User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Channels in CS3 not B&W

  1. #1
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    28 Dec 2008
    Location
    Penrith
    Posts
    1,335
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Channels in CS3 not B&W

    Help Please,
    I have been trying to learn Channel Mask in CS3 but everytime I select the channels tab they are all in colour and all the tutorials have them in B&W.
    What am I doing wrong?
    Thanks.
    Carmen

    My Stuff:- Canon 50D l EF 28-80 f2.8-4L
    l EF 100-300 f4-5.6 l Canon 100mm f2.8 macro l Tokina 11-16 f2.8 l Pol. Filter l Flash l Grip l Remote l Tripod l Lightroom 2 l CS3

    Constructive Critique of my photos always appreciated

  2. #2
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,130
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    From memory (I use CS4) there is a monochrome check box on the channels window, you need to tick that.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  3. #3
    Ausphotography Site Sponsor/Advertiser DAdeGroot's Avatar
    Join Date
    26 Feb 2009
    Location
    Cedar Creek, Qld, Australia
    Posts
    1,890
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by clm738 View Post
    Help Please,
    I have been trying to learn Channel Mask in CS3 but everytime I select the channels tab they are all in colour and all the tutorials have them in B&W.
    What am I doing wrong?
    Thanks.
    If it's what I think you're referring to, you need to deselect the channels you don't want.

    So deselect Red & Green to see the Blue channel, etc...
    Dave

    http://www.degrootphotography.com.au/
    Canon EOS 1D MkIV | Canon EOS 5D MkII | Canon EOS 30D | Canon EF 400mm f/5.6L USM | Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM | Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM | Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM | Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM | Canon TS-E 17mm f/4L & some non-L lenses.

  4. #4
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    28 Dec 2008
    Location
    Penrith
    Posts
    1,335
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Rick & Dave. I did both as you suggested.
    Rick I checked the monochrome box but all it did was give me a greyscale channel with a red, green, and blue overlay.
    Dave I tried deselecting all of the channels one at a time but all it did way give me that colour overlay.
    I know this is something basic but can't find it anywhere on the net.

  5. #5
    Ausphotography Site Sponsor/Advertiser DAdeGroot's Avatar
    Join Date
    26 Feb 2009
    Location
    Cedar Creek, Qld, Australia
    Posts
    1,890
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by clm738 View Post
    Thanks Rick & Dave. I did both as you suggested.
    Rick I checked the monochrome box but all it did was give me a greyscale channel with a red, green, and blue overlay.
    Dave I tried deselecting all of the channels one at a time but all it did way give me that colour overlay.
    I know this is something basic but can't find it anywhere on the net.
    I've done up a quick screen grab video here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=20NW5PEMxgQ

    Is this what you mean ?

    (give it 10 mins, Youtube says it's still processing Video now live)
    Last edited by DAdeGroot; 30-01-2010 at 11:04pm.

  6. #6
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    28 Dec 2008
    Location
    Penrith
    Posts
    1,335
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Dave,
    I haden't seen that particular you tube video. But, yes, at the start all the channels come up as those colours on the photo when selected but then I can't get all the channels to go grey like they do near the end of the video.
    Sorry I took so long to answer, didn't realise it was so late, been trying to figure it out.

  7. #7
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    28 Dec 2008
    Location
    Penrith
    Posts
    1,335
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Every video, everyone just clicks on channels and RBG comes up in colour and the 3 channels underneath come up in black and white. Mine come up with a colour filter type thing over the top of the 3 channels.

  8. #8
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,130
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    What are you trying to achieve with the processing. Are you wanting a mono photo at the end?

  9. #9
    Ausphotography Site Sponsor/Advertiser DAdeGroot's Avatar
    Join Date
    26 Feb 2009
    Location
    Cedar Creek, Qld, Australia
    Posts
    1,890
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by clm738 View Post
    Thanks Dave,
    I haden't seen that particular you tube video. But, yes, at the start all the channels come up as those colours on the photo when selected but then I can't get all the channels to go grey like they do near the end of the video.
    Sorry I took so long to answer, didn't realise it was so late, been trying to figure it out.
    Care to take some screen shots of what you're doing so we have a better idea ?

    On a Mac, Shift-Apple-4 will give you a cursor to select what part of the screen to grab (saves to Desktop by default), on Windows you're stuck with ALT-Print Screen to capture the whole window (into your cut-n-paste buffer).

  10. #10
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    28 Dec 2008
    Location
    Penrith
    Posts
    1,335
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Trying to change background from photo of grandson and put in a texture maybe. Thought this was the best way to go because of his wispy bits of hair. Am I on the right track?

  11. #11
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,130
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Ah, try these two tutorials on making a selection of complex objects (grandson in this instance..hehe)

    http://www.ausphotography.net.au/for...ad.php?t=28895

    http://www.ausphotography.net.au/for...ad.php?t=34089

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    30 May 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    2,599
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    EDIT - PREFERENCES - INTERFACE (uncheck the SHOW CHANNELS IN COLOUR box)

    This works in CS4 -- CS3 - let's hope so.
    Canon 7D : Canon EF 70-200mm f:2.8 L IS II USM - Canon EF 24-105 f:4 L IS USM - Canon EF 50mm f:1.8 - Canon EF-s 18-55mm f:3.5-5.6
    Sigma APO 150-500mm f:5-6.3 DG OS HSM
    - Sigma 10-20mm f:3.5 EX DC HSM
    Speedlite 580 EX II - Nissin Di866 II - Yongnuo 460-II x2 - Kenko extension tube set - Canon Extender EF 1.4x II
    Manfroto monopod - SILK 700DX Pro tripod - Remote release - Cokin Z-Pro filter box + Various filters

    Current Social Experiment: CAPRIL - Wearing a cape for the month of April to support Beyond Blue
    Visit me on Flickr

  13. #13
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    28 Dec 2008
    Location
    Penrith
    Posts
    1,335
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Scotty your'e a darling, thank you, thank you. This has been driving me crazy, I would never have found it in a million years.
    Rick, thank you for all your time in trying to sort this out. I will check out the tutorials.
    Dave, thank you for all your time and effort also.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •