User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Canon 7D Poor IQ - Banding

  1. #1
    Ausphotography Regular wideangle's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Sep 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    1,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Canon 7D Poor IQ - Banding

    Is anyone experiencing any banding/lines when post processing their images from the Canon 7D? I have been seeing lines/banding shooting at ISO100 and this are very apparent in many images in the sky/cloud areas. I never had this issue with a cheaper entry level camera. Is it normal, or a fault?

    Here are some examples, all shot at 100ISO RAW, processed in Canon DPP. They were shot to expose to the right, and then underexposed and contrasted added to bring out the texture of the cloud detail.

    http://www.tryanphotos.com/photos/820404906_uHdvQ-O.jpg
    Mod note: Image over sized now URL




    Last edited by Kym; 27-03-2010 at 5:49pm. Reason: Mod note: Image over sized now URL
    please ask before PP my images

    "Life is what happens to you while your busy making other plans"

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    31 Jan 2010
    Location
    North East
    Posts
    312
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think it is called pattern noise rather than banding. I get it sometimes on my 5D2 when I have pushed an underexposed area hard to get some life out of it and this issue is widely discussed in regard to that model. If your images are not underexposed, which you say they aren't, and not heavily processed, then I would suggest that your camera may not be working correctly - perhaps a faulty sensor.

  3. #3
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    wideangle's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Sep 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    1,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by soulman View Post
    I think it is called pattern noise rather than banding. I get it sometimes on my 5D2 when I have pushed an underexposed area hard to get some life out of it and this issue is widely discussed in regard to that model. If your images are not underexposed, which you say they aren't, and not heavily processed, then I would suggest that your camera may not be working correctly - perhaps a faulty sensor.
    These photographs have not been underexposed to begin with. As I have said they have either been 'exposed to the right' or have been underexposed to darken them.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    31 Jan 2010
    Location
    North East
    Posts
    312
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yeah, that's why I think your camera probably has a fault.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    03 Dec 2009
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    1,703
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If these are ETTR then something is wrong. I know the 7D does exhibit this pattern noise worse than the 5d2, but only for poorly exposed shots which doesn't seem to be the case here. A guy on POTN called Panopeeper will probably take a look at your RAW files for you and give a recommendation on what to say to Canon. Are you sure these were not underexposed?

  6. #6
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    wideangle's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Sep 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    1,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by gcflora View Post
    If these are ETTR then something is wrong. I know the 7D does exhibit this pattern noise worse than the 5d2, but only for poorly exposed shots which doesn't seem to be the case here. A guy on POTN called Panopeeper will probably take a look at your RAW files for you and give a recommendation on what to say to Canon. Are you sure these were not underexposed?
    Thanks for your reply. No, these are definently not underexposed at all, if anything they have been reduced by -1 t0 -2 stops to gain mood in the clouds. What is POTN and Panopeeper?

  7. #7
    Fishy bricat's Avatar
    Join Date
    06 Apr 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    747
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    google potn and the other is user

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    16 Mar 2009
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    1,282
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I can definately see those lines. How'd you get on?
    .
    .
    .
    .
    f o t o w o r x

    People taking the time out to give me CC is always very much appreciated

  9. #9
    Ausphotography Regular FallingHorse's Avatar
    Join Date
    07 Apr 2010
    Location
    Adelaide River
    Posts
    1,586
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Wow - I can see them too ... and I'm blind Freddy!! How did you get on with the 7D? Would be interested to know what the problem is - I am thinking of upgrading to the 7D in the future.

  10. #10
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    wideangle's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Sep 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    1,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    After contacting the service center and sending the camera in they have installed a firmware update that was needed as the camera wasn't updated to the most up to date release they said, so this has been done now
    Last edited by wideangle; 17-05-2010 at 12:51pm.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •