User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: 30D on/off switch question

  1. #1
    Member SnowA's Avatar
    Join Date
    17 Apr 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    319
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    30D on/off switch question

    In the last couple of weeks I've noticed that my on/off switch no longer seems to work. Two things:

    1. The switch no longer turns the camera off when moved to the "off" position. (Luckily the auto-off function still works so it puts itself to sleep/turns off after a minute or so).

    2. Also, by experimenting, I've deduced that it's in the 'operate quick dial' mode regardless of the switch position, ie. I can use the quick dial to set Ev compensation even when the switch is only in "on" position.

    Anyone had this before or have any suggestions? I'm not even sure if I need to worry about it since the auto-off still works and I can use the quick dial if I want.

    Thanks in advance!

    PS. The body is about 3 years old.
    Last edited by SnowA; 17-04-2010 at 9:07pm.
    SA

    Canon 7D | Canon 30D | EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 | EF 50mm f/1.4 | EF 70-200mm f/2.8L (non-IS) | 580EX II

  2. #2
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,139
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Sounds like a fault, if you want to get it fixed it might need a trip to Canon.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  3. #3
    Ausphotography Site Sponsor/Advertiser DAdeGroot's Avatar
    Join Date
    26 Feb 2009
    Location
    Cedar Creek, Qld, Australia
    Posts
    1,890
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Have you tried removing the batteries and letting it sit for 1/2 hr ? (although it really sounds like a faulty/dirty switch).
    Dave

    http://www.degrootphotography.com.au/
    Canon EOS 1D MkIV | Canon EOS 5D MkII | Canon EOS 30D | Canon EF 400mm f/5.6L USM | Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM | Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM | Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM | Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM | Canon TS-E 17mm f/4L & some non-L lenses.

  4. #4
    Member
    Threadstarter
    SnowA's Avatar
    Join Date
    17 Apr 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    319
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for the suggestion Dave. I tried leaving out the battery, but unfortunately it's still the same.

    I will probably leave it for now as it doesn't affect functionality.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    25 Dec 2007
    Location
    At home
    Posts
    190
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Had a similar issue, something to do with the contacts in the switch, best to take to Canon for a service.
    "Knowledge is a single point, but the ignorant have multiplied it."

  6. #6
    Member hackcessor's Avatar
    Join Date
    23 Sep 2009
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    142
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Agreed with posters above.....looks like a trip to a Canon Tech for a little work.
    Canon 50D, Assortment of lenses that I will list here sometime soon.
    CS3 Ext, Manfrotto 055XPROB w/ 322RC2 & 486RC2 Ball Heads, BG-E2N Grip, 380EX Strobe and a willingness to learn.

    My Flickr
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/hackcessor/

  7. #7
    Ausphotography Regular wideangle's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Sep 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    1,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Send it into Canon and get it fixed - Surely it wouldn't cost too much to repair?
    please ask before PP my images

    "Life is what happens to you while your busy making other plans"

  8. #8
    Member Herbert George's Avatar
    Join Date
    02 Mar 2010
    Location
    Pakenham
    Posts
    234
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have got the same problem with my Nikon D70s. I'm going to use it as an excuse to my wife for upgrading to a newer body

    (Camera body that would be)
    Cheers,

    HG
    Pakenham, VIC.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •