User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  1
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Saving as JPG

  1. #1
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,131
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Saving as JPG

    How to save your photo as a JPG.

    Last edited by ricktas; 24-04-2012 at 12:46pm.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Threadstarter
    ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,131
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Saving your file as a JPG, using the "Save for Web" menu option

    [yt]Ut_F7iGlze8[/yt]

  3. #3
    Account Closed
    Join Date
    21 Sep 2010
    Location
    Tingalpa
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    jpegs & Image Processor blues

    Wishing to convert a bunch of 18 ProPhoto .psd files to sRGB, reduce the bit rate from 16 to 8, and save them as jpegs on an SD card for later viewing on an HD TV, I resorted to Photoshop CS3's Image Processor.

    When I later checked, the SD card had, ( APPARENTLY ), 18 correctly named jpegs on it.

    However on the TV each jpeg file had a, ( properly named, but UNUSABLE ), duplicate beside it — i.e. 36 files!

    Apart from wasting 50% of the card space, this rather spoils a slide show, with one having to use the remote to move past every one of the dud duplicates.

    I have tried closing everything down and re-starting the computer. I've tried it with the "Include ICC Profile" box in the Image Processor dialogue box both checked & unchecked...just in case .....but nothing stops this from happening.

    Can you tell me what to do please?

    Regards: Image

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Threadstarter
    ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,131
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Image View Post
    Wishing to convert a bunch of 18 ProPhoto .psd files to sRGB, reduce the bit rate from 16 to 8, and save them as jpegs on an SD card for later viewing on an HD TV, I resorted to Photoshop CS3's Image Processor.

    When I later checked, the SD card had, ( APPARENTLY ), 18 correctly named jpegs on it.

    However on the TV each jpeg file had a, ( properly named, but UNUSABLE ), duplicate beside it — i.e. 36 files!

    Apart from wasting 50% of the card space, this rather spoils a slide show, with one having to use the remote to move past every one of the dud duplicates.

    I have tried closing everything down and re-starting the computer. I've tried it with the "Include ICC Profile" box in the Image Processor dialogue box both checked & unchecked...just in case .....but nothing stops this from happening.

    Can you tell me what to do please?

    Regards: Image
    Without knowing what what each step of your process is etc, we have no way of helping.

    I copy my files to my hard-drive and use Photoshop to to bulk conversions using the File > Automate > Batch command, then if I wanted them on an SD card, would format said card and copy the new files onto it

  5. #5
    Account Closed
    Join Date
    23 Oct 2009
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    391
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Image View Post
    Wishing to convert a bunch of 18 ProPhoto .psd files to sRGB, reduce the bit rate from 16 to 8, and save them as jpegs on an SD card for later viewing on an HD TV, I resorted to Photoshop CS3's Image Processor.

    When I later checked, the SD card had, ( APPARENTLY ), 18 correctly named jpegs on it.

    However on the TV each jpeg file had a, ( properly named, but UNUSABLE ), duplicate beside it — i.e. 36 files!

    Apart from wasting 50% of the card space, this rather spoils a slide show, with one having to use the remote to move past every one of the dud duplicates.

    I have tried closing everything down and re-starting the computer. I've tried it with the "Include ICC Profile" box in the Image Processor dialogue box both checked & unchecked...just in case .....but nothing stops this from happening.

    Can you tell me what to do please?

    Regards: Image
    I suspect you still have the original .psd files on the card which cannot be played back via the TV.

    If you have safely backed up your card then delete any .psd files and all that should be left will be the .jpg files which can then be played back in sequence.

  6. #6
    Ausphotography Regular rene52's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Nov 2009
    Location
    Benalla
    Posts
    1,008
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Agree I think you have left the orginal files on the SD card and the YV or slide show does not know what teh files are. You should be able to look at the card either through a card reader or even your Camera (when attached to your PC and see the 'disk' drive associated to the camera. This you can then naviigate through and see exact what you have on the card.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •