User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  1
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23

Thread: Firefox 3.6 Changes and new features (was I Don't Like ..)

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    22 Jul 2008
    Location
    Rosebud, Mornington Peninsula
    Posts
    2,838
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Firefox 3.6 Changes and new features (was I Don't Like ..)

    Ok since installed firefox 3.6 I notice when right-click a pic that properties has gone - now we have 'View Image Info' ok hmm gives some details but off course one plugin i have wont show details with it - actually it shows less info than properties used to i feel apart from a heap off added page image infor i dont need??? Hmm is there somehow to turn that off and have properties back again lol

    Opanda iexif link says cant find exif on pics and its there - i have to actually save a pic to look at exif never had to before??? Opanda never showed up as not working with 3.6

    ARGH i dont like 3.6 :/
    Cat (aka Cathy) - Another Canon user - 400D, 18-55,75-300mm Kit Lens,50mm f1.8, Tamron 90mm f2.8 Macro, Sigma 28-70 f2.8-4 DG, Tripod and a willingness to learn
    Software used: PhotoImpact, Irfanview and a lot of plugins
    We don't make a photograph just with a camera, we bring to the act of photography all the books we have read, the movies we have seen, the music we have heard, the people we have loved. - Ansel Adams


  2. #2
    Moderately Underexposed I @ M's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 May 2007
    Location
    Marlo, Far East Gippsland
    Posts
    4,911
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    And ------ ad block + seems to "stuff up" a few things as well as the fact that new tabs now open next to the one that you are viewing instead of at the far right hand end of the open tabs!!!!!

    I am hoping there are some updates / fixes soon, I think they have taken a big step backwards at the moment.

    Where is the link for opera ----------
    Andrew
    Nikon, Fuji, Nikkor, Sigma, Tamron, Tokina and too many other bits and pieces to list.



  3. #3
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    22 Jul 2008
    Location
    Rosebud, Mornington Peninsula
    Posts
    2,838
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by I @ M View Post
    And ------ ad block + seems to "stuff up" a few things as well as the fact that new tabs now open next to the one that you are viewing instead of at the far right hand end of the open tabs!!!!!
    Oh yeah thats another thing that annoys me so used to them opening at the end and not next to the current tab :/

  4. #4
    It's all about the Light!
    Tech Admin
    Kym's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2008
    Location
    Modbury, Adelaide
    Posts
    9,641
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Cat uninstall FxIF , restart FF, the re-install it. (Tools/Addons)

    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/5673

    Its the problem, not FF
    The V4 of FxIF also shows as 'EXIF Data' in the right click menu

  5. #5
    In Training MarkChap's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Jan 2008
    Location
    Widgee,
    Posts
    2,256
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    didn't even know there was a version 3.6 ??
    Smoke Alarms Save Lives, Install One Today
    I shoot Canon
    Cheers, Mark


  6. #6
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    22 Jul 2008
    Location
    Rosebud, Mornington Peninsula
    Posts
    2,838
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanks Kym that fixed up that one - but still wish said properties like used to :/

  7. #7
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    22 Jul 2008
    Location
    Rosebud, Mornington Peninsula
    Posts
    2,838
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yeah Mark is a 3.6 - thats not as good as 3.5 ARGH

  8. #8
    It's all about the Light!
    Tech Admin
    Kym's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2008
    Location
    Modbury, Adelaide
    Posts
    9,641
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by MarkChap View Post
    didn't even know there was a version 3.6 ??
    Its only been out for a couple of weeks. Its not on the mandatory update - yet.

  9. #9
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    22 Jul 2008
    Location
    Rosebud, Mornington Peninsula
    Posts
    2,838
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    if you look for updates it will bring it up Kym

  10. #10
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    22 Jul 2008
    Location
    Rosebud, Mornington Peninsula
    Posts
    2,838
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    wonder if uninstall and reinstall opanda firefox plug in will help?

  11. #11
    It's all about the Light!
    Tech Admin
    Kym's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2008
    Location
    Modbury, Adelaide
    Posts
    9,641
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Miaow View Post
    if you look for updates it will bring it up Kym
    Yes, but its not 'forced' as others are.

  12. #12
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    22 Jul 2008
    Location
    Rosebud, Mornington Peninsula
    Posts
    2,838
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yeah true

  13. #13
    A royal pain in the bum! arthurking83's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Jun 2006
    Location
    the worst house, in the best street
    Posts
    8,188
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by I @ M View Post
    ...... as well as the fact that new tabs now open next to the one that you are viewing instead of at the far right hand end of the open tabs!!!!! .....

    OK!!

    I'm not getting that!

    I open up a series of new tabs via various methods(rightclick->Open in new tab, Ctrl-T, double click the tab bar..etc, and they all open at the very end of the tabs list.

    strange issue indeed.

    My only incompatibility so far is Histogram Viewer Add-On is not compatible with v3.6.
    Nikon D800E, D300, D70s
    {Nikon} -> 50/1.2 : 500/8(CPU'd) : 105/2.8VR Micro : 180/2.8ais : 105mm f/1.8ais : 24mm/2ais
    {Sigma}; ->10-20/4-5.6 : 50/1.4 : 12-24/4.5-5.6II : 150-600mm|S
    {Tamron}; -> 17-50/2.8 : 28-75/2.8 : 70-200/2.8 : 300/2.8 SP MF : 24-70/2.8VC


  14. #14
    It's all about the Light!
    Tech Admin
    Kym's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2008
    Location
    Modbury, Adelaide
    Posts
    9,641
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by I @ M View Post
    And ------ ad block + seems to "stuff up" a few things as well as the fact that new tabs now open next to the one that you are viewing instead of at the far right hand end of the open tabs!!!!!
    That's a settable option ... Use TMP https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/1122

  15. #15
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    22 Jul 2008
    Location
    Rosebud, Mornington Peninsula
    Posts
    2,838
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Kym View Post
    That's a settable option ... Use TMP https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/1122
    Just installed it and its slow as - not sure i like it?

  16. #16
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    22 Jul 2008
    Location
    Rosebud, Mornington Peninsula
    Posts
    2,838
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    the thing is why should people have to install add ons to fix up ff when 3.5 was ok and now 3.6 isn't :/
    Last edited by Miaow; 15-02-2010 at 9:34pm.

  17. #17
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,647
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Miaow View Post
    the thing is why should people have to install add ons to fix up ff when 3.5 was ok and now 3.6 isn't :/
    Agree, if we moved to FF 4.0 fair enough, it is a whole new version, but to break things between 'service packs' isn't good. I am still running 3.5.7 and will stick to it for the time being I think.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  18. #18
    Ausphotography Veteran rwg717's Avatar
    Join Date
    29 Jun 2009
    Location
    Southern NSW
    Posts
    3,570
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm with you Cat....never could stand Firefox
    Richard
    I've been wrong before!! Happy to have constructive criticism though.Gear used Canon 50D, 7D & 5DMkII plus expensive things hanging off their fronts and of course a "nifty fifty".

  19. #19
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    22 Jul 2008
    Location
    Rosebud, Mornington Peninsula
    Posts
    2,838
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Actually I love firefox - I just don't like what they have done with 3.6 :/

  20. #20
    Who me?
    Join Date
    02 Sep 2007
    Location
    Tweed Heads
    Posts
    2,749
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Miaow View Post
    Ok since installed firefox 3.6 I notice when right-click a pic that properties has gone - now we have 'View Image Info' ok hmm gives some details but off course one plugin i have wont show details with it - actually it shows less info than properties used to i feel apart from a heap off added page image infor i dont need??? Hmm is there somehow to turn that off and have properties back again lol

    Opanda iexif link says cant find exif on pics and its there - i have to actually save a pic to look at exif never had to before??? Opanda never showed up as not working with 3.6

    ARGH i dont like 3.6 :/
    AHHH so its not just me , thanks for posting this Cat

    Quote Originally Posted by Kym View Post
    Cat uninstall FxIF , restart FF, the re-install it. (Tools/Addons)

    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/5673

    Its the problem, not FF
    The V4 of FxIF also shows as 'EXIF Data' in the right click menu

    Thanks for the work around Kym, worked first time
    Cheers David.

    Canon 40D/EF-S 17-85 mm IS/Kenko Extenson Tubes/Canon EF 50mm F/1.8 II (nifty fifty)
    Sigma 10-20mm 4-5.6 /Sigma 70-200/ Sigma 1.4 teleconverter/ some Conkin filters | Adobe Photoshop CS6



Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •