User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  1
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: New PC - CS5 & LR<x> ??

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    13 Mar 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    686
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    New PC - CS5 & LR<x> ??

    As discussed in the new gear thread I have a new Windows PC. It's a bit beasty so should hopefully empower me to PP things faster and easier.

    I'm sold on the LR + PS workflow so don't try to convince me otherwise

    CS5 is out and has been for a while and I've heard about a feature or two I like the sounds of so will be working towards a copy of that.

    It looks like LR2 is still the latest stable production version. I currently use LR1.4 still on my old laptop. I also know LR3 is out there in Beta and, again, has a feature or two I think will be very handy for the type of photography I do.

    So what do people think? Can I even get LR3 as an install or do I need to upgrade from my older version to get it? Can I export my LR1.4 catalogues, presets, images in such a way that will import straight into LR3?

    Thoughts welcome.

    I can't wait to get this stuff working on my Dell U2410 monitor and new PC. It's going to make PP a bit more fun for me I think.
    Michael.

    Camera: Canon EOS 400D w/ Battery Grip (BG-E3)
    Lenses: Sigma 10-20, Sigma 24-70, Canon 50 f/1.8 & Sigma 70-200
    Software: Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 1.4 and Photoshop CS3
    Photos: http://www.flickr.com/photos/mrjorge/

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2009
    Location
    Northern Beaches, Sydney
    Posts
    2,338
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Michael the Lightroom 3 beta is still available: http://labs.adobe.com/technologies/lightroom3/. It expires on 30 June.

    Note that you would have to implement a workaround to get your Lightroom 1.4 catalogue / library into Lightroom 3.

  3. #3
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    13 Mar 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    686
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for the link and the info. I'll look into that some more.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,831
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just be aware that there ia no guarantee that your catalogue in the beta will be able to be migrated to production

    Im pretty sure you can import the LR 1.4 catalogue into it though
    Darren
    Gear : Nikon Goodness
    Website : http://www.peakactionimages.com
    Please support Precious Hearts
    Constructive Critique of my images always appreciated

  5. #5
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    13 Mar 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    686
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by kiwi View Post
    Just be aware that there ia no guarantee that your catalogue in the beta will be able to be migrated to production
    Yeah for that reason, and a few others, I think I'll just stick with LR2 for now. Going to be fun migrating from laptop to new desktop + LR1.4->LR2 without worrying about LR3 prod changes vs LR3 Beta.

    Sounds like the Beta test is almost over anyway. So LR3 production might not be too far away.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,831
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ive been using LR3 for months. I dont care about the catalogue, at some stage I'll just run a massize high res JPEG export and import into LR3 production.

  7. #7
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    13 Mar 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    686
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well I've got multiple catalogues going on. Considering, as part of the migration, sucking them all into one big one. Not decided on that yet.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •