Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: What Sharpening Tool Do You Use?

  1. #1
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    28 Dec 2008
    Location
    Penrith
    Posts
    1,335

    What Sharpening Tool Do You Use?

    Hi Everyone,
    Just wondering what everyone uses to sharpen their images and how they rate what they use.
    Photoshop, Lightroom, DPP, Aperture, Plug-in and if so which one, etc.
    Thanks for your input.
    Carmen

    My Stuff:- Canon 50D l EF 28-80 f2.8-4L
    l EF 100-300 f4-5.6 l Canon 100mm f2.8 macro l Tokina 11-16 f2.8 l Pol. Filter l Flash l Grip l Remote l Tripod l Lightroom 2 l CS3

    Constructive Critique of my photos always appreciated

  2. #2
    The Commander mikew09's Avatar
    Join Date
    27 May 2009
    Location
    Lowood, Queenland
    Posts
    3,842
    Hi Carmen,
    Depends for me. I always shoot raw and use DPP for the first cut as I find it does the raw stuff best. If the shot is fine in DPP I sharpen as the lsat action before I save to tiff. If I need to do some work I use PS Elements and sharpen last then save to tiff or jpeg. My issue is that PS Elements does a very poor job with display on my Dell laptop - let me stress that this is the fault of the laptop display and not the software. I am about to purchase the new iMac which will allow me to calibrate and benefit from the PS software which is very good.

    Bottom line for me is I always sharpen last, so depends what software I use to process as to what I use to sharpen.

    Finally, I am far from the best at PP of photos so will be interesting to hear other comments.

    Hope this helps to get your thread going.

    Mike
    Please be honest with your Critique of my images. I may not always agree, but I will not be offended - CC assists my learning and is always appreciated

    http://mikeathome.smugmug.com/

    Canon 5D3 - Gripped, EF 70-200 L 4 USM, , 24-105 L 5 IS USM, 580 EX II Speedlite, 2x 430 Ex II Speedlite


  3. #3
    Member monkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    31 Aug 2009
    Location
    **Suburb/Town Required**
    Posts
    49
    I mainly use lightroom but to retouch eyes and other area in portraits I move to Photoshop and work with the un-sharp mask.

  4. #4
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban
    Join Date
    14 Feb 2007
    Location
    Western Sydney
    Posts
    352
    Focalblade as a plugin inside Aperture.

  5. #5
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    28 Dec 2008
    Location
    Penrith
    Posts
    1,335
    Mark I have had a good look at Focal Blade and it looks good. Can you get sharpening that really pops? I use Lightroom 2 and find its sharpening not quite good enough. I have installed Mogrify, which works in Lightroom's Export but you can't see your results till it's all over. Very frustrating.

  6. #6
    Ausphotography Veteran Allann's Avatar
    Join Date
    26 Nov 2008
    Location
    Booval, Qld (near Ipswich)
    Posts
    2,017

    Re: What Sharpening Tool Do You Use?

    Nik software's sharpen tool. I use their two step process where it does the presharpen of the raw, then an output sharpen according to the device it'll be displayed on, inkjet or screen.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    22 Jul 2008
    Location
    Rosebud, Mornington Peninsula
    Posts
    2,837
    Another using Focalblade here - is a great plug in
    Cat (aka Cathy) - Another Canon user - 400D, 18-55,75-300mm Kit Lens,50mm f1.8, Tamron 90mm f2.8 Macro, Sigma 28-70 f2.8-4 DG, Tripod and a willingness to learn
    Software used: PhotoImpact, Irfanview and a lot of plugins
    We don't make a photograph just with a camera, we bring to the act of photography all the books we have read, the movies we have seen, the music we have heard, the people we have loved. - Ansel Adams


  8. #8
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban
    Join Date
    14 Feb 2007
    Location
    Western Sydney
    Posts
    352
    Quote Originally Posted by clm738 View Post
    Mark I have had a good look at Focal Blade and it looks good. Can you get sharpening that really pops? I use Lightroom 2 and find its sharpening not quite good enough. I have installed Mogrify, which works in Lightroom's Export but you can't see your results till it's all over. Very frustrating.
    I don't want sharpening that "pops", I want the scene to look natural like I haven't used a sharpening tool at all - just the way the image would appear to the eye.

    I use it in aperture and CS3 and both show a live sharpen. For LR - I don't know, I don't use it.

  9. #9
    Member Wazza's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Jan 2010
    Location
    Balwyn North
    Posts
    22
    Have a look at the recent posts on sharpening by ricktas.

    I like high pass filter sharpening because of the control and ability to tweak at any time.
    Wazza

  10. #10
    Administrator (Site Owner) ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    13,285
    I use High Pass Sharpening on a layer, then will mask some sections of the sharpened layer, leaving some sections sharp, and others a little softer. Sometimes an even, whole of photo sharpening doesn't work, and doing any sharpening method on a layer so you can adjust its intensity in various areas of the photo can make all the difference.
    RICK
    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    www.tassiephotos.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •