User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Free Software for tethering

  1. #1
    D750 Shines cupic's Avatar
    Join Date
    10 Oct 2009
    Location
    Wollongong
    Posts
    782
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Free Software for tethering

    After watching a series of podcast I have like a software that enable the camera to be tethered.The thing is its only available to Mac and only to Nikon camera's(oh well i'll have to wait)with canon sony and panasonic in the mix in the future

    sofortbildapp.com


    It's not bad(basic) but not professional,its free so get it the blend


    cheers




    Nikon D750,D700,D300s,Coolpix P7700
    Nikkor 300mm f/4E PF ED VR, Nikkor 16-35mm f/4 VR, Nikkor 70mm-300mm VR, 35mm DX f/1.8, 50mm D f/1.8, 85mm D f/1.8, Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8, Tokina 100mm f/2.8, Tamron 60mm f/2 , Tamron SP 24-70mm f2.8 VC Di

  2. #2
    A royal pain in the bum! arthurking83's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Jun 2006
    Location
    the worst house, in the best street
    Posts
    8,188
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Try THIS one, BUT!!! you have to read the gotcha by line.

    You need to have Capture Control Pro installed, even if it's an expired trial version. Must have something to do with the installation of codecs and communications software to the camera.

    haven't tried it personally, but I'll give it a go on my D300(and then D70s later too).

    I remember having another program installed on my earlier OS system, but for the life of me I can;t remember it!! it was made by the author for the D70s and it worked on other cameras too.
    If I can remember the name of it, I'll re reply.

    if you do install it, let us know how it works(or not) too.

    edit: apologies! for some reason I thought you had a D70 oops! didn't read the Pentax sig until after I replied.

    And.. SEE!! everyone says Nikon are the bees knees, and for a good reason... they're the best!
    Last edited by arthurking83; 06-03-2010 at 11:13pm.
    Nikon D800E, D300, D70s
    {Nikon} -> 50/1.2 : 500/8(CPU'd) : 105/2.8VR Micro : 180/2.8ais : 105mm f/1.8ais : 24mm/2ais
    {Sigma}; ->10-20/4-5.6 : 50/1.4 : 12-24/4.5-5.6II : 150-600mm|S
    {Tamron}; -> 17-50/2.8 : 28-75/2.8 : 70-200/2.8 : 300/2.8 SP MF : 24-70/2.8VC


  3. #3
    D750 Shines
    Threadstarter
    cupic's Avatar
    Join Date
    10 Oct 2009
    Location
    Wollongong
    Posts
    782
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Not been draw into a slinging match


    cheers

  4. #4
    In Training MarkChap's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Jan 2008
    Location
    Widgee,
    Posts
    2,256
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Canon comes with the software for tethered shooting

    EOS utility
    Smoke Alarms Save Lives, Install One Today
    I shoot Canon
    Cheers, Mark


  5. #5
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban
    Join Date
    14 Feb 2007
    Location
    Western Sydney
    Posts
    352
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by arthurking83 View Post
    Try THIS one, BUT!!! you have to read the gotcha by line.

    You need to have Capture Control Pro installed, even if it's an expired trial version. Must have something to do with the installation of codecs and communications software to the camera.

    And.. SEE!! everyone says Nikon are the bees knees, and for a good reason... they're the best!
    Sorry Arthur - would love to try it but I use a Mac.

    On the Sofortbild stuff it does work but not with live view. Activating Lv on the D700 whilst tethered with Sofortbild disengages the shutter release. I believe that Nikon Camera Pro does work in view view mode - won't guarantee that as I don't own that programme

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    19 Apr 2008
    Location
    Brisneyland
    Posts
    967
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by MarkChap View Post
    Canon comes with the software for tethered shooting

    EOS utility
    I was having a good play around with it the other weekend practicing self portraits. Camera set up on tripod with laptop on small table just in front. I sat a couple of metres away with wireless mouse and mousepad (I'm the perfect and most patient model lol). Liveview thru the EOS utility and using the software to control the external flashes via the camera (via the tether) was really cool. But jeepers, doesn't liveview run the battery down fast!

  7. #7
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    27 May 2009
    Location
    Northern Beaches - Sydney
    Posts
    774
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by arthurking83 View Post
    Try THIS one, BUT!!! you have to read the gotcha by line.

    You need to have Capture Control Pro installed, even if it's an expired trial version. Must have something to do with the installation of codecs and communications software to the camera.

    I haven't tried it personally, but I'll give it a go on my D300(and then D70s later too).
    I tried this software over the weekend. It's free, and worth every penny of that.
    David

    Nikon D810
    Nikkor AF-S 24-120VR, Nikkor AF-S 16-35VR, Nikkor AF-S 70-300VR, Nikkor AF 50 f1.8
    Tamron 90mm Macro

  8. #8
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    27 May 2009
    Location
    Northern Beaches - Sydney
    Posts
    774
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Here is some software that does work pretty well, it's not free, but I tried the trial version as was quite impressed. It costs about $50 US.

    http://www.tetherpro.com/

    I don't actually have a need for tethered shooting, but would buy this if I did.

  9. #9
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,827
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    davidd. Tried your link and got:
    "jtablesession::Store Failed
    DB function failed with error number 1194
    Table 'jos_session' is marked as crashed..."
    Am...

  10. #10
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    27 May 2009
    Location
    Northern Beaches - Sydney
    Posts
    774
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi

    just tried it off my post and it worked OK...

    Maybe just search for Tetherpro.

  11. #11
    Member serenityFan's Avatar
    Join Date
    20 Oct 2009
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,

    My D90 works with this iPhone app: http://www.ononesoftware.com/blog/20...pp-from-onone/

    So you connect your D90 to notebook, and use your iPhone as remote shutter. You can even do live view on your iphone screen with the full version. Great little app for $20.

  12. #12
    Account Closed
    Join Date
    25 Oct 2009
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    59
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I believe the Lightroom 3 Beta 2 has tethering support built in. Haven't tried it yet though (also free... until 30th June).

  13. #13
    Member achee's Avatar
    Join Date
    22 Jul 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    344
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Is there any free software for tethered shooting for a Canon on a PC?

    I've been trying to get the Canon EOS Utility for hours, and after mucking around for a while it worked for one session, then stopped working again. It doesn't seem to recognise that the camera is attached to the computer. I've restarted, reinstalled, updated, etc etc...

    So, free tethering software. The above mentioned ones are for Mac or Nikkon, or not free. Any ideas?

  14. #14
    Account Closed
    Join Date
    23 Oct 2009
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    391
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I was doing some commercial group photography work using a Nikon tethered to a PC but it was a long time ago and I don't remember the software. The problem I found was the subjects kept trying to walk between me and the laptop.

    For own own use (Canon) I simply connect the video cable to the camera and use an RCA extension lead to plug into the video terminal of a TV. I found this was very helpful when working with models as they could see the results virtually immediately and alter their pose to suit.

  15. #15
    Ausphotography Addict
    Join Date
    07 May 2010
    Location
    Bruthen, East Gippsland
    Posts
    4,652
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Search has worked

    Anyway...... I got a new Android tablet the other day. And after reading many blogs, I found the only tethering was for Canon.
    But last night I found a program called "DSLRDashboard". And had it working on both the Nikon D90 and the D700.

    Now this thread is over 2 years old. So I'm wondering whether things have changed. Not only with experiences, but with technology as well. And how many use this method, and why.
    I'm going to give it the big test tonight on the moon, providing the clouds stay away.
    Geoff
    Honesty is best policy.
    CC is always welcome
    Nikon D3000 ... Nikon D90... Nikon D700 Various lenses, Home studio equipment and all the associated stuff
    Flickr

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •