User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Apple Updates Aperture to Version 3

  1. #1
    Member Calxoddity's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Apr 2008
    Location
    Wollongong
    Posts
    473
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Apple Updates Aperture to Version 3

    Hi,
    Aperture 3 has just been released. Localised non-destructive edits etc etc etc. Worth a look if you have a Mac!

    Regards,
    Calx
    Calxoddity
    Concert Pianist, Test Pilot, Pathological Liar


    Nikon D40, Sigma 17-70 F2.8-4.5 HSM, Nikkor AF-D 50mm f1.8
    Post Processing: Aperture 3 & Photoshop Elements 6

  2. #2
    Member Mircula's Avatar
    Join Date
    03 Dec 2009
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    406
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hehe,

    I just got used to using Lightroom, so i guess i might stick with that.....

    Any idea when lightroom 3 is coming? I heard the beta is over.....
    Constructive criticism is most welcome!!!

    Canon 40D, 100-300 5.6 L
    Sigma 17-70
    Manfrotto Tripod

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    08 Nov 2009
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    1,685
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No killer feature there - not sure I see enough in there to want to pay to upgrade. Face recognition and geotagging are already in iphoto, where they belong (face recognition is a fairly useless gimmick IMHO). Already have the Nik Suite and photoshop for the other stuff
    Alan
    -------------------------------------------
    Canon 5DMkII, Panasonic GF1 and a few other bits and bobs
    My SmugMug


  4. #4
    Member R1titan's Avatar
    Join Date
    06 Jan 2009
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    702
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thx for the heads up
    Canon User

  5. #5
    Member
    Threadstarter
    Calxoddity's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Apr 2008
    Location
    Wollongong
    Posts
    473
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by coolie21 View Post
    No killer feature there - not sure I see enough in there to want to pay to upgrade. Face recognition and geotagging are already in iphoto, where they belong (face recognition is a fairly useless gimmick IMHO). Already have the Nik Suite and photoshop for the other stuff
    I disagree - non destructive localised editing without having to create a tiff is a big plus, as is the ability to have pre-sets. Improved printing has to be a good thing too. I haven't downloaded a trial yet, so I'm yet to figure out if any of the other claimed 200 new features has a wow factor.

    I'm with you though on the Faces thing - that's an answer in search of a question as far as I'm concerned.

    If I get around to downloading the trial I'll post a mini-review.

    Regards,
    Calx

  6. #6
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban
    Join Date
    14 Feb 2007
    Location
    Western Sydney
    Posts
    352
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ordered my upgrade last week - should be sitting at work waiting for me on Monday

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    19 Oct 2009
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I downloaded the trial. My mini review: Slow as a wet week, RAM hog, CPU hog. Having said that, I love that pretty much any adjustment can be brushed.

    I'm waiting for LR3 to be released before I make my mind up. I've been using LR3 beta and it's pretty nice.. interested to see what tricks Adobe have up their sleeve.
    --
    Feel free to offer constructive feedback and critique of my images. Happy for my images to be processed, however please advise what has been done.
    --
    No-one knows it all, we are all still learning.
    --
    500D | EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS | EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS | EF 50mm f/1.8 II | Battery Grip | MacBook Pro | LR 3b

  8. #8
    Member
    Threadstarter
    Calxoddity's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Apr 2008
    Location
    Wollongong
    Posts
    473
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Aperture 3 Mini-Review

    Hi,
    On Friday I tried out the trial version of Aperture 3. On Saturday I purchased the upgrade license key online and upgraded my Aperture 2 library to Aperture 3.

    The Upgrade:
    1. if you already have aperture installed, rename it from aperture.app to something else if you just want to try it out first
    2. make a backup of your current aperture library (ie the *name*.aplibrary file
    3. before you convert your Aperture 2 library to Aperture 3, go into the Aperture 3 preferences and turn Faces and geotagging OFF
    4. also before conversion, close down all other applications and make sure you have a lot of disk space free for swap space
    5. Believe Apple's statement that the conversion will take a long time
    6. Make sure Aperture 3 is working before you try converting anything - create a simple new library just for kicks and import some pikkies


    The Result:
    • conversion took 40 mins for a 10,000 item references library
    • everything migrated cleanly
    • all the features worked
    • Aperture 3 is noticeably faster than Aperture 2
    • the localised adjustment brushes are fast and work really nicely - the edge detection is great


    The Aftermath

    Just for kicks, today I upgraded from Leopard to Snow Leopard. It also went flawlessly. Aperture is now running 64-bit and has sped up a little more.

    What to Watch For

    You've gotta RTFM. If you try to convert with Faces and/or geotagging turned on, it will end in tears. Faces will continue to work in the background after conversion even if you manage to survive the conversion, and make everything slow down, including your nice shiny new Aperture.

    If you try to migrate a library containing corrupted or very large images (say big tiffs) it may well crash/freeze.

    Use commonsense - take a backup of your library. Yes, this is the second time I said it. The support forums are full of halfwits that believe (correctly or otherwise) that the upgrade process has eaten their library. This is only true if you had no backups!

    Regards,
    Calx

  9. #9
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban
    Join Date
    14 Feb 2007
    Location
    Western Sydney
    Posts
    352
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Calx
    I run a seperate HDD with all my images on it - not the MBP drive where only the Aperture app resides. But my images are all big TIFFs and about 5000 to 7000 images per drive with multiple drives - each one an aperture library in its own.

    Do I have one of the libraries attached whilst I do the upgrade or can I leave them detached until the upgrade is completed then upgrade each library as I'm ready for it.

    Also is the upgrade done to the Vault?

  10. #10
    Member
    Threadstarter
    Calxoddity's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Apr 2008
    Location
    Wollongong
    Posts
    473
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Mark,
    A3 is now multi-library aware, so you can have as many libraries as you like and switch between them inside Aperture.

    I gather from your description you're using managed mode? If that is the case, take a backup of each library before doing the conversion. Mine is referenced, so the library file was "only" just over 8GB, containing only the thumbnails, pointers, adjustment records, and metadata - but not the images themselves. You will be able to convert each library as you choose.

    I don't know about the vault. I think (and it's not a certainty) that an A2 vault is readable by A3 but not the reverse. Same for A2 libraries, obviously (not sure if you can use an A2 library without converting though...).

    With big tiffs and managed library, your risk profile is higher than my setup. Lotsa free hard disk on your primary drive (for swap space) and lotsa unallocated RAM is going to be vital for a smooth migration.

    Regards,
    Calx

  11. #11
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban
    Join Date
    14 Feb 2007
    Location
    Western Sydney
    Posts
    352
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thax Calx
    I've also read on the Apple support forum that its better to import a library than to try the conversion, so that might be my way to go as I have plenty of spare external HDDs.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •