User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  2
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Signature Brush - Add placement to an Action

  1. #1
    In Training MarkChap's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Jan 2008
    Location
    Widgee,
    Posts
    2,256
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Signature Brush - Add placement to an Action

    Ok so this is my problem.

    I have created a new brush preset using Ricks great tutorial.

    I will occasionally have the need to add this to many images at a single time so thought I would create an action so that I could use some batch processing and so that I could just add this action to image processor when I generate a batch of jpg's from my raw files.

    I created a new action and hit record - select the brush - resize the brush to required size (300 pixels) - click on an area around the centre bottom of the image (I was happy for the signature to be in the same place each time) - then click save to apply the settings.

    When I run the action it does everything except add the signature to the image ??

    I am totally confused, I thought the record function recorded everything you did and then basically redid that when you re-played the action.

    I was working with some small jpg files whilst trying to get this sorted that just needed to be saved straight back as the file name in the same location etc.

    Software - Photshop CS4 - Bridge.

    Any help will be greatly appreciated
    Smoke Alarms Save Lives, Install One Today
    I shoot Canon
    Cheers, Mark


  2. #2
    Moderately Underexposed I @ M's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 May 2007
    Location
    Marlo, Far East Gippsland
    Posts
    4,911
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Can't help you Mark, sorry, surely one of the PS gurus on here will have an answer if this thread is bumped enough though.

  3. #3
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,650
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    I had this exact issue, and could not solve it. Hence why I just do my signature brush insertion manually. I tried all sorts of things to get this to work, but gave up. Hopefully someone will know the answer.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  4. #4
    In Training
    Threadstarter
    MarkChap's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Jan 2008
    Location
    Widgee,
    Posts
    2,256
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Rick and Andrew,

    Hopefully some one will have some sort of an answer

  5. #5
    In Training
    Threadstarter
    MarkChap's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Jan 2008
    Location
    Widgee,
    Posts
    2,256
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No other helpers ??

    Back to google and youtube I guess

  6. #6
    Ausphotography Site Sponsor/Advertiser DAdeGroot's Avatar
    Join Date
    26 Feb 2009
    Location
    Cedar Creek, Qld, Australia
    Posts
    1,890
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I detest the complexity of photoshop actions and their various inconsistencies. Mark, do you have Lightroom as well as CS4 ? If so, create a transparent image, add your signature, save it as a PSD and use LR/Mogrify to apply it to your photos on export - WAAAAY easier than actions in CS4.
    Dave

    http://www.degrootphotography.com.au/
    Canon EOS 1D MkIV | Canon EOS 5D MkII | Canon EOS 30D | Canon EF 400mm f/5.6L USM | Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM | Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM | Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM | Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM | Canon TS-E 17mm f/4L & some non-L lenses.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    19 Jan 2009
    Location
    Cranbourne
    Posts
    232
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Mark. Have a look at this tutorial. Not sure if its what you wnt or not . It may help you a bit. The only downside is the guys voice If not, do a search in youtube. There are heaps in there as well.
    Hope it helps.

    http://av.adobe.com/russellbrown/BrandingSM.mov
    Cheers Peter
    Canon 7D...Canon 40D...Canon 24-70L 2.8...Canon 70-200L 2.8...Canon 17-85...Canon 50mm...Speedlights....Tripods...Filters... Battery grips.... And heaps of other stuff


    There are always two people in every picture.. the photographer and the viewer.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    15 Nov 2009
    Location
    Forresters Beach, Central Coast.
    Posts
    377
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by bigbikes View Post
    The only downside is the guy's voice

    http://av.adobe.com/russellbrown/BrandingSM.mov
    Yes, I agree. Russell is a little bit over the top, isn't he?
    Ray Allen.

    Pentax K10D, DA 18-55, DA 50-200, Tamron Di LD Macro 70-300, Tamron SP Di II 10-24, Asahi Pentax Spotmatic SP, Asahi Pentax SP1000, assorted Super-Takumar & SMC screw-mount lenses. Manfrotto 190XPROB Tripod + 804RC2 Head, 680B Monopod + 234RC Head.
    Software used: PS CS3 Extended/CS5 Extended, ACR 6.3, Lightroom 3.3, NIK Software plug-ins, FastStone 4.2, ACDSee 10, SilverFast Ai.
    My Flickr Images | My Web Site | Owner of Yahoo! Spotmatic Group
    For 350+ blood/plasma donations to Red Cross

  9. #9
    In Training
    Threadstarter
    MarkChap's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Jan 2008
    Location
    Widgee,
    Posts
    2,256
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No light room

    Will check out that video

    Thanks

  10. #10
    In Training
    Threadstarter
    MarkChap's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Jan 2008
    Location
    Widgee,
    Posts
    2,256
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This Gavin Hoey Video is excellent

    When combined with this from bigbikes http://av.adobe.com/russellbrown/BrandingSM.mov

    I gleaned enough info to create an action that does what I want.
    You don't use a brush preset but type the text you want as part of the action, so it pays to run through what you want to achieve first so you know just what steps you want to record in your action.

    If I can do it anybody can

  11. #11
    In Training
    Threadstarter
    MarkChap's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Jan 2008
    Location
    Widgee,
    Posts
    2,256
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Instead of using Gavin's resize option I used
    File > Automate > Fit Image , as from Cowboy Bills ? Adobe video
    Which allows you to set the maximum vertical and horizontal size of your image, this allows to batch process both landscape and portrait orientation images and resize them, I set 1024 for landscape and 800 for portrait so that even when saving for display here my images are the size I want.
    You could also add a "save as" or "save for web" to your action, so that after your adjustments you just run the action and PS does the last bit for you, resizes, watermarks and saves.

    Hope someone else find this useful

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •