User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: 450d -Where have my AF points gone??

  1. #1
    Member homebrew's Avatar
    Join Date
    21 Jun 2009
    Location
    Canberra, ACT
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    450d -Where have my AF points gone??



    Hi All,

    I have a little problem with my 450d, I used a brush with one of those little bellows on the end from a reputable camera shop, only problem is it left more bristles in the camera than on the brush.

    I tried cleaning them all out and had to use a cotton bud with some lens cleaner as a result, however the 9 AF points (led) don't glow any more, the middle point has a little hint of the red color but thats it.

    Any advice or easy solution is appreciated, alternatively if it is a big fix for the crew at Canon does anyone know what the cost could be..

    Have a great Christmas one and all.

    Cheers


    Homebrew

  2. #2
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,131
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    They have a sensor that detects the brightness and the glow intensity changes depending on the scene. Are you sure there is something wrong? Try focusing in a dark room, then with the camera pointed at a lightbulb etc.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  3. #3
    Member
    Threadstarter
    homebrew's Avatar
    Join Date
    21 Jun 2009
    Location
    Canberra, ACT
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Ricktas,

    I have tried this but no luck, thought that there may be some holes that I may have blocked or even worse still, maybe I have damaged the focussing part of the camera.

    I can still use the AF point selector and through the eye piece see the green circle led (bottom right) that says that it is ready to shoot.

    The shots appear to turn out alright but it's a strange one..

    Homebrew

  4. #4
    Ausphotography Veteran
    Join Date
    22 Jul 2008
    Location
    Rosebud, Mornington Peninsula
    Posts
    2,839
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hmm i have a lot of rubbish in the viewfinder on the 400D I was told to NEVER touch the af screen part (which is below the viewfinder) with anything other than air cause it will damage it being electronic - so from the sounds of what you are saying you have used a liquid inside which may have contacted the AF screen? - if you cant get those af points back working i would seriously get it checked out cause you may have damaged it

    Another thing to double check is that you havent changed your AF settings to centre point only
    Cat (aka Cathy) - Another Canon user - 400D, 18-55,75-300mm Kit Lens,50mm f1.8, Tamron 90mm f2.8 Macro, Sigma 28-70 f2.8-4 DG, Tripod and a willingness to learn
    Software used: PhotoImpact, Irfanview and a lot of plugins
    We don't make a photograph just with a camera, we bring to the act of photography all the books we have read, the movies we have seen, the music we have heard, the people we have loved. - Ansel Adams


  5. #5
    Member
    Threadstarter
    homebrew's Avatar
    Join Date
    21 Jun 2009
    Location
    Canberra, ACT
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Miaow,

    I think that I need to get the big guns at Canon to have a look, I will continue to see if a blast or two of air will assist but hopes may be fading.

    If anyone has had to have the focussing screen replaced feel free to let me know the cost.

    I have attached a link to a site in the US that has some detail on removing the screen but this is to install one theirs.

    Thanks in advance all.

    http://www.katzeyeoptics.com/item--C...prod_450D.html

    Homebrew

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    03 Dec 2009
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    1,703
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You haven't put the camera into AIServo mode have you? I know with my 40D the focus points don't light up in aiservo mode... worth checking anyway

  7. #7
    can't remember
    Join Date
    16 Apr 2007
    Location
    Ballarat
    Posts
    2,010
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    GCFlora is on the money - there are a few ways to turn AF point display off. Hunt right through the scene modes and custom functons before you give up. In particular reset the camera to the factory defaults.
    Tony

    Edit and critique at will. Tokina 10-17 fish, Canon 10-22, 24-105, 100-400, TS-E 24, 35/1.4, 60 macro, 100L macro, 500/4, Wimberley, MT-24EX, 580EX-II, 1D IV, 7D, 5D II, 50D.

  8. #8
    Member
    Threadstarter
    homebrew's Avatar
    Join Date
    21 Jun 2009
    Location
    Canberra, ACT
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Tannin,

    I have tried all that you recommended and still no luck.

    I spoke to Canon Service in Sydney and they believe that it lies with either the Focussing Lens or the Illumination Plate. Without committing to an actual cost I was advised to expect anywhere from $100 - $300 inclusive of the minimum $64.30 looksee charge.

    Merry Christmas


  9. #9
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban
    Join Date
    09 May 2009
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    147
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This happened to a friend of mine as well after he cleaned it a bit too aggressively, it's something that seems to only afflict the xxxD series

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •