User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  1
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: colors, calibration, saturation

  1. #1
    Account Closed reaction's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    792
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Arrow colors, calibration, saturation

    I use Huey Pro for calibration. I have a notebook and 2 desktop LCDs. This is what I found.

    When calibration is done, the desktop LCDs look similar. The notebook looks a bit dull. However calibration didn't note any errors or issues.

    On the notebook, the Nvidia panel allows a 'digital vibrance' setting. If I change this, saturation is noticibly changed. If I randomly change this value, rerun the calibration, the saturation is not returned to the old setting.

    Thus, I could by comparing identical pics, choose a digital vibrance setting so that the notebook matches the desktop LCDs. Then I run a final calibration and it all looks the same.

    But then, how do I know the desktop LCDs are right? Since it doesn't have a digital vibrance, and the calibration doesn't seem to detect a difference?

  2. #2
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,128
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    I am not familiar with use of the Huey. However, have you tried checking the Huey site for software updates? I know that colorvision have provided updates for the spyder software over the years and sometimes these updates are the answer to your problems.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    28 Apr 2008
    Location
    Bathurst
    Posts
    818
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'd disable/uninstall the Nvidia Software (NOT the driver), as it sounds it maybe over-riding the profile the Huey sets?

    Dunno, only a suggestion as I haven't used a huey either but might be worth a shot?
    Cheers, Brad




  4. #4
    A royal pain in the bum! arthurking83's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Jun 2006
    Location
    the worst house, in the best street
    Posts
    7,701
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Highly dependent on the brand of screens(or lappy) in question.. I'd be more inclined to believe the desktop screens.

    Also use the histogram of any decently exposed image to guide you as well.
    That is, look for blacks, and whites, under and over exposed parts of an image too.

    if you're histogram says that the image has blown highlights or shadows and you see them differently on the screen, then the chances are that the screen is lying!

    Otherwise only a properly printed version of the image will show you which screen to believe.

    Also, viewing angle(tilt) will have an impact on how dark or bright an image will look.
    I have two screens(connected to the same PC) at the same tilt angle they look totally different(but calibrated). If I tilt the(older tech) HP screen downwards they subsequently look the same.
    Problem is that it;s bascially pointed downwards too far and harder to read. So, the HP screen has way too much contrast compared to the LG screen I also use, but after verifying the calibration process 3 times, the black and white point as supposedly correctly set.
    But upon viewing and image with very little pure black in it, the HP screen looks darker, rendering a more black looking black, so I don't trust it!
    (it will eventually make way for a much higher quality, and therefore a more accurately calibrated, screen..... one day ... soon! )

    At the bottom edge of my sig, is a step wedge bar. Can you see each individual block and the difference in tones between each adjacent step? Apparently!! that's the minimum tonal graduation range you should be looking to achieve with your monitor.(but you have a calibrator which is more accurate anyhow).
    Nikon D800E, D300, D70s
    {Nikon} -> 50/1.2 : 500/8(CPU'd) : 105/2.8VR Micro : 180/2.8ais : 105mm f/1.8ais : 24mm/2ais
    {Sigma}; ->10-20/4-5.6 : 50/1.4 : 12-24/4.5-5.6II : 150-600mm|S
    {Tamron}; -> 17-50/2.8 : 28-75/2.8 : 70-200/2.8 : 300/2.8 SP MF : 24-70/2.8VC


  5. #5
    Account Closed
    Threadstarter
    reaction's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    792
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    in your sig, on note, I can 'just' make out A-B and Y-Z

    I can read a histogram, but I don't know how to judge saturation. Apart from extremes, it's hard to see the tone curve even comparing sidebyside

    the Nvidia Software is needed to give it any type of saturation, as the 'default' is just way too bland. The only thing I worry is it has a gamma setting of 1. That part may be conflicting the huey's one?

    The software is the latest, it's not been updated for a while tho.
    Last edited by reaction; 25-05-2010 at 6:38pm.

  6. #6
    A royal pain in the bum! arthurking83's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Jun 2006
    Location
    the worst house, in the best street
    Posts
    7,701
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Gamma 1??

    Are you using Windows or Mac?

    Windows should be 2.2... and I have no experience with Mac, but I think it's supposed to be 1.8

  7. #7
    Account Closed
    Threadstarter
    reaction's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    792
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    WinXP. Nvidia Software is Gamma 1. Huey Software is Gamma 2.2
    Don't know if one is affecting the other... Maybe I should get a color chart in jpg and try to match the LCDs.

    Got a reply for Huey, they say Huey can't match LCDs to each other, and to turn off all driver Software as it may interfere. Of course, this would make my laptop dull, and everyone would see my pics super saturated with red faces etc, so doesn't help.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    28 Apr 2008
    Location
    Bathurst
    Posts
    818
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by reaction View Post
    WinXP. Nvidia Software is Gamma 1. Huey Software is Gamma 2.2
    Don't know if one is affecting the other... Maybe I should get a color chart in jpg and try to match the LCDs.

    Got a reply for Huey, they say Huey can't match LCDs to each other, and to turn off all driver Software as it may interfere. Of course, this would make my laptop dull, and everyone would see my pics super saturated with red faces etc, so doesn't help.
    Can you change the gama in NVidia to 2.2?

    EDIT: I think you should just disable the nvidia manager, its probably trying to do its own calibrating..
    Last edited by mercho; 26-05-2010 at 12:17pm.

  9. #9
    It's all about the Light!
    Tech Admin
    Kym's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2008
    Location
    Modbury, Adelaide
    Posts
    9,633
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use a Huey pro and all my monitors are now very close.

    nVidia control panel
    Display >> Adjust Desktop Color Settings >>
    'Other applications control color settings'
    - make sure that's on.

  10. #10
    Account Closed
    Threadstarter
    reaction's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    792
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mercho View Post
    Can you change the gama in NVidia to 2.2?

    EDIT: I think you should just disable the nvidia manager, its probably trying to do its own calibrating..
    I can, then it goes too bright, everything else needs to be taken way down...

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    28 Apr 2008
    Location
    Bathurst
    Posts
    818
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by reaction View Post
    I can, then it goes too bright, everything else needs to be taken way down...
    Even after recalibrating at that setting?

  12. #12
    A royal pain in the bum! arthurking83's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Jun 2006
    Location
    the worst house, in the best street
    Posts
    7,701
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Another thing to check out too...

    Check for software updates.

    I admit that I use a Spyder3(Elite version) and I was lolling about in the mire with the original software V3point something) for a while and even though calibration was in effect quite easy, it was variable and made a difference between two monitors(on the same PC).
    I checked for a software update and they've(DataColor) have released a v4 of the Elite software(dunno about the Pro version??).
    Because I bought mine this year the update was free (yay!) and more importantly the software is much more user friendly and accurate(accurate in a screen to screen basis, have no idea on how accurate it is in real sense).

    Sorry I can't help with your Huey calibration.. but if you're using a Sypder.. check for software updates, and get them.. even if you have to pay for it.. worth the expense/effort from what I've seen so far).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •