Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  25
Page 1 of 10 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: JPEG or RAW

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

JPEG or RAW

I am a newbie and wondering what format to shoot in - JPEG or RAW??

Thanks
    JO
    (L) plates

Canon DSLR EOS 500D
    Canon 18-55mm, Canon 50-250mm

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

hi

If you after quality of your images and you know how to edit- proccess your images then
    full steam ahead for RAW
    it will take more -Gb- of your HDD space but I think its worth doing
    ask around for more good reasons to do so ...

regards
    D5 user

Ausphotography Veteran
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by jrdnc09 View Post
    Thanks
    JO
    First you need to be able to define which is better - Holden or Ford, Collingwood or Richmond or any of the other issues that people take sides on! RAW and JPEG have devotees on both sides, so there's no "right" or "wrong" - just differing viewpoints.

However, that said let me say that RAW gives you the best potential to produce the best image but it has a bigger learning curve and requires more knowledge.

Some cameras shoot both at once, and that's what I do, but it uses up a lot of storage.

Maybe until you can say you're no longer a newbie, you should stick with JPEG, and then work up to RAW once you have your head around the whole photography thing a bit more. Do some reading about RAW and see what that brings you. RAW files are very big and not all software can process them, but that's just part of the RAW learning curve.

Think of it like your camera - when you're new you put it on manual - then after a while you work up to the various dials and settings - using RAW is similar, so it's better to walk with JPEG before trying to run too quickly.

Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)