User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: How do I see what settings people have used in their pictures?

  1. #1
    Member alacrity's Avatar
    Join Date
    03 Jan 2010
    Location
    Mooroopna
    Posts
    84
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    How do I see what settings people have used in their pictures?

    I am wondering if there is a way of seeing what settings are used for peoples pictures without asking everyone individually?

  2. #2
    Member rattle's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Jul 2010
    Location
    North of Melbourne
    Posts
    67
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi alacrity.

    I'm only new here, so I don't have the best answer for you, but one thing I only noticed yesterday is that some photos posted by people are able to be clicked on and that takes you to their page, say flickr for example and that will have all the info if they have opted to have it displayed.

    Hope that helps.
    Regards,
    rattle.
    ----------------------------
    Newbie to dslr. (Nikon D90)

  3. #3
    Ausphotography Veteran
    Join Date
    08 Nov 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    3,303
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by alacrity View Post
    I am wondering if there is a way of seeing what settings are used for peoples pictures without asking everyone individually?
    If the EXIF data (containing exposure settings amongst a lot of other information) is embedded in the JPG, you can save a copy and look at the image with whatever software you use. Adobe Bridge displays EXIF data for JPGs, and there are plenty of other apps which also do so.

    The AP forum itself doesn't natively display EXIF data.

    Some people post their exposure settings with their images.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    01 Jun 2009
    Location
    Brisbane North
    Posts
    537
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use Firefox as my browser and I've added the EXIF add-on. This allows me to right-click on a displayed image and choose "Show Exif data".

    Note that some posted images will NOT have EXIF data embedded in them.
    The world is an AMAZING place . . .
    flickr :: panoramio

  5. #5
    Ausphotography Veteran
    Join Date
    08 Nov 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    3,303
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by GlennSan View Post
    Note that some posted images will NOT have EXIF data embedded in them.
    There are three general reasons for that:

    1. the owner has deliberately suppressed EXIF data;
    2. the software which saved the JPG is very old and doesn't support EXIF; or
    3. a "save for Web" option has been chosen, which strips EXIF data to keep files smaller.

  6. #6
    It's all about the Light!
    Tech Admin
    Kym's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2008
    Location
    Modbury, Adelaide
    Posts
    9,641
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    We strip EXIF from anonymous comp entires.

    http://www.ausphotography.net.au/for...ead.php?t=4674 Firefox EXIF viewer

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    29 Nov 2008
    Location
    River Murray
    Posts
    727
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There are three general reasons for that:

    1. the owner has deliberately suppressed EXIF data;
    2. the software which saved the JPG is very old and doesn't support EXIF; or
    3. a "save for Web" option has been chosen, which strips EXIF data to keep files smaller.
    another reason is that images shot with film won't have exif data by default

  8. #8
    Ausphotography Veteran
    Join Date
    08 Nov 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    3,303
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by TOM View Post
    another reason is that images shot with film won't have exif data by default
    This is obviously an outrage.

    What idiot decided not to include EXIF data in fillum? :-)

  9. #9
    A royal pain in the bum! arthurking83's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Jun 2006
    Location
    the worst house, in the best street
    Posts
    8,185
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by TOM View Post
    another reason is that images shot with film won't have exif data by default
    EXIF data can easily be manufactured tho!
    (I'm going to give it a shot one day, just to prove my theory)
    Nikon D800E, D300, D70s
    {Nikon} -> 50/1.2 : 500/8(CPU'd) : 105/2.8VR Micro : 180/2.8ais : 105mm f/1.8ais : 24mm/2ais
    {Sigma}; ->10-20/4-5.6 : 50/1.4 : 12-24/4.5-5.6II : 150-600mm|S
    {Tamron}; -> 17-50/2.8 : 28-75/2.8 : 70-200/2.8 : 300/2.8 SP MF : 24-70/2.8VC


  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    13 Dec 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    2,051
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There is another program for mac users called Exif Everywhere .. You just point to the image in the thread with your cursor and hit the Control key and then an exif box pops up with all the info youll ever need. This is of course provided the exif hasnt been stripped for any of the reasons outlined above.

    This ones not free though, costs about $18AUD.


    ..... or ......

    you could just use Firefox instead of Safari and use the plugin
    Hi Im Darren

    www.darrengrayphotography.com

    SONY A850 (FF)] + GRIP | SONY A350 (APS-C) + GRIP | SONY NEX-5 +16 2.8 + 18-55 E-MOUNT LENSES | CZ 85 1.4 | 50 1.4 | 28-75 2.8 | 70-200 2.8 | 2 x 42AMs | 24" imac | LR | CS4 | + loads of other junk


  11. #11
    It's all about the Light!
    Tech Admin
    Kym's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2008
    Location
    Modbury, Adelaide
    Posts
    9,641
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by TOM View Post
    another reason is that images shot with film won't have exif data by default
    After scanning.... http://www.snapfiles.com/get/Exifer.html

    Quote Originally Posted by Xenedis View Post
    This is obviously an outrage.
    What idiot decided not to include EXIF data in fillum? :-)


    Quote Originally Posted by arthurking83 View Post
    EXIF data can easily be manufactured tho!
    (I'm going to give it a shot one day, just to prove my theory)
    See above.

  12. #12
    A royal pain in the bum! arthurking83's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Jun 2006
    Location
    the worst house, in the best street
    Posts
    8,185
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Another thing to note about 'absent' exif data too!

    Sometimes an image may be linked too from an external site, such as Flickr or Pbase or wherever, and with using these exif viewers, you may not be able to see the exif directly from here.

    Sometimes if you follow the link to the image directly from the site it's hosted on, you can then use the exif viewer and it may be present in the image.

    I get that situation a lot.

    if the exif isn't present in the image directly off the site it's hosted on, then there's a very high chance that it's been stripped.

  13. #13
    A royal pain in the bum! arthurking83's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Jun 2006
    Location
    the worst house, in the best street
    Posts
    8,185
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Shouldn't be to hard to read the exif data in this one:

    6A_44250027_small.JPG

    exif data added with the use of ExifMixer(an ExifTool GUI front end).
    I'm not sure what parameters to use to add the actual aperture value used for the shot, but once I figure that out, I'll add them in too.

  14. #14
    A royal pain in the bum! arthurking83's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Jun 2006
    Location
    the worst house, in the best street
    Posts
    8,185
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Same image, edited again with added 'EXIF' info, using the same program:

    6A_44250027_01.JPG

    are the differences obvious?

    note: I can't figure out how to add exif data to a film image with the Exifer program, nor with the use of ExifToolGUI, but it's a lot more intuitive using ExifMixer, except for one glaring issue! Adding exif data to individual files. It appears to work only in batch lots on the entire folder. Good for wholesale data such as camera brand film type and so forth, but exposure variables such as aperture and shutter speeds can vary. That's what I added to the second image.

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    25 Jul 2010
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    38
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    wow that worked, thanks GlennSan
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  16. #16
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,641
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Depending on your browser you need to find a compatible add-on, that display EXIF data. Just google your brower and EXIF add-on eg "Firefox EXIF add-on" or in your browser find the add-on menu item from the very top drop down menu's and search for EXIF in there. Once installed they will allow you to view lots of detailed EXIF information about photos, as long as the member has included it. If they haven't, along with your critique of their photo, ask them about the settings used, most members are happy to oblige and provide them when asked.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    01 Jun 2009
    Location
    Brisbane North
    Posts
    537
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by arthurking83 View Post
    Another thing to note about 'absent' exif data too!

    Sometimes an image may be linked too from an external site, such as Flickr or Pbase or wherever, and with using these exif viewers, you may not be able to see the exif directly from here.
    Arthur, I only recently learned that my Flickr images that I linked to posts on AP did NOT show EXIF because I was using the "Large" image (which strips EXIF data.) Since that epiphany, I now only link to the "Original Size image", which is usually the same pixel count as the "Large" image but retains the EXIF data. Go figure ...

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    19 Jul 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    50
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    http://regex.info/exif.cgi

    A really nice and simple page that displays exif
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC] K-X w/ Sigma 18 - 125mm lens

  19. #19
    Still in the Circle of Confusion Cage's Avatar
    Join Date
    25 May 2010
    Location
    Hunter Valley
    Posts
    5,350
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm now using Firefox as my AP browser plus the EXIF add-on.

    Thanks GlenSan

    Cheers

    Kevin
    Cheers
    Kev

    D600 : D7200 and too much stuff to list

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •