User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Off-camera flash question

  1. #1
    Member Gunna's Avatar
    Join Date
    12 Feb 2010
    Location
    Scarborough
    Posts
    25
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Off-camera flash question

    I have a Canon 40D + 2 old Speedlite 580EX. I want to set up a home studio & have both strobes off-camera. I cant justify costly wireless switching devices, & would be happy with cables, operating in Manual mode.
    The 40D has a PC connector. I thought the strobes did too, but find that they dont.
    Anyone know how I can do it?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    13 Dec 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    2,051
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yep, just pick yourself up some Yongnuo or Cactus triggers/receivers off ebay and youre away. Should be more than about $60 for a transmitter and 2 x receivers. Cheap alternative to PocketWizards. No TTL though, and you will have to expose manually.

    Alternatively, you can pick up a hotshoe adapter with a sync jack and attach it to your flash, then use your cable to connect the camera to the adapter.
    Last edited by bigdazzler; 11-06-2010 at 3:54pm.
    Hi Im Darren

    www.darrengrayphotography.com

    SONY A850 (FF)] + GRIP | SONY A350 (APS-C) + GRIP | SONY NEX-5 +16 2.8 + 18-55 E-MOUNT LENSES | CZ 85 1.4 | 50 1.4 | 28-75 2.8 | 70-200 2.8 | 2 x 42AMs | 24" imac | LR | CS4 | + loads of other junk


  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    23 Jul 2009
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    659
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can pick up a 10m TTL sync cable off ebay for around $40
    Jayde

    Honest CC whether good or bad, is much appreciated.
    Love and enjoy photography, but won't be giving up my day job.

    Flickr

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    13 Dec 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    2,051
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I dont use Canon, but I thought the OP was saying that the flashes dont have a sync jack ?? Cable wont be any good to him without an adapter with a PC socket if that is the case.

    Go the triggers mate. Theyre not $$$ and they work great for someone just starting out with O/C flash.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    13 Dec 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    2,051
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I dont use Canon, but I thought the OP was saying that the flashes dont have a sync jack ?? Cable wont be any good to him without an adapter with a PC socket if that is the case.

    Go the triggers mate. Theyre not $$$ and they work great for someone just starting out with O/C flash.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    23 Jul 2009
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    659
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sync cable attaches via the hot shoe

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    13 Dec 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    2,051
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    you mean the flash end of the cable attaches to the hotshoe itself ?? no sync jack required ?? Could you post a link.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    23 Jul 2009
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    659
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This is the cable i was thinking about buying, the one's i've seen on ebay are the same but curly, I'd prefer straight though.
    http://flashzebra.com/products/0125/index.shtml

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •