User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Adobe P/S

  1. #1
    Ausphotography Veteran rwg717's Avatar
    Join Date
    29 Jun 2009
    Location
    Southern NSW
    Posts
    3,565
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Adobe P/S

    Interested to find out from members who had Adobe CS3 installed on their computers when P/S CS4 was released, did Adobe allow an upgrade to CS4 for a nominal fee or was it a case of a fresh install of CS4 right from the start?
    Richard
    I've been wrong before!! Happy to have constructive criticism though.Gear used Canon 50D, 7D & 5DMkII plus expensive things hanging off their fronts and of course a "nifty fifty".

  2. #2
    Account Closed
    Join Date
    10 Aug 2008
    Location
    Lake Macquarie
    Posts
    1,413
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    upgrade...... but at a price

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    16 Nov 2009
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    50
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Upgrade for me too. I was living in the US at the time, think it was around $250.
    Alan

    Canon 5DII, 40D, some lenses, and some other stuff.

  4. #4
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban
    Join Date
    14 Feb 2007
    Location
    Western Sydney
    Posts
    352
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I was certainly not offered a reasonable upgrade, they offered me something like $650 AUS which is too stupid for words. At the time there was a change in operating systems or cameras (I can't quite recall which) but I do remember that you had to upgrade if you wanted the ability to that system/camera. It really was extortion as virually all other programmes provide an upgrade or additional drivers free of charge. I didn't bother with the upgrade and don't think very highly of Adobe business ethics and the lack of support to those of us paying almost $1k for one of their applications. With this sort of attitude to paying customers, I can appreciate why so many people resort to piracy. Its not that they're unwilling to pay a reasonable cost, just unwilling to be ripped off again and again.

    I think the reason for change was using MS Vista - not that would be an issue as I primarily use a Mac.
    Last edited by MarkW; 09-03-2010 at 4:40pm.

  5. #5
    Member James T's Avatar
    Join Date
    14 Jan 2010
    Location
    St Kilda
    Posts
    377
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You pay the upgrade primarily for the new features.

    If you want camera support you can get the relevant version of your raw processing software of choice. Lightroom, Aperture, or the one that comes with your camera.

    Or, Adobe themselves provide a free DNG convertor which you can run your files through and the use whatever version of CR you have with PS.

  6. #6
    Ausphotography Veteran
    Threadstarter
    rwg717's Avatar
    Join Date
    29 Jun 2009
    Location
    Southern NSW
    Posts
    3,565
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes I had a terrible feeling that this would be the story I would hear, have a relative who has CS3 and was interested in upgrading to 4 and suspected that there would be no cheap answer!!!
    Thanks all
    Richard

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •