User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Autofocus in Av or Tv mode?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    25 Aug 2007
    Location
    **Suburb/Town Required**
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Autofocus in Av or Tv mode?

    Hi, I recently purchased a secondhand Canon 40d.

    Is the camera meant to autofocus in Av or Tv mode. The camera is not. I have only experience with P&S cameras. SLRs and their features are new to me. I am thinking it could be one of the custom function setting has been set by the previous owner to be this way.

    :Edit: I am using the 40d paired with a Canon 50mm f1.4.

  2. #2
    Who me?
    Join Date
    02 Sep 2007
    Location
    Tweed Heads
    Posts
    2,749
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi there,
    Yep the 40D should auto focus in both Av and Tv modes. first things first, and I know its obvious but, there should be a MF-AF switch on the lens, make sure its set to AF for autofocus! If thats not the problem try cleaning the contacts on the lens. If that's not it the switch may be faulty?..... you've probably tried all these.
    Hopefully someone with this exact lens might be able to offer advice with more insight.
    I have the 40D but not that lens.
    Good luck
    Cheers David.

    Canon 40D/EF-S 17-85 mm IS/Kenko Extenson Tubes/Canon EF 50mm F/1.8 II (nifty fifty)
    Sigma 10-20mm 4-5.6 /Sigma 70-200/ Sigma 1.4 teleconverter/ some Conkin filters | Adobe Photoshop CS6



  3. #3
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,647
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    David's reply is good, check the lens and make sure if it has a switch that it is set to AF. Not sure with Canon, but with Nikon you can also turn the AF off in the camera menu as well.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  4. #4
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    09 May 2008
    Location
    Brightveiw
    Posts
    1,270
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok if none of the above work go to custom functions No.4 and put it on AE Lock/AF I figure its got to be the same custom function button as on my 30D but could be wrong if not search through your custom functions till you come to it,and if mine or the above dont work im clueless.

    steve.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    02 Oct 2009
    Location
    Somers Victoria Australia
    Posts
    160
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Probably a little obvious but check what AF setting (3rd button from right on top right). If your 40D is in AI SERVO, while in Tv or Av, mode it will not make the little bleep focus noise.
    cliffconnell.com.au

    Flickr

    20D - Canon 18-55mm Kit lens - Canon 50mm f/1.8 - Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 - G10 - iPad - Macbook Pro - 27" iMac - Shortboards x 2 - MiniMal - Kids x 2

  6. #6
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    25 Aug 2007
    Location
    **Suburb/Town Required**
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by stevemack View Post
    Ok if none of the above work go to custom functions No.4 and put it on AE Lock/AF I figure its got to be the same custom function button as on my 30D but could be wrong if not search through your custom functions till you come to it,and if mine or the above dont work im clueless.

    steve.
    bingo. Thanks you all but it is fixed.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •