User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  1

View Poll Results: What brand of Modem/Router do you use?

Voters
72. You may not vote on this poll
  • Other

    17 23.61%
  • D-Link

    13 18.06%
  • Billion

    11 15.28%
  • Telstra (Bigpond)

    9 12.50%
  • Netgear

    7 9.72%
  • Belkin

    7 9.72%
  • Netcomm

    6 8.33%
  • Dynalink

    1 1.39%
  • Aopen

    1 1.39%
  • 3com (US Robotics)

    0 0%
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 49

Thread: What brand of Modem/Router do you use?

  1. #1
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,624
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    What brand of Modem/Router do you use?

    After a chat in the mods area this morning, I got to wondering what brand of Modem/Router's are popular with AP members

    So here you go, a Poll
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  2. #2
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban
    Join Date
    08 Jan 2010
    Location
    Lake Cathie
    Posts
    66
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My phone line is hooked into an Alcatel Modem(Telstra) from many years ago, my PC and such hooks into a Netgear Modem/Router, it was just a pain to get going to work with my ADSL and haven't tried again.

  3. #3
    A royal pain in the bum! arthurking83's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Jun 2006
    Location
    the worst house, in the best street
    Posts
    8,169
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    'Modem' brand/model is:
    Motorola SB4101(STILL!)

    router brand/model is:
    NetGear FWG114P
    Nikon D800E, D300, D70s
    {Nikon} -> 50/1.2 : 500/8(CPU'd) : 105/2.8VR Micro : 180/2.8ais : 105mm f/1.8ais : 24mm/2ais
    {Sigma}; ->10-20/4-5.6 : 50/1.4 : 12-24/4.5-5.6II : 150-600mm|S
    {Tamron}; -> 17-50/2.8 : 28-75/2.8 : 70-200/2.8 : 300/2.8 SP MF : 24-70/2.8VC


  4. #4
    Ausphotography Veteran
    Join Date
    28 Jan 2009
    Location
    Logan Reserve, QLD
    Posts
    2,862
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have a 2wire one through bigpond.. haven't had any problems with it using netgear adapters for the boys puter and it's a pain in the proverbial! always dropping in and out grrr
    Happy to take all constructive Critique, please don't rework or edit my photos. Thanks!

    Canon 6D, 2 Canon 50D's gripped, Canon 1000D, Canon 70-200 F2.8 ( non IS),Canon 70-200 2.8, Canon 24-70 2.8, Sigma 85 1.4, Canon 50mm F1.8.. yongnuo speedlights and triggers, and manfrotto tripods.


  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    04 Nov 2009
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    347
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Another one for Netgear - might have to put that on the list. Or is that the same as Netcomm?

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    22 May 2009
    Location
    Ipswich
    Posts
    388
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I chose the D-Link because it was the best pre-N at the time. Come to think of, most of my network gear is D-Link except for my 16 port switch which is Netgear.
    . .
    The more I learn the less I know !

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Threadstarter
    ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,624
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Old Skool View Post
    Another one for Netgear - might have to put that on the list. Or is that the same as Netcomm?
    Added Netgear.. Thanks, was sitting here trying to think of all the major brands as I set the poll up.

  8. #8
    Amor fati!
    Join Date
    28 Jun 2007
    Location
    St Helens Park
    Posts
    7,275
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    dg834d from netgear.

  9. #9
    Who me?
    Join Date
    02 Sep 2007
    Location
    Tweed Heads
    Posts
    2,749
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've use a "Billion" wireless router. About 5years ago the Tel$tra modem crashed and the Tel$tra replacement lasted about 3weeks. Gave up and got this little Billion, couldn't be happier, never missed a beat, and voip capable.
    Cheers David.

    Canon 40D/EF-S 17-85 mm IS/Kenko Extenson Tubes/Canon EF 50mm F/1.8 II (nifty fifty)
    Sigma 10-20mm 4-5.6 /Sigma 70-200/ Sigma 1.4 teleconverter/ some Conkin filters | Adobe Photoshop CS6



  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    30 Aug 2007
    Location
    Blind Bight
    Posts
    120
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm using Linksys by Cisco. I had a D-link prior and it gave me nothing but trouble. The Linksys hasn't skipped a beat.
    Cheers Debra
    Canon 50D l G11 l Sigma 17-70 l Sigma 70-200 l Sigma 10-20 l Canon 50mm 1.8 ll l
    Canon 60mm macro l Canon 100mm Macro lS l Canon 17- 85 l Canon 24-105mm l Speedlight 580 EX ll + other bits n pieces

  11. #11
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    29 Dec 2007
    Location
    Mansfield, Victoria
    Posts
    856
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Same as Deb - using linksys after my Dlink spat the dummy (was never really happy with it). The Linksys gear has been going well for a while now.
    Regards, Rob

    D600, AF-S 35mm f1.8G DX, AF-S 50mm f1.8G, AF-S 24-85mm f3.5-4.5G ED VR, AF-S 70-300mm F4.5-5.6G VR, Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM
    Photos: geeoverbar.smugmug.com Software: CS6, Lightroom 4

  12. #12
    Member kmcgreg's Avatar
    Join Date
    03 Sep 2009
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    60
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have a rather complex set up at home. I use a Billion Modem Router for ADSL and a N wireless network for streaming media to my PS3 for movies/photos etc on my lounge room big screen and for my computer. I also have a separate G network that streams music from itunes using an Apple Airport Express to my hifi setup. It also connects to older G only devices such as my iphone and kids laptops.
    Hobart Camera semi newbie


    Canon 50D
    Canon EF-S 17-55 2.8
    Tamron 18-270 mm
    Canon 10-22mm lens
    Canon 50 mm 1.4
    Benro Carbon Fibre Tripod C-258 + B-1 Head
    Canon 10D EF 100mm 1:2.8 Macro Macro Ring Lite MR-14EX
    imac 24" 2.8 Aperature II

  13. #13
    Ausphotography Site Sponsor/Advertiser DAdeGroot's Avatar
    Join Date
    26 Feb 2009
    Location
    Cedar Creek, Qld, Australia
    Posts
    1,890
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hmmm, mine is a Cisco (although actually it's a Linksys, but Cisco bought them out and rebranded).

    However, I have a small pile of routers here that I have used, and keep as spares:
    * Cisco (Linksys) AG241
    * Cisco 837
    * Billion (can't remember the model number and it's on the bottom of the pile).

    Also a dead Cisco 857 which had a disagreement with a power spike
    Dave

    http://www.degrootphotography.com.au/
    Canon EOS 1D MkIV | Canon EOS 5D MkII | Canon EOS 30D | Canon EF 400mm f/5.6L USM | Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM | Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM | Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM | Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM | Canon TS-E 17mm f/4L & some non-L lenses.

  14. #14
    Account Closed Wayne's Avatar
    Join Date
    07 Dec 2009
    Location
    Eastside
    Posts
    1,639
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Cisco 857 here.

  15. #15
    Member FallingHorse's Avatar
    Join Date
    07 Apr 2010
    Location
    Adelaide River
    Posts
    1,586
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I live in the 'sticks' so have Satellite with Ipstar modem

  16. #16
    Member SnowA's Avatar
    Join Date
    17 Apr 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    319
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've had a series of Billions - no problems at all.
    SA

    Canon 7D | Canon 30D | EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 | EF 50mm f/1.4 | EF 70-200mm f/2.8L (non-IS) | 580EX II

  17. #17
    It's all about the Light!
    Tech Admin
    Kym's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2008
    Location
    Modbury, Adelaide
    Posts
    9,641
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Added Billion ...

    FYI ... the top 10 from Whirlpool...

    #1 Billion
    #2 Netgear
    #3 D-Link
    #4 Linksys
    #5 Netcomm
    #6 Belkin
    #7 Motorola
    #8 Apple
    #9 Linksys / Sipura
    #10 Dynalink

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    28 Apr 2008
    Location
    Bathurst
    Posts
    818
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Another Linksys here - Never had a problem
    Cheers, Brad




  19. #19
    Loves The Wildlife. Mary Anne's Avatar
    Join Date
    19 Dec 2009
    Location
    Brisbane Southside.
    Posts
    35,916
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have a NetComm its 6 years old this week.. And never had a problem.

    I shoot with Canon And Olympus Cameras



  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    09 Apr 2010
    Location
    Palm Beach
    Posts
    1,043
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Telstra modem, linksys router. Even though my modem is wireless I only use it wired and use my router as my wireless network. I also am wired to most points where the laptops are used to keep speeds to an optimum.
    Andrew

    Mostly Canon gear

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •