User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Yongnuo RF-602

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    14 Jan 2009
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    148
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Yongnuo RF-602

    Hey guys i got a set of RF-602 wireless triggers, and i'm just wondering if anyone has theirs show up as a flash connected on the camera. Mine doesn't but i've read others have.

    I have the canon triggers and i'm also wondering if it's possible to use the in camera flash controls on the flashes?

    Cheers
    Website - www.dylanbenton.com.au

    Equipment -
    Canon 5dMk2 | Canon 40D | Canon 17-40L f4 | Sigma 24-70 f/2.8 EX DG Macro | Canon 70-200L 2.8 IS II USM |

  2. #2
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    14 Jan 2009
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    148
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    any clues?

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    30 Oct 2006
    Location
    Bris Vegas
    Posts
    1,102
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    will get mine soon...

    will let you know


    M
    www.pbase.com/mcphotographics loooots of pictures!
    hmmm Eq list... 1D II, 5D II, 7D, 100-400 LIS F4.5-5.6, 70-200 F2.8L, 135 F2, 85 F1.8, 24-70 F2.8L, 16-35 F2.8L, 420EX, 580EX II x2 ST-E2 Cir polar filters and much much more all in a neat back pack that kills my back!

    Adobe CS5
    Week 16 Sheep Winner
    If you have a question about car / action / sports photography or Canon Cameras PM me...

  4. #4
    In Training MarkChap's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Jan 2008
    Location
    Widgee,
    Posts
    2,255
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Um No,

    Haven't heard of that actually
    Smoke Alarms Save Lives, Install One Today
    I shoot Canon
    Cheers, Mark


  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    08 Nov 2009
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    1,685
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Yongnuo RF-602

    Which camera?
    Alan
    -------------------------------------------
    Canon 5DMkII, Panasonic GF1 and a few other bits and bobs
    My SmugMug


  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    30 Oct 2006
    Location
    Bris Vegas
    Posts
    1,102
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    just got mine today will have a play tonight, but from what i think, you will need to manually set the flash heads and take a meter reading...



    M

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    13 Nov 2008
    Location
    Brisbane (Northside)
    Posts
    254
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I can't say I have noticed this happening ... it's got me curious though.
    I'll have a play later and see.
    Matt.

  8. #8
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    14 Jan 2009
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    148
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    mine doesn't do it and the manufacturer confirmed it shouldn't, just some people on flickr have noticed it.

  9. #9
    Member pupmeister's Avatar
    Join Date
    01 Aug 2009
    Location
    Maitland
    Posts
    21
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Dylfish View Post
    Hey guys i got a set of RF-602 wireless triggers, and i'm just wondering if anyone has theirs show up as a flash connected on the camera. Mine doesn't but i've read others have.

    I have the canon triggers and i'm also wondering if it's possible to use the in camera flash controls on the flashes?

    Cheers
    The camera should be able to detect that there is "something" connected to the hot shoe. Canon use a small pin on the side of the flash mount that gets pressed in when you mount something on the shoe. This prevents the pop up flash from popping up. However you will always see the no flash / incompatible flash when you access the external flash screen in the flash controls menu since this trigger is basically a dumb firing relay system and does not provide any other form of control of the flash. If you want to control you flashes wirelessly (and not make use of Canon's IR system) you will have to look at something significantly more upmarket than the RF-602. The only system that I currently know of that allows you to manipulate the flashes remotely is the Pocket Wizard miniTTL and FlexTTL systems.

    All of this obviously assumes that you are using your Canon 40D as indicated in your sig.

    Cheers

    Stephen

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •