User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Vignetting with photoshop CS

  1. #1
    Member dubbadan's Avatar
    Join Date
    06 May 2010
    Location
    ACT
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Vignetting with photoshop CS

    Hi.

    This is my first post. I got a DSLR for my b'day last year and have been gradually becoming addicted to photography!

    I've been reading various tutorials on how to vignette frame edges. I want to do an oval shape. My problem has been that the edge of the oval is always too obvious. So far my process has been to select the oval with the elliptical marquee tool, inverse, create a new layer, soft light mode, fill with black, then add a gaussian blur filter. The filter does soften the edge a bit but even if I push the radius slider all the way up to 250px I still get a defined edge. I've tried playing with the fill and layer opacity but if I take it right back to almost invisible the edge is still too obvious.

    Maybe I'm missing a step somewhere...?

    Dan.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    09 Aug 2006
    Location
    Echuca
    Posts
    461
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Dan.....depending on the resolution of your image, select your marquis tool with about 150px feather. Mark out your selection over the image and on the tool bar go to "Select" - "Inverse", go to "Image" - "Adjustments" - "Brightness", move the slider until your vignette is at the desired darkness.

    PS. Best to make a background copy and work on that, at least then you can dump it if it doesn't work, that way you still have the original.

    An honest C+C please!


    "I started life with nothing and I still have most of it left"

    Nikon D300
    Photoshop CS4 Extended



  3. #3
    Member Jeanette's Avatar
    Join Date
    11 Mar 2010
    Location
    Mount Compass
    Posts
    1,687
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    cant see a photo?




    Constructive Critique and editing of my images is welcome and appreciated.

  4. #4
    Member Michael's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Jan 2008
    Location
    Dural, NSW
    Posts
    45
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I do something similar which always gives me a result where the vignette is not noticeable.

    Use your marquee tool to make your selection, select, add a "solid colour" adjustment layer, choose black as your colour, invert this (note do not change layer mode, keep blend mode as normal). Then as you have done select Gaussian blur somewhere between 200 - 250 (or what evere suits and adjust the opacity of this layer until you get the result you are after. Works every time.
    Fujifilm GA645Wi
    Canon PowerShot G10
    Canon 17-40 f/4L 70-200 f/4L
    Photoshop Lightroom 3.6 & CS4

  5. #5
    Member
    Threadstarter
    dubbadan's Avatar
    Join Date
    06 May 2010
    Location
    ACT
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Great! Thanks.

    Harves, I got the feather thing not long after I posted this.

    Michael, I'll try your method next...

  6. #6
    Member kaiser's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Dec 2008
    Location
    Laidley
    Posts
    900
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Duplicate base layer > blending mode multiply > oval or rounded square marquee tool on this new layer to desired size > feather edge to desired level > delete selection.
    Nikon D750
    Olympus m/43
    Rolleicord IV


    My SmugMug

  7. #7
    Member James T's Avatar
    Join Date
    14 Jan 2010
    Location
    St Kilda
    Posts
    377
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'd use a curves adjustment layer if I was doing it in PS. No needless extra pixels then fattening up your file. And then mask it out using a feathered elliptical selection as mention above. (Though I'd more likely do it manually with a brush rather than a selection).

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    17 Nov 2009
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    89
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Can't you just use the lens distorsion effect in CS?

    Thats what i used on mine

    Mike
    Canon EOS 7D | EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM | EF 50mm f/1.4 USM | Speedlite 580EX II

  9. #9
    Account Closed
    Join Date
    18 Feb 2010
    Location
    sydney
    Posts
    80
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use Filter>lens correction.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •