User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: It looks totally different!

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    09 Nov 2008
    Location
    Munno Para
    Posts
    446
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    It looks totally different!

    I have just finished processing the image below...uploaded it to my facebook and was mortified when it resulted looking like this. The file i saved to my computer and reopened in photoshop looks completely different to this but it is the exact same image. Why would it have done this?

    The one saved on my computer is not as saturated as this one, its not so dark around the left of the image and the water doesnt look like its been painted there. Would love to show you what it really looks like but this is what i get when its uploaded
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Kind Regards, Deb


    Canon 1000D, 7D, Sigma 100mm Macro, Tamron 17-50mm, 18-55mm, 70 - 300mm, 50mm f1.8, Sigma 10-20mm

  2. #2
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    23 May 2009
    Location
    Toowoomba
    Posts
    729
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The colour space on this one is AdobeRGB which will usually appear more saturated on web display.
    Check your other saved versions to see if they are saved as sRGB.
    Attitude is everything!

    Cheers, Paul

    Nikon

  3. #3
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    09 Nov 2008
    Location
    Munno Para
    Posts
    446
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    totally lost on where to even look..when i do save as it has ICC Profile: Adobe RGB and on the file info for colour space it just has numbersand in mode it has a tick in RGB no s but i unchecked the ICC thing and i think it worked?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #4
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    09 Nov 2008
    Location
    Munno Para
    Posts
    446
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    now thats better lol. Thank you so much for taking the time to help me. I've never notice this happen before but now i know what to...cheers

  5. #5
    It's all about the Light!
    Tech Admin
    Kym's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2008
    Location
    Modbury, Adelaide
    Posts
    9,641
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Deb - no! Its still NOT sRGB colour space.
    Color Space: Adobe RGB (1998) <<< This is a problem on the Web!
    Why? Because not all browsers are colour space aware and will render a flatter looking image.
    I.e. Firefox will do the right thing, but MS IE will not.

    You must use sRGB for web publishing.
    See: http://www.ausphotography.net.au/for...ad.php?t=40305

    Edit: http://www.gballard.net/psd/go_live_...Gprofiles.html

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    20 Mar 2008
    Location
    Glenorchy
    Posts
    4,040
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can change the Colour Profile in PS - Go to Edit/Assign Profile
    Odille

    “Can't keep my eyes from the circling sky”

    My Blog | Canon 1DsMkII | 60D | Tokina 20-35mm f/2.8 AF AT-X PRO | EF50mm f/1.8| Sigma 150-500mm F5-6.3 APO DG OS HSM | Fujifilm X-T1 & X-M1 | Fujinon XC 16-50mm F3.5-5.6 OIS | Fujinon XC 50-230mm F3.5-5.6 OIS | Fujinon XF 18-55mm F2.8-4R LM OIS | tripods, flashes, filters etc ||

  7. #7
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    09 Nov 2008
    Location
    Munno Para
    Posts
    446
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Kym View Post
    Deb - no! Its still NOT sRGB colour space.
    Color Space: Adobe RGB (1998) <<< This is a problem on the Web!
    Why? Because not all browsers are colour space aware and will render a flatter looking image.
    I.e. Firefox will do the right thing, but MS IE will not.

    You must use sRGB for web publishing.
    See: http://www.ausphotography.net.au/for...ad.php?t=40305

    Edit: http://www.gballard.net/psd/go_live_...Gprofiles.html
    Quite odd...i only use firefox browser...havent used IE for a very long time

    i went to the link you posted and did some of their tests. The one that has all the boxes with the colour typed in them was right until i rolled my mouse over then they changed, i couldnt find where it said that if i roll over that my monitor is wrong??? I also did another test they had that said to marquee a section of the photo and then desaturate it...it went completely grey which i can only assume means my monitor is not a shite one?

    I did what Analog suggested and notice it dull the photo right back again...it made it an sRGB profile will it automatically do that each time or do i have to do it myself each time i open a new image up?

    I'm sorry for the seemingly 'stoopid' questions but like i said, i have not ever noticed this before and now that i have come accross it i want to make sure that i have others seeing what i see...

  8. #8
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    09 Nov 2008
    Location
    Munno Para
    Posts
    446
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    this is after following what Odille said to do
    Attached Images Attached Images

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    10 Apr 2010
    Location
    Western 'Burbs
    Posts
    401
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi there... the last image of the picture that you've posted is back to being oversaturated.

    You can "soft proof" your colours in photoshop, this is what I do regularly to make sure a decent version of my images is seen online rather than something completely different which is clearly demonstrated in this post.

    Personally, I like the saturation more (but that's just me). If you want to proof your colours in photoshop, go to View and then Proof - Custom and then select Working sRGB from the "Device to simulate".

    Alternatively, you can assign a profile to the image so you're working pretty close to what everyone else will see. Go Edit - Assign Profile, and from the Profile dropdown, select the Working sRGB option again. Then there's absolutely no surprises.
    [- Instagram -]

    Nikon Slave... (D90 & D300S)
    -- CCs extremely welcome, further editing of my photos is not. Thanks!

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    25 Nov 2008
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    338
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Analog6 View Post
    You can change the Colour Profile in PS - Go to Edit/Assign Profile
    I'm no expert but would have suggested Edit>Convert to profile.

    Assign and Convert are quite different. I think Convert maintains the colours as close as possible to what they were.
    Greg

    Please feel free to rework any of my images on this forum.

    I also welcome any constructive criticism or suggestions.

    http://www.gregwallis.com

  11. #11
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    09 Nov 2008
    Location
    Munno Para
    Posts
    446
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by saratoga View Post
    I'm no expert but would have suggested Edit>Convert to profile.

    Assign and Convert are quite different. I think Convert maintains the colours as close as possible to what they were.
    I'll give that a try too thanks, because i am still having trouble getting it to display properly. It still display's a lot darker than what i have and see in PS and i'm really surprised i haven't noticed it before

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    10 Apr 2010
    Location
    Western 'Burbs
    Posts
    401
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by saratoga View Post
    I'm no expert but would have suggested Edit>Convert to profile.

    Assign and Convert are quite different. I think Convert maintains the colours as close as possible to what they were.
    Both do the same thing. It's just how I prefer to work.

    I hope you sort it out, Dizzy. I experienced the same thing until I did a bit more reading on the matter. The above helped me a lot and my prints come back pretty true to colour.

  13. #13
    Member Nic076's Avatar
    Join Date
    05 Jan 2008
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    137
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Deb- getting away from the saturation difference, this is a great shot. I Haven't been around for a little while, but your photography has come such a long way since joining AP - this is a shot to be proud of.
    Olympus E-510 | Kit lenses Olympus 14mm- 42mm, 40mm- 150mm & newly acquired 50mm f/2
    Photoshop Elements 6 | Velbon Tripod |FL-36 Electronic Flash

    Next on the hit list is Sigma 10mm - 20mm

    Any comments and critique welcome.

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    25 Nov 2008
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    338
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Erin View Post
    Both do the same thing. It's just how I prefer to work.
    Actually Assign and Convert are VERY different and it is misunderstood by many people!

    With some images and profiles there may only be minor differences in the images, in other instances the differences can be enormous!

    When you "ASSIGN profile", you are not changing the RGB values of the image, you’re changing how those values are interpreted by Photoshop, and how the image will appear.

    eg I'm using "ABC" profile and the colour in my image is a nice blue (R 26, G 80, B 136). If I assign the profile "XYZ" my computer will go to XYZ profile and use the same numbers (R 26, G 80, B 136) but will interpret them differently and so instead of looking the nice blue it was, it now looks more purple


    When you "CONVERT to profile" you are changing the image from one colour space to another. Here the main aim is to keep the colours the same, so the RGB values are changed so as to maintain the colours as close as possible to the original.

    eg I'm using "ABC" profile and the colour in my image is a nice blue (R 26, G 80, B 136). If I Convert to profile "XYZ" my computer will go to look at the nice blue I had and say "what numbers in the XYZ profile would give me the same colour?" and then convert my old numbers into new numbers (R 34, G 75, B 134) so that the colour remains as close as possible to the original.


    There is lots of info on the web about this and the importance of it.

    For a start try http://www.pdnonline.com/pdn/cp/olym..._id=1003051994
    Last edited by saratoga; 13-04-2010 at 9:59am.

  15. #15
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    09 Nov 2008
    Location
    Munno Para
    Posts
    446
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ok...so over the last 2 days i have been playing and playing with everything that has been mentioned here and still nothing has changed for me. I have become so frustrated with it all The only solution i found was to not colour manage the image at all...then it goes on the web exactly as i see it in PS. Short of playing around with my monitors settings i dont know what else to do otherwise. I appreciate the input and will settle on getting someone to actually come and look at my monitor for me so that i dont stuff it all up and then require another 3 week wait from ACER I guess its more something i need to have someone actually step by step show me the whole what/where/how process to get it right

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •