User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Gallery builder for mac?

  1. #1
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban
    Join Date
    07 Dec 2009
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Gallery builder for mac?

    Hey all

    While Aperture is down on my mac I was wondering of any gallery builders for mac that are simple.

  2. #2
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban
    Join Date
    14 Feb 2007
    Location
    Western Sydney
    Posts
    352
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What do you mean that aperture is "down" ????????

    Is it not working?

  3. #3
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    07 Dec 2009
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by MarkW View Post
    What do you mean that aperture is "down" ????????

    Is it not working?
    2 weeks ago my mac book shut down on me (the fan stopped working and has since started again) and when I rebooted I had lost all my software but lucky for me I have 3 copies of all my photos. So after I reinstalled everything Aperture is telling me "It cannot work with this version of the OS".
    Here the issue, I worked for a Apple reseller and have a "not for Resale" copy, I got it when I did my APP (apple product pro) for Aperture. No one at Apple can tell me whats wrong, I'm running 10.6.x and they think its something on my system.

    So until then I'm using lightroom 3, photoshop and building my galleries by hand. Although I've just installed gallery 3 beta on my site and might give that a try for now.

  4. #4
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban
    Join Date
    14 Feb 2007
    Location
    Western Sydney
    Posts
    352
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Let me know what its like. I can't say I really like Aperture due to the one file system. I know I can use "managed" but from memory which doesnt seem to work at the moment, there was some reason I didn't like that option. Probably the issues with changing file names which I can do in the one file style.

  5. #5
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    07 Dec 2009
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I love Aperture but I'm not using as much (before my shutdown).

    It needs to be updated and very soon. It needs 64-bit support, it needs plug-ins support into the RAW file (so it doesn't make a need file) and it needs to be MUCH MUCH quicker.

  6. #6
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban
    Join Date
    14 Feb 2007
    Location
    Western Sydney
    Posts
    352
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You are (were) using version 2.1 weren't you?

    It did leave Aperture V1 for dead.

  7. #7
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    07 Dec 2009
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yep 2.1.x

  8. #8
    Account Closed
    Join Date
    10 Aug 2008
    Location
    Lake Macquarie
    Posts
    1,413
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    maybe an OS clean install would be better......

  9. #9
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    07 Dec 2009
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    already done, still not working

  10. #10
    Account Closed
    Join Date
    10 Aug 2008
    Location
    Lake Macquarie
    Posts
    1,413
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ..... replace the hard drive... maybe

  11. #11
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    07 Dec 2009
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hard drives fine, I've got to do a huge update 'morrow anyway that might work, if not I'm happy with lightroom and gallery 3 seems to be ok

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    07 Jul 2009
    Location
    Arnhem Land
    Posts
    596
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Aperture is currently running v2.1.4 I think there was an update when Snow Leopard came out to fix a few issues. Might pay to check Apple's site and download the latest patch.

    Can't help with the Gallery stuff, sorry.
    DM
    Nikon, Really Right Stuff, Gitzo, Manfrotto, Mac
    flickr

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •