User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Cant turn laptop off

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    20 May 2010
    Location
    Gladstone
    Posts
    282
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Cant turn laptop off

    Did some cleaning up of registry, temp files and startup on the laptop and dont know if its coincidence or not but cant turn off my laptop via the "Start/Standby/restart click icons!!??..
    anyone have an idea what i "St#@@ed up lol??.
    How do i fix it!!??..
    We didnt inherit this land, we merely borrow it from our Children

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,831
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Push the power button for 10 seconds ?
    Darren
    Gear : Nikon Goodness
    Website : http://www.peakactionimages.com
    Please support Precious Hearts
    Constructive Critique of my images always appreciated

  3. #3
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    20 May 2010
    Location
    Gladstone
    Posts
    282
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Will that also reset my abillity to turn it off via the mouse from the stop/restart icon??..
    Appreciate your help ey.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,831
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    All it should do is turn the laptop off, then you can restart hopefully, you're brave for doing reg edits

  5. #5
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    20 May 2010
    Location
    Gladstone
    Posts
    282
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Nah just run my regular Glary cleanup/checkups for temp files etc and "Lo n Behold!!" A problemo lol..
    Guess something must occasionally happen ta test one ey ..

  6. #6
    Ausphotography Site Sponsor/Advertiser OzzieTraveller's Avatar
    Join Date
    12 Oct 2009
    Location
    Forster- Tuncurry, eastern Australia
    Posts
    1,600
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    G'day papou

    Rick's on the button - hold the button for a minimum of 10 seconds (I've sometimes needed 30 secs). Windows has 'grown-up' to the point where it can recover from a forced-shutdown and restart again cleanly

    Tho - as I heard many years ago at an educational conference in IT in schools, sponsored my Microsoft +others - one of the speakers on stage ... "when you're dealing with microsoft product, you need to make allowances..."

    Regards, Phil
    Of all the stuff in a busy photographers kitbag, the ability to see photographically is the most important
    google me at Travelling School of Photography
    images.: flickr.com/photos/ozzie_traveller/sets/

  7. #7
    Member Phil Rayner's Avatar
    Join Date
    22 Feb 2010
    Location
    Geelong
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Dear Papou,
    One thing I have learned over the years is not to mess with the Registry. If you turn off by pushing the button for 10 secs, on re-start you will be given the opportunity to start at a previous point in time when all things were working. Do so and then go back to a restore point (through Control Panel) - pick one dated prior to your messing with the Registry- and all should be well.

    Good luck

  8. #8
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,811
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Phil Rayner View Post
    Dear Papou,
    One thing I have learned over the years is not to mess with the Registry. If you turn off by pushing the button for 10 secs, on re-start you will be given the opportunity to start at a previous point in time when all things were working. Do so and then go back to a restore point (through Control Panel) - pick one dated prior to your messing with the Registry- and all should be well.

    Good luck
    Papou. What OS are you using? In XP Pro I would have to do a System Restore. Am.
    CC, Image editing OK.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •