User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Nikon D90 Autofocus issues!

  1. #1
    Member Rick's Avatar
    Join Date
    31 Jan 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    60
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Nikon D90 Autofocus issues!

    Hey guys,

    Just got a D90 through DWI with a 50mm 1.8

    Seems its stuck in manual focus no matter what I do. I have made sure the lens is mounted correctly. I have AF selected on the side of the camera, yet it is still saying I am in manual.

    Am I missing something? Sorry for the noob question! Had a bit of a search around but I have tried everything, to no avail.

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,831
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Nikon D90 Autofocus issues!

    I can't recall, but is there a switch on the lens that says m/ma


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Darren
    Gear : Nikon Goodness
    Website : http://www.peakactionimages.com
    Please support Precious Hearts
    Constructive Critique of my images always appreciated

  3. #3
    Moderately Underexposed I @ M's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 May 2007
    Location
    Marlo, Far East Gippsland
    Posts
    4,911
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Rick View Post
    yet it is still saying I am in manual.
    Elaborate further please --- what is saying that you are in manual?
    Andrew
    Nikon, Fuji, Nikkor, Sigma, Tamron, Tokina and too many other bits and pieces to list.



  4. #4
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,641
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    is the aperture ring on the lens turned to f22 (i think), at one end it locks into place and needs to be left there for your D90 to communicate with the lens correctly.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    18 Nov 2007
    Location
    Sydney (Nth. Beaches)
    Posts
    1,190
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    At the back of the 50mm f1.8 lens you need to set the aperture at f22 and lock it in place with a little tab in front of the f2.8 mark.

    That may be your issue. Also try disconnecting and reconnecting the lens.

    Hope this helps
    Cheers
    Darey

    Nikon user, Thick skinned and wanting to improve, genuine C & C welcomed.

    Photographs don't lie ! - Anonymous Liar

  6. #6
    Member
    Threadstarter
    Rick's Avatar
    Join Date
    31 Jan 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    60
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This lens doesn't have a switch.

  7. #7
    Member
    Threadstarter
    Rick's Avatar
    Join Date
    31 Jan 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    60
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    aperture is set to f22. i press info and it is saying MF. from what i gather it should be AF?

  8. #8
    Member
    Threadstarter
    Rick's Avatar
    Join Date
    31 Jan 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    60
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have also tried pressing the AF button at the top of the camera, and turning the dial behind it to change the AF setting, but nothing is happening. The LCD on the top of the camera isnt even displaying what type of focus mode im in as well..

  9. #9
    Moderately Underexposed I @ M's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 May 2007
    Location
    Marlo, Far East Gippsland
    Posts
    4,911
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    So what happens when you depress the shutter half way or push the af on button? Does the lens focus? Or does nothing happen at all?

  10. #10
    Member
    Threadstarter
    Rick's Avatar
    Join Date
    31 Jan 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    60
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    When I press the shutter half way nothing happens the lens doesn't focus. Hope nothing is broken

  11. #11
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,641
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    On the side of your camera is an AF/M switch, what is that set to? You can see it here on the camera body next to the lens mount, it says AF M

  12. #12
    Member
    Threadstarter
    Rick's Avatar
    Join Date
    31 Jan 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    60
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Its set to AF

  13. #13
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,641
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    remove the lens, use a microfibre cloth to clean the cpu contacts on the side of the lens and on the camera body.

    Also put a different lens on and see if that works, if it does, then it is the lens, not the camera body causing the issue. Process of elimination here.

  14. #14
    Moderately Underexposed I @ M's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 May 2007
    Location
    Marlo, Far East Gippsland
    Posts
    4,911
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sorry you posted while I was typing.

    First things first, get your manual out and find out how to do a reset of the camera menu. It will be done by pressing a combination of two buttons simultaneously. I think on the D90 it is the af on button and the exposure compensation button but whichever buttons they are they will have a green dot beside them.

    If that doesn't cure things, make sure that all the electrical contacts between the body and lens mount are actually sticking up and one or more aren't stuck down. Clean those contacts and the mating contacts on the lens. If still no joy, try a different lens, borrow one or ask to have a look at one in a shop.

    The Nikon bodies rely on a bit of information between themselves and the lens to know if they have to perform autofocus.

  15. #15
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,641
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Also, when you mount the lens, it has to go around and 'click' into the locked position, if you are not turning the lens enough onto the body, the cpu contacts will not line up.

  16. #16
    Member
    Threadstarter
    Rick's Avatar
    Join Date
    31 Jan 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    60
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Phew!

    Got it sorted. Feel pretty silly about it actually. When I put the lens on I had pushed the locking button in and didn't let the lens 'snap' into the body. Was wondering why it was working before but not now.

    Spose thats what you get for being a noob LOL

    Thanks alot for the quick responses guys. Was stressin there for a sec!!

  17. #17
    Moderately Underexposed I @ M's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 May 2007
    Location
    Marlo, Far East Gippsland
    Posts
    4,911
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Good, problem solvered, now go and take photos.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •