the photo has been taken.
    I guess I just need to be be more patient.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    07 Jul 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, Outer east.
    Posts
    43
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Try page 92 of the manual. It deals with long exposure noise reduction. I think this is your problem.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  8. #8
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    19 Jul 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    50
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Wizofoz View Post
    Try page 92 of the manual. It deals with long exposure noise reduction. I think this is your problem.
    Yea I see how it says it uses NR when I have a shutter speed of slower than 30 secs, so I guess, if im not having any probs with the clarity of the image, i could turn it off to save time with the image processing.

  9. #9
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    19 Jul 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    50
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I tried it again with the slow shutter noise reduction turned OFF and it still seems to takes like 40 seconds and even like a minute and a half to process the image, it can be kind of annoying at times... I take a pic that is 1 minute long.... and I have to wait nearly a minute or even longer to view it.

    Has anyone noticed this on other Pentax's like the K7?

  10. #10
    It's all about the Light!
    Tech Admin
    Kym's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2008
    Location
    Modbury, Adelaide
    Posts
    9,641
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If its over 30 seconds it does a NR regardless, basically doubling time
    The NR is a 'dark' image for about the same time that is subtracted from the real image

  11. #11
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    19 Jul 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    50
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It can be switched off in the custom settings, and i tried it switched off and it still took a LONG time

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    20 Jul 2009
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    415
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    the DFS (Dark Frame Subtraction) is forced for exposures over 30sec.........that is you cannot turn it off

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    03 May 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    341
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    glad you worked it out

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    15 Jul 2010
    Location
    Forest Lake
    Posts
    1,948
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The wait on the dark frame is annoying, but it's still quicker then it was waiting for film to develop

    The only time it's really annoying is when you're trying to photograph lightning. It always seems you get the biggest strikes while you're waiting.

  15. #15
    Ausphotography Site Sponsor/Advertiser OzzieTraveller's Avatar
    Join Date
    12 Oct 2009
    Location
    Forster- Tuncurry, eastern Australia
    Posts
    1,600
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    G'day Brad

    Just re-reading this thread ... have you found the solution to your Q??
    if -y-, I would be interested to hear your conclusion & solution

    Regards, Phil
    Of all the stuff in a busy photographers kitbag, the ability to see photographically is the most important
    google me at Travelling School of Photography
    images.: flickr.com/photos/ozzie_traveller/sets/

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •