User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Sigma 150-500 OS. ON/OFF Switch ???

  1. #1
    Still in the Circle of Confusion Cage's Avatar
    Join Date
    25 May 2010
    Location
    Hunter Valley
    Posts
    4,576
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Sigma 150-500 OS. ON/OFF Switch ???

    Hi

    Can anyone tell me whether there is an ON/OFF switch for the OS feature on the Sigma 150-500.

    I mostly use a tripod so I don't think it would work too well. I accidently left the Anti Shake turned on on my Pentax K20D when using a monopod and the results were very blurred.

    Thanks

    Kevin
    Cheers
    Kev

    D800 & GAS

  2. #2
    Moderately Underexposed I @ M's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 May 2007
    Location
    Marlo, Far East Gippsland
    Posts
    4,869
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    1 minute and 32 seconds into the video at http://www.sigmaphoto.com/shop/150-5...g-os-hsm-sigma shows an OS switch which appears to have an off, 1 and 2 setting.
    Andrew
    Nikon, Fuji, Nikkor, Sigma, Tamron, Tokina and too many other bits and pieces to list.



  3. #3
    Still in the Circle of Confusion
    Threadstarter
    Cage's Avatar
    Join Date
    25 May 2010
    Location
    Hunter Valley
    Posts
    4,576
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by I @ M View Post
    1 minute and 32 seconds into the video at http://www.sigmaphoto.com/shop/150-5...g-os-hsm-sigma shows an OS switch which appears to have an off, 1 and 2 setting.
    Hi Andrew

    I was told you have the 100-300 f4 with the 1.4 TC, which I slightly favour over the 150-500

    Do you find much image degradation with the TC?

    Cheers

    Kevin

  4. #4
    Moderately Underexposed I @ M's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 May 2007
    Location
    Marlo, Far East Gippsland
    Posts
    4,869
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    We are quite happy with the results from the 100 - 300 + 1.4 tc combo, even wide open. I will drag a few shots from the archives and put them up here in the next day or so Kevin.

  5. #5
    Member inmotion's Avatar
    Join Date
    01 Oct 2009
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    153
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Did you post shots with the 100-300 plus 1.4 TC as Im interested in this combo--jim

  6. #6
    Moderately Underexposed I @ M's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 May 2007
    Location
    Marlo, Far East Gippsland
    Posts
    4,869
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by inmotion View Post
    Hi Did you post shots with the 100-300 plus 1.4 TC as Im interested in this combo--jim
    Jim, I failed to do the image posting bit.

    I will promise a few shots tomorrow. Just have to find them.

    If memory serves me correctly I may have entered into an "off site discussion" and let the original post slip by.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    26 Jul 2010
    Location
    South
    Posts
    254
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The image stabiliser for your pentax is in body, is it not? The option will lie on the body or in a menu somewhere, not on the lens barrel
    Canon stuff 5Dmk1 w/ 24-70 f2.8L, Canon 5Dmk1 w/70-200f2.8L, 100mm f2.8 macro, 50mm f1.4, 580exII
    Alienbees B800, Lumopro 160, Manfrotto 155XPROB w/ 498RC2, Lowepro ProRunner X450AW
    Phew!

  8. #8
    Still in the Circle of Confusion
    Threadstarter
    Cage's Avatar
    Join Date
    25 May 2010
    Location
    Hunter Valley
    Posts
    4,576
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes, the Pentax has in-body stabilisation, selectable.

    And the Sigma 150-500 has OS in the lens, also selectable as I've since found out.

    Anyway I went with a Pentax 300 Prime.

    Kevin

  9. #9
    Moderately Underexposed I @ M's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 May 2007
    Location
    Marlo, Far East Gippsland
    Posts
    4,869
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I was given a reminder about a few images that I sorta said I would post a wile ago and I went and dug a few recent shots from the archives.

    D200, Sigma 100-300 F/4 + 1.4 teleconverter at F/5.6 ISO 320 1/1000

    Both images uncroped at probably close to minimum focus distance.





  10. #10
    Still in the Circle of Confusion
    Threadstarter
    Cage's Avatar
    Join Date
    25 May 2010
    Location
    Hunter Valley
    Posts
    4,576
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for that Andrew.

    My testing to date on the 300 has me thinking no T/C up to about 20m (felt I was getting sharper results with a crop) but certainly a consideration from 20m on, particularly for larger birds.

    Testing done with Pentax DA* 300mm f4 and Tamron-F 1.4 AF T/C.

    Cheers

    Kevin

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •