User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: RAW/DPP help

  1. #1
    Member redstocks's Avatar
    Join Date
    16 Jan 2010
    Location
    Darling Downs
    Posts
    63
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    RAW/DPP help

    Tonight I've started playing around with RAW on my camera. I've used Canon's Digital Photo Professional that came with the camera to process the RAW files and I can immediately see the benefits with regards to the white balance. I deliberately took shots of my gray/white cat sat on a white/floral bedcover (I'll remove the hair later ) in horrible light.

    Anyway, I've been fiddling around and so far I'm happy enough but what I can't work out is the following. I've noticed that any alterations affect the original image. Do I have to make a duplicate image before I start any work. While I don't mind fixing an image sometimes I do like to keep the crappy original for comparison.

    Any other hints on using this programme?

  2. #2
    Ausphotography Site Sponsor/Advertiser DAdeGroot's Avatar
    Join Date
    26 Feb 2009
    Location
    Cedar Creek, Qld, Australia
    Posts
    1,890
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by redstocks View Post
    Anyway, I've been fiddling around and so far I'm happy enough but what I can't work out is the following. I've noticed that any alterations affect the original image. Do I have to make a duplicate image before I start any work. While I don't mind fixing an image sometimes I do like to keep the crappy original for comparison.

    Any other hints on using this programme?
    DPP writes the changes you make into a special area of the raw file's exif data. If you were to open the raw in Photoshop, it would ignore all of those changes.

    Thus, if you want to keep a comparison copy and still use DPP, export a JPG version before making any changes, then edit away as you prefer.
    Dave

    http://www.degrootphotography.com.au/
    Canon EOS 1D MkIV | Canon EOS 5D MkII | Canon EOS 30D | Canon EF 400mm f/5.6L USM | Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM | Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM | Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM | Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM | Canon TS-E 17mm f/4L & some non-L lenses.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    17 Feb 2010
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    40
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi there,

    I only shoot in RAW, you have much more control in post production. I use Photoshop CS4 and it always keeps the RAW File, so you can go back and make changes to the original image.

    All I do when I want to process a photo is open the CR2 (RAW) file from Bridge into photoshop CS4, it will open a window that allows you to alter the exposure, bright, fill etc, click open, then it will open again but this time in photoshop. I tweak the photo to how I want it and then go to "File", "Save As", name it, click JPeg, and save it in the relevant file.

    What will happen is that it will keep the RAW file in Bridge but it will now have created a jpeg of the final result (tweaked photo), but it will now have a little icon above the original CR2 (RAW file) showing I have worked on it. This icon represents the xmp.file that is now attached, which is all the work I did to the photo.

    I never used to understand Bridge, but once I learnt what it is for I don't use anything else to organise my photos. What helped me is googling Tutorials on what I wanted to do, there are a heck of a lot of good tutorials in youtube that got me started.

    PhotoRadar www.photoradar.com is also a great website that has a lot of tutorials for tweaking photos, they use both Elements and Photoshop, basic through to advanced ... step by step visual instructions so you can do it as you watch ... brilliant; and great for someone like me who has to do it about 50 times before it sinks in.

    Hope this helped ... or points you in a good direction.

    Kind regards
    Ruthie
    Ruthie

    http://www.wix.com/berniemumble/Quin...al-Photography

    ' To photograph truthfully and effectively is to see beneath the surfaces and record the qualities of nature and humanity which live in all things .... ' Ansel Adams

    Canon 5D MkII, 70-200mm L series, 50mm, 24mm L series, 100mm hybrid macro L series, 580XII flash, grip, monopod, tripod, wireless transmitter. Techy things: CS4, iMAC, wacom tablet

  4. #4
    Member
    Threadstarter
    redstocks's Avatar
    Join Date
    16 Jan 2010
    Location
    Darling Downs
    Posts
    63
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for that I'm off to google and play around some more. I'll get to grips with it eventually I hope.

  5. #5
    Ausphotography Veteran rwg717's Avatar
    Join Date
    29 Jun 2009
    Location
    Southern NSW
    Posts
    3,519
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    All above is correct advice, if you wanted to secure the originals BEFORE working on them and after uploading from the camera, burn them to a reliable disc first, finalize that and remove it from the computer, better still a quality external HDD and upload them there first, then disconnect it and upload to the computer....simple 2 copies of the lot!!!
    Richard
    I've been wrong before!! Happy to have constructive criticism though.Gear used Canon 50D, 7D & 5DMkII plus expensive things hanging off their fronts and of course a "nifty fifty".

  6. #6
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    23 May 2009
    Location
    Toowoomba
    Posts
    729
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by redstocks View Post
    but what I can't work out is the following. I've noticed that any alterations affect the original image. Do I have to make a duplicate image before I start any work. While I don't mind fixing an image sometimes I do like to keep the crappy original for comparison.

    Any other hints on using this programme?
    I get the same thing using Photoshop CS4. I open an image out of Adobe Bridge, process in Camera Raw then Photoshop, save and then when I go back into Bridge I see the image change to what looks like the Camera Raw edit? I think it is possible however to choose "Previous conversion" and it will revert the image back to "as shot'.
    Last edited by Paul G; 26-02-2010 at 3:00pm.
    Attitude is everything!

    Cheers, Paul

    Nikon

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •