User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  7
Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: HDR

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    21 Dec 2009
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    42
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    HDR

    Hi Guys

    I have been doing a little surfing and have found lots of images that have used HDR, I would guess this is High Definition Resolution....... If so then I'm guessing this is done at the camera, if not then HDR is something different and maybe done in the processing stage.

    I would love to find out a little more about this.

    Chris

  2. #2
    Who me?
    Join Date
    02 Sep 2007
    Location
    Tweed Heads
    Posts
    2,749
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Stig ( who are you?)
    HDR= High Dynamic Range, basically stretching the range of contrasts that the camera is able to capture by taking usually 3 exposures, one exposed for the bright areas, one for the darker areas and one as you would normally take it. Most cameras offer this feature as a preset.
    They are then blended in software to produce an image that covers the range of contrasts from the three frames.
    Some cameras offer this as an in camera function, most not.
    The blending can be done in software like Photoshop or their is specialist software like Photomatix.
    There is a tutorial on the site somewhere, but if you go to the Photomatix site there is one there.
    Last edited by dbax; 28-12-2009 at 1:33pm. Reason: added info
    Cheers David.

    Canon 40D/EF-S 17-85 mm IS/Kenko Extenson Tubes/Canon EF 50mm F/1.8 II (nifty fifty)
    Sigma 10-20mm 4-5.6 /Sigma 70-200/ Sigma 1.4 teleconverter/ some Conkin filters | Adobe Photoshop CS6



  3. #3
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    21 Dec 2009
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    42
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hey David

    Thanks for the info, i had a little play around today and ruff go at it ;p

    I have found lots of info on the web about, thanks again

    Chris

  4. #4
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    21 Dec 2009
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    42
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This is the end result, not the best but I understand how it works ;p

    I did have a hard job saving it in he correct format.

    Chris
    Attached Images Attached Images

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    30 May 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    2,599
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Not bad for a first attempt.

    How many shots did you use. You probably needed another 1 or too to bring out the foreground trees.

    Scotty
    Canon 7D : Canon EF 70-200mm f:2.8 L IS II USM - Canon EF 24-105 f:4 L IS USM - Canon EF 50mm f:1.8 - Canon EF-s 18-55mm f:3.5-5.6
    Sigma APO 150-500mm f:5-6.3 DG OS HSM
    - Sigma 10-20mm f:3.5 EX DC HSM
    Speedlite 580 EX II - Nissin Di866 II - Yongnuo 460-II x2 - Kenko extension tube set - Canon Extender EF 1.4x II
    Manfroto monopod - SILK 700DX Pro tripod - Remote release - Cokin Z-Pro filter box + Various filters

    Current Social Experiment: CAPRIL - Wearing a cape for the month of April to support Beyond Blue
    Visit me on Flickr

  6. #6
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    21 Dec 2009
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    42
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hey Scotty.

    Thanks for that, i had three images, not very good but its something to work on, Im a newbie to photography and found it to be a massive learning curve.

    After seeing the cave photo it stirred something inside that said i want to be that good.

    I did have a problem with saving the image, I think I saved it in "Tif" as the end result, Im open to any suggestions you have

    Regards

    Chris ;p

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    30 May 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    2,599
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Maybe a 16/32 bit thing. Check the mode is 16 bit (not 32)

    I;m newish at HDR too so, I'm not what you'd call an expert.

    Scotty

  8. #8
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,643
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    JPG has to be 8 bit before you try and save it. JPG is an 8-bit format.

    Depending on the software you are using, you might have to save as TIF first, then open in your regular photo editing software, convert to 8bit and save to get a JPG version.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    30 May 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    2,599
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ricktas View Post
    JPG has to be 8 bit before you try and save it. JPG is an 8-bit format.

    Depending on the software you are using, you might have to save as TIF first, then open in your regular photo editing software, convert to 8bit and save to get a JPG version.

    Well, you learn something new ... Thought it was 16 bit.

    Hang on, I just opened a PSD file in Photoshop. The mode says it's 16 bit but allows me to SAVE FOR WEB as a jpg.

    Why's that? Does it convert it itself? If so, why wont it allow the save from 32 bit?

    Confused... Not that this is all that important to my daily existence lol

    Scotty

  10. #10
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,643
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Yep "save for web' converts it to 8bit on the go. Open a PSD that is 16 bit and try going File>Save As..no JPG option.

  11. #11
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    21 Dec 2009
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    42
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Guys

    Should i just save all images to a 16 bit "Tif" file in the future.

    Regards

    Chris

  12. #12
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,643
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    16 bit TIF files are HUGE, but they are very high quality, so it is up to you but make sure you have plenty of hard disk space.

  13. #13
    Ausphotography Regular swifty's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 May 2007
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,440
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Certainly for editing, if possible edit using 16bit Tiff files. Eg. after basic adjustments in RAW, convert to Tiff for further PP. Then it depends on your final output, what you do to the finished file.
    If its web publishing, converting to 8 bit jpeg is most appropriate. For print etc. then its up to you.
    I'm not sure about you but I typical edit maybe only <10% of my shots so saving in Tiff format or even maintaining the layers in PSD file format is not a problem.
    Also, if you start off with an 8 bit jpeg, there's not a lot of point converting to 16bit for editing since you're only placing an 8 bit file in a 16 bit space. There's no additional information there for you to work with.
    Nikon FX

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    20 May 2010
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    70
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hey guys, I am also very new to photography as well as photoshop and Photomatix. I recently went to Bali - unfortunately without my DSLR. I used a point and shoot to take this image. After watching a few tutorials on YouTube to work out how to create an HDR image, this is what i came up with. Im sure some people will think its over board but it was kind of fun for a first play around.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Canon 5D Mkiii / Canon 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM / Canon 70-200mm f/4L USM
    Nikon D5000 / Nikon 35mm f/1.8

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    14 Aug 2006
    Location
    Sanctuary Point - 2 hours south of Sydney
    Posts
    237
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by The Stig View Post
    This is the end result, not the best but I understand how it works ;p

    I did have a hard job saving it in he correct format.

    Chris
    Quote Originally Posted by Scotty72 View Post
    Not bad for a first attempt.

    How many shots did you use. You probably needed another 1 or too to bring out the foreground trees.

    Scotty
    The detail is there in the trees. Adjusting with curves and tones will bring them out.
    This is a quick adjustment to demonstrate. I may not be what The Stig was after but shows other options.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Briancd; 22-05-2010 at 9:21am. Reason: Grammer
    Brian

    My two pet hates are male chauvanists and women who won't do as they are told

    Canon 60D - Canon 17-40mm f4 L USM - Canon 70 - 200mm F4 L IS USM - CANON 24-105MM f4 IS USM - Sigma EF-500 DG Super Flash - Lightroom 4.4 - Photo Elements 11 ****

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    13 Jul 2009
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    130
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The best HDRs ive seen can't even be picked as HDR without being told so.
    Nikon fanGIRL
    Nikon D700, Nikon D300s
    + many lenses
    Flickr || RedBubble ||My Website || facebook

  17. #17
    I am older than I look. peterb666's Avatar
    Join Date
    31 Oct 2009
    Location
    Tura Beach, NSW
    Posts
    3,607
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by chamellieon View Post
    The best HDRs ive seen can't even be picked as HDR without being told so.
    I couldn't agree with you more. I like enhancement of images to make up for deficiencies in the camera or general lighting but not to dominate the image or become the subject itself.

    I have found that many HDR applications have extended the dynamic range and saturation way beyond anything natural and it sometimes feels like you have just been kicked in the face by a photograph (or in some cases a caricature of what was once a photograph).

    A good HDR is great but a overcooked one is a shame as is one that never needed HDR.

  18. #18
    Ausphotography Regular aycee's Avatar
    Join Date
    17 Sep 2008
    Location
    Ravensthorpe
    Posts
    877
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    HDR is not the answer its part of the answer.....you will get a better image i think without halo problems, overcooking or noise problems by taking AEB bracket and manually blending them ....then using lab colour and all sort of manual work and that includes some nice filters available at a cost on the net but not necessary.....

    and the HDR the three of them afterwards and take out little bits..and all HDR programs arent the same..each do some things better than others and Photomatix isnt necessarily the best one..just the best known..its all about sucking it and seeing IMHO

    Alan!
    Canon Gear lenses tripod and enthusiasm "Photography is 90% good lighting and mostly the rest doesnt matter as long as it is in a 5 minute bracket morning and evening" regards Alan!


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •