User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 26

Thread: A browser that bypasses censors

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    22 May 2009
    Location
    Ipswich
    Posts
    388
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    A browser that bypasses censors

    If not for the Censorship issue, at least try it for it's speed.

    I have just retired Firefox
    . .
    The more I learn the less I know !

  2. #2
    Account Closed Wayne's Avatar
    Join Date
    07 Dec 2009
    Location
    Eastside
    Posts
    1,639
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What browser are you talking about?

  3. #3
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,554
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    yeah, it would be good to know what you are actually talking about
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  4. #4
    Ausphotography Addict Richard Hall's Avatar
    Join Date
    06 Jan 2007
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    5,281
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Awesome!
    www.richardhallphotography.com



    Atheism is Myth-understood

  5. #5
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    22 May 2009
    Location
    Ipswich
    Posts
    388
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sorry guys ... got so exited that I forgot to add the name

    It's a golden oldy called 'Opera'. I'm sure there are a few Internet die hards that have used this before.

  6. #6
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,554
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    The new version of Opera is fast, in fact it is advertised as the world's fastest browser and it certainly is speedy. I have been using it a bit of late. but still like my firefox

  7. #7
    It's all about the Light!
    Tech Admin
    Kym's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2008
    Location
    Modbury, Adelaide
    Posts
    9,640
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Opera is very fast and buggy.
    Proof: Why does opera always show the SAME 4 site adverts? Every other browser gets random one (clue: Opera's caching is too aggressive)

  8. #8
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    22 May 2009
    Location
    Ipswich
    Posts
    388
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Opera caching is highly configurable. You may want the following settings :
    Attached Images Attached Images

  9. #9
    Account Closed Wayne's Avatar
    Join Date
    07 Dec 2009
    Location
    Eastside
    Posts
    1,639
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have used Opera many times over the years, but not any of the latest versions. I retired IE about 2-3 years back when Chrome was developed and have used it solely since. It is pretty fast to.

  10. #10
    It's all about the Light!
    Tech Admin
    Kym's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2008
    Location
    Modbury, Adelaide
    Posts
    9,640
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by milspec View Post
    Opera caching is highly configurable. You may want the following settings :
    So is Firefox, but the problem happens the 1st time your hit the page, ie. after a clear cache??
    Just changed the setting and the 4 adv. problem is still there

  11. #11
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    14 Sep 2008
    Location
    Salamander Bay NSW
    Posts
    737
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use it sometimes but still prefer Safari!
    Margaret

    Nikon D7100 Manfrotto MF 055XPROB Pro Tripod & gynbal head, Nikon 18-70 mm, Sigma 10-20 mm, Kenko tubes, Nikkor 80-300 mm VR, Sigma 180 mm macro, Sigma 120-400 mm OS lenses, SB600 Speedlight, Photoshop CS5 on a Mac, Caapture One 7, Lightroom 4 Critiques welcomed


  12. #12
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban
    Join Date
    23 Dec 2009
    Location
    The Blue Mountains
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Kym View Post
    Opera is very fast and buggy.
    Proof: Why does opera always show the SAME 4 site adverts? Every other browser gets random one (clue: Opera's caching is too aggressive)
    Why would I want to see the adverts?

    I keep getting different adds so not sure what your problems are

    It aint buggy - websites are buggy.

  13. #13
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,554
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by JD90 View Post
    Why would I want to see the adverts?

    I keep getting different adds so not sure what your problems are

    It aint buggy - websites are buggy.
    Ok, now if it does that on AP, what happens when you visit another site and what it shows is not the same as other browsers and this causes you a big issue for some reason? It may just be the ads on AP, but what if it is important information on another site, and your failure to be able to see it cause of your browsers operational methods, causes you financial loss, for example? Don't get me wrong, I like Opera, I just don't trust it to display all required elements on a website (as all other browsers seem to manage).
    Last edited by ricktas; 14-04-2010 at 9:13pm.

  14. #14
    It's all about the Light!
    Tech Admin
    Kym's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2008
    Location
    Modbury, Adelaide
    Posts
    9,640
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Re: The Advert problem.
    The underlying concern is that I can't trust Opera to render what was intended. That's way uncool.
    Speed be damned if you don't see what was supposed to be there.
    The advert code is very standard; it works IE6,7,8, Firefox 1.5+, Google Chrome, and Safari. Opera is too smart for its own good.

    Quote Originally Posted by JD90 View Post
    Why would I want to see the adverts?
    To click through and support AP of course
    I keep getting different adds so not sure what your problems are
    Your are supposed to see a random add in each slot. Opera shows the same Adv. 4 times on each page.
    It aint buggy - websites are buggy.
    It has a bug. Look at the HTML code we serve up.

  15. #15
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban
    Join Date
    23 Dec 2009
    Location
    The Blue Mountains
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Don't want to start a browser war but IE has not been compliant with html standards over time. MS decided to do their own thing. Websites code/ed their pages to work with IE because it was/is the dominant browser. Opera has always strived to be compliant with HTML standards.
    This why FF et al have reached market acceptance - they conform to MS pseudo-standards.

    If it is rendering the page incorrectly, let them know, simple!

  16. #16
    In Training MarkChap's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Jan 2008
    Location
    Widgee, Queensland
    Posts
    2,241
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I constantly and consistently get the same 4 Ad Banners in Firefox.
    Smoke Alarms Save Lives, Install One Today
    I shoot Canon
    Cheers, Mark


  17. #17
    Amor fati! ving's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Jun 2007
    Location
    St Helens Park
    Posts
    7,275
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thats interesting mark... apparently its not supposed to do that


    oh, i have been using opera for quite a while now... i love it

  18. #18
    It's all about the Light!
    Tech Admin
    Kym's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2008
    Location
    Modbury, Adelaide
    Posts
    9,640
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by MarkChap View Post
    I constantly and consistently get the same 4 Ad Banners in Firefox.
    That is very weird. Try the standard clean up/fix up... http://www.ausphotography.net.au/for...ad.php?t=49184

    Which version?
    What plugins? Esp. any no script or similar.
    The ads come from some very simple DHTML/Javascript.

    Just to illustrate ...

    Capture.PNG

  19. #19
    In Training MarkChap's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Jan 2008
    Location
    Widgee, Queensland
    Posts
    2,241
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Latest Version Kym
    Plug Ins - Exif viewer, dictionary, not much really

    Had 3 times the Scorpian add, although they were on different cycles, just prior to entering this thread

  20. #20
    Amor fati! ving's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Jun 2007
    Location
    St Helens Park
    Posts
    7,275
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    curiouser and curiouser....

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •