User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Yongnuo YN-465 + triggers = TTL on D80?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    23 Aug 2009
    Location
    Sutherland Shire
    Posts
    194
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Yongnuo YN-465 + triggers = TTL on D80?

    Hi all,

    I can't find reference to the Yongnuo YN-465 which is their TTL flash so I thought I'd ask the question.

    Since its a TTL, can these be used with their CTR-301P triggers with a Nikon D80 and still keep TTL metering? ie, as a cheaper alternative to a SB600.

    One could get 2 or 3 of these flashes plus trigger set for about the same price as a SB600.

    Hoping to save a few $$ and from all reports the Yongnuo flash are pretty good for the money.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    In Training MarkChap's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Jan 2008
    Location
    Widgee,
    Posts
    2,256
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yeah - No

    The CTR-301's are not TTL compatible, so it will make no difference which flash is attached to them.

    If you want off camera flash and maintain TTL you are going to have to look at the Nikon flashes and use the CLS or look to the Pocket wizards Mini's
    Smoke Alarms Save Lives, Install One Today
    I shoot Canon
    Cheers, Mark


  3. #3
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    23 Aug 2009
    Location
    Sutherland Shire
    Posts
    194
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ah, so its the incompatibilty of the triggers, I get you.

    Thats a bummer.

    Ok, brings me to another few questions:

    1. Since much of my use will be indoors near the flash, I assume I could still use them with a sync cord?

    2. Although I'll not likely have the need, but can you use multiple flashes with sync cords TTL - like a sync cord double adaptor or daisy chained

    3. Or, can one use a SB600 through the CLS AND a non remote (yongnuo) with a sync cord both at the same time, all TTL?

    Oh, and thanks Mark.
    Last edited by abitfishy; 18-01-2010 at 9:51am.

  4. #4
    In Training MarkChap's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Jan 2008
    Location
    Widgee,
    Posts
    2,256
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thats a lot more Nikon info than I can help with, sorry

    1- Yes sync cord will act as if flash is on the camera
    2- No, I don't think so, i have never seen one anyway
    3- Hopefully a Nikon exponent can answer this for you, but in theory I would suggest maybe.

  5. #5
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    23 Aug 2009
    Location
    Sutherland Shire
    Posts
    194
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Mark,

    1. I assumed so
    2. I didn't think so, I too can't say Ive seen it mentioned. Not to mention I'd trip over it all.
    3. Would be good, lets hope some Nikon people can assist.

    Thanks again, much appreciated.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,831
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    1. Yes
    2. Not that I have ever seen
    3. Yes, assuming that the 3rd party flash is TTL compatible
    Darren
    Gear : Nikon Goodness
    Website : http://www.peakactionimages.com
    Please support Precious Hearts
    Constructive Critique of my images always appreciated

  7. #7
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    23 Aug 2009
    Location
    Sutherland Shire
    Posts
    194
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Kiwi.

    It seems maybe the Yongnuo and a sync cord might be a good start into flash photography and still usable if I add a Nikon flash in the future.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,831
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    check out also the sb400, often bagged, but in a lot of ways a goof flash head to have

  9. #9
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    23 Aug 2009
    Location
    Sutherland Shire
    Posts
    194
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just been searching ebay. Nikon people please:

    There is a Yongnuo SC28a cord that has quote 'Two multi-flash sync sockets available on the flash connector for multi-flash synchronization. (compatible with Nikon Multi-Flash Sync Cord SC-26 / SC-27)'

    Do I assume from reading that, that using that Yongnuo cord, with an SC26/27 cord connected to a second (or third) flash (and having those flash mounted on an AS10), that multiple TTL flash is possible? Hope that makes sense.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,831
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I dont think you can daisy chain flashes, but, not tried this either. Im not sure how you can even trigger two flashes using only sync cords (nikon's or otherwise) to do so

    solly

  11. #11
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    23 Aug 2009
    Location
    Sutherland Shire
    Posts
    194
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Strangely though, the SC26/27 genuine Nikons are called 'multi flash sync cords' so it seems it might be possible. But hey, I could be misreading the possiblities, I'm just a newbie.

  12. #12
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban
    Join Date
    17 Feb 2010
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Can you use multiple flashes with sync cords TTL - like a sync cord double adaptor or daisy chained.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •