User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  1

View Poll Results: Do you use noise reduction software?

Voters
39. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes, I use specialist noise reduction software

    25 64.10%
  • Yes, but I only use what is built into Aperture, Lightroom etc

    9 23.08%
  • No, I don't need it

    5 12.82%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 27

Thread: Do you use noise reduction software?

  1. #1
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    08 Nov 2009
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    1,685
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Do you use noise reduction software?

    I have been looking at noise reduction plug ins for Aperture, however they seem a bit pricey. Dfine for example is almost 2/3 the price of the full Aperture app - for a plug in.

    Do you use noise reduction software, is it worth the $$$?
    Alan
    -------------------------------------------
    Canon 5DMkII, Panasonic GF1 and a few other bits and bobs
    My SmugMug


  2. #2
    can't remember
    Join Date
    16 Apr 2007
    Location
    Ballarat
    Posts
    2,010
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Of course. No photographer should be without it. A real computer will always be far, far more capable of doing a good job than a little chip in a camera. Turn it off in-camera, do it in PP is a good rule.

    Dfine is shockingly expensive. Unbelievable!

    Yes, NR software is worth the money ...... if you buy a package that is sensibly priced. The long-established markety leader is Neat Image - http://neatimage.com/ - which seems to be getting a bit dear now at $75. The other well-respected one is Noise Ninja at about the same price.

  3. #3
    It's all about the Light!
    Tech Admin
    Kym's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2008
    Location
    Modbury, Adelaide
    Posts
    9,633
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes, but only when needed. I do it in PP using Neat Image.
    regards, Kym Gallery Honest & Direct Constructive Critique Appreciated! ©
    Digital & film, Bits of glass covering 10mm to 500mm, and other stuff



  4. #4
    I am older than I look. peterb666's Avatar
    Join Date
    31 Oct 2009
    Location
    Tura Beach, NSW
    Posts
    3,593
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Generally I don't need it. Only rarely would I need to use it since moving from compact digital cameras to my current camera. Maybe 1 in 1000 shots!

  5. #5
    Account Closed TheGuru's Avatar
    Join Date
    25 Jan 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    17
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes, I always have heaps of noise in the sky of my outdoor HDR's but if I don't need it then I won't use it. As you say, it is expensive but so is everything to do with digital cameras.

  6. #6
    Way Down Yonder in the Paw Paw Patch jim's Avatar
    Join Date
    27 Jun 2007
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,530
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Neat Image. That or something similar is an absolute must if you ever need to use high ISO. And often useful even if you don't.
    All constructive criticism accepted with gratitude.


  7. #7
    can't remember
    Join Date
    16 Apr 2007
    Location
    Ballarat
    Posts
    2,010
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Tannin View Post
    Of course. No photographer should be without it.
    Unless, of course, you always shoot at base ISO. So some genres it probably doesn't apply to.

  8. #8
    Antipod
    Join Date
    25 Apr 2008
    Location
    Amersfoort, NL
    Posts
    657
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Noise control is a matter of good exposure to begin with. I rarely need it, if ever.
    Ciao, Joost

    All feedback is highly appreciated!

  9. #9
    Moderately Underexposed I @ M's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 May 2007
    Location
    Marlo, Far East Gippsland
    Posts
    4,864
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Of course I do, Neat Image is a necessity for any pre cmos sensor Nikon owner like me that occasionally ventures above 400 iso.
    Andrew
    Nikon, Fuji, Nikkor, Sigma, Tamron, Tokina and too many other bits and pieces to list.



  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,837
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Do you use noise reduction software?

    I suppose interestingly even at low Iso you can still introduce noise, maybe not the traditional sort, using some post processing techniques that I'll then use dfine (I really like nik software) to clean up again
    Darren
    Gear : Nikon Goodness
    Website : http://www.peakactionimages.com
    Please support Precious Hearts
    Constructive Critique of my images always appreciated

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2009
    Location
    Northern Beaches, Sydney
    Posts
    2,338
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes - but in my "package" only (so to speak).

    As an NX2 user, options are limited.

  12. #12
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,135
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    I used to use Neat Image, but now use D-Fine (www.niksoftware.com)
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    13 Dec 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    2,051
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use Nik D-Fine as well. All the Nik stuff is a little pricey but it is great software and they have EXCEPTIONAL customer service.

    Quick story #1 .. I bought Color Efex Pro 3.0 for $300USD, then bought D-Fine for a further $90USD. I didnt realise at the time they offered a Complete Edition of ALL 5 of their programmes (incl. Silver Efex Pro, Viveza, and Pro Sharpener) for $600USD.

    After a quick email explaining the situation and how much Id already spent they quickly cancelled the original licenses and allowed me to repurchase the Complete Edition. I was very happy with that reponse

    Quick Story #2. In December of last year (2009) Viveza 2 came out. I missed the cut off date for the free upgrade by 10 days from the date that I bought the Complete Package so effectively the upgrade was going to cost me $99USD if I wanted it.

    I fired off a quick polite email, and they were more than happy to give me the upgrade for free. Once again, excellent service

    Sorry for going a little OT .. but its worth mentioning that the service you get from Nik is probably worth paying that little bit extra if something goes wrong. Plus its GREAT software
    Hi Im Darren

    www.darrengrayphotography.com

    SONY A850 (FF)] + GRIP | SONY A350 (APS-C) + GRIP | SONY NEX-5 +16 2.8 + 18-55 E-MOUNT LENSES | CZ 85 1.4 | 50 1.4 | 28-75 2.8 | 70-200 2.8 | 2 x 42AMs | 24" imac | LR | CS4 | + loads of other junk


  14. #14
    Ausphotography Veteran
    Join Date
    22 Jul 2008
    Location
    Rosebud, Mornington Peninsula
    Posts
    2,839
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I only use it if needed - ie iso 1600 and 800 sometimes. Use the Neat Image plugin
    Cat (aka Cathy) - Another Canon user - 400D, 18-55,75-300mm Kit Lens,50mm f1.8, Tamron 90mm f2.8 Macro, Sigma 28-70 f2.8-4 DG, Tripod and a willingness to learn
    Software used: PhotoImpact, Irfanview and a lot of plugins
    We don't make a photograph just with a camera, we bring to the act of photography all the books we have read, the movies we have seen, the music we have heard, the people we have loved. - Ansel Adams


  15. #15
    can't remember
    Join Date
    16 Apr 2007
    Location
    Ballarat
    Posts
    2,010
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Darren, it is things like the service you mention that set businesses apart. Don't apologisde for "going on" - this is really useful information. I will happily pay just about any price for a product if I think it really is te best there is and the service matches.

    With that said, with D-fine we are not talking about "paying that little bit extra", we are looking at a product being sold for double the going rate; twice as much as the two established industry leaders are charging (Neat Image and Noise Ninja). That seems excessive, especially as (in my understanding) you only get half te product - Neat Image and Noise Ninja hive you complete stand-alone programs as well as Photoshop plug-insm where with D-fine, you must use Photoshop.

    I agree that Nik make high quality products, but comparing my one Nik priduct (not D-fine) with my one Neat Image product, the Neat Image one is of even better quality than the Nik one.

    I'be been meaning to try the free trial version of D-fine for a while; largely because I don't see where they get off charging that much for s noise reduction package, and I'm curious to find out what (if anything) it does to justfy the price. I'm a sucker for good software, so I have to be careful doing stuff like that. Winds up costing me money.
    Tony

    Edit and critique at will. Tokina 10-17 fish, Canon 10-22, 24-105, 100-400, TS-E 24, 35/1.4, 60 macro, 100L macro, 500/4, Wimberley, MT-24EX, 580EX-II, 1D IV, 7D, 5D II, 50D.

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    13 Dec 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    2,051
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Tannin View Post
    Neat Image and Noise Ninja hive you complete stand-alone programs as well as Photoshop plug-insm where with D-fine, you must use Photoshop..
    Not entirely true mate .. you can buy the Complete Collection plugins for Aperture and LR only for half the price ($299USD) than the Complete Collection "Ultimate Edition" which includes PS compatibility. ($599USD)

    See here ... http://www.niksoftware.com/store/usa...a-family.shtml

    I agree about the other NR software as well .. Ive had trial versions of both Neat image and Noise ninja. I didnt dislike either of them, probably preferring NN.

  17. #17
    Who me? dbax's Avatar
    Join Date
    02 Sep 2007
    Location
    Tweed Heads
    Posts
    2,749
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use Noiseware http://www.imagenomic.com/nwpg.aspx. It was a necessity with the Oly E300 above iso200. Now that I have the 40D I only use it occasionally.

    EDIT, oh by the way I use it as a photoshop plug in
    Cheers David.

    Canon 40D/EF-S 17-85 mm IS/Kenko Extenson Tubes/Canon EF 50mm F/1.8 II (nifty fifty)
    Sigma 10-20mm 4-5.6 /Sigma 70-200/ Sigma 1.4 teleconverter/ some Conkin filters | Adobe Photoshop CS6



  18. #18
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    08 Nov 2009
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    1,685
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well so far a majority consensus for the noise reduction software. I am trying the Dfine trial at the moment, has worked beautifully, but I haven't tried any of the others yet. I can be a bit of a software ##### so will have to be careful that I don't get tempted for the full package like Darren.

    The US site mentions an academic discount hmm....

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    13 Dec 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    2,051
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by coolie21 View Post
    Well so far a majority consensus for the noise reduction software. I am trying the Dfine trial at the moment, has worked beautifully, but I haven't tried any of the others yet. I can be a bit of a software ##### so will have to be careful that I don't get tempted for the full package like Darren.

    The US site mentions an academic discount hmm....
    You wont regret it if you do ... the software is very handy. I use CEP, SEP (awesome!!), and Viveza a lot. The only one that is really wasted on me is the sharpener. I tend to always gravitate back to PS for that.

  20. #20
    Ausphotography Regular swifty's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 May 2007
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,352
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have to admit, I don't use any NR other than in-camera settings. And with those I keep it on the low setting (not NIL).
    I tend to shoot ISO 100-400 these days and really only go to 800 if i have to.
    When in situations where the required exposure is something like iso 1600, f1.8 1/30, I just accept that there will be noise.
    If I underexpose something too much and try to 'fix' it PP, I know there's gonna be unnecessary noise too but basically the photo's a write off for me.
    Nikon FX

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •