User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Outdoor flash question

  1. #1
    Member wiley's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Dec 2009
    Location
    a nice seaside town
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Outdoor flash question

    When using fill flash outdoors....I tend to cheat, and use spot metering/TTL auto flash.
    How would I decide what flash power level to choose, when shooting manually, or using a lens where TTL is not an option?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,831
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Dunno what camera system you use, but TTL does not work on a Nikon in spot metering mode

    I always use Matrix and TTL-BL in this scenario
    Darren
    Gear : Nikon Goodness
    Website : http://www.peakactionimages.com
    Please support Precious Hearts
    Constructive Critique of my images always appreciated

  3. #3
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban
    Join Date
    09 May 2009
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    147
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Flash exposure metering is not tied to the lens electronics, it's tied to what is seen through the lens. It will only fail to work when you have the lens cap on

    For manual flash, you have to use Trial and error (using LCD) and/or use a Light meter

    Canon Flash exposure metering does not use spot metering, it only uses Evaluative or Average (different from the evaluative in exposure metering). Spot metering is for ambient light measures

  4. #4
    Member
    Threadstarter
    wiley's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Dec 2009
    Location
    a nice seaside town
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thank you for the input, the Camera being used is a Nikon and l had suspected a light meter might be of use here.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,831
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I dont understand the correlation between what lens you are using and not being able to use TTL/Auto metering in the first place ?

    In essence, why are you using flash on manual

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    30 Apr 2008
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    140
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Honestly, dont waste your money on a light meter.

    Check your LCD, check your histogram, and bump the light up or down based on what you need.

    Ive been doing this for years and these days I can usually get it within one stop each time.

    Trial and error. Its real simple and much cheaper.
    Brodie Butler (Perth, WA)
    Photographer / Filmmaker / Retoucher
    Canon & Elinchrom user

  7. #7
    In Training MarkChap's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Jan 2008
    Location
    Widgee,
    Posts
    2,255
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by wiley View Post
    How would I decide what flash power level to choose, when shooting manually,
    Aperture = Guide Number divided by Distance
    Distance = Guide Number divided by Aperture

    So essentially if you meter the scene with the camera and then want to pop a small amount of fill flash in on manual, you would need to adjust your flash power and distance to suit the aperture you have chosen for the exposure of the scene.
    Smoke Alarms Save Lives, Install One Today
    I shoot Canon
    Cheers, Mark


  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    13 Dec 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    2,051
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Like Brodie said, with digital, just chimp. With practice, youll find you get pretty close off the bat.
    Hi Im Darren

    www.darrengrayphotography.com

    SONY A850 (FF)] + GRIP | SONY A350 (APS-C) + GRIP | SONY NEX-5 +16 2.8 + 18-55 E-MOUNT LENSES | CZ 85 1.4 | 50 1.4 | 28-75 2.8 | 70-200 2.8 | 2 x 42AMs | 24" imac | LR | CS4 | + loads of other junk


  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    19 Jan 2009
    Location
    Cranbourne
    Posts
    232
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by bigdazzler View Post
    Like Brodie said, with digital, just chimp. With practice, youll find you get pretty close off the bat.
    Daz.....just chimp........No.......nobody chimps in here .........do they ????????
    Cheers Peter
    Canon 7D...Canon 40D...Canon 24-70L 2.8...Canon 70-200L 2.8...Canon 17-85...Canon 50mm...Speedlights....Tripods...Filters... Battery grips.... And heaps of other stuff


    There are always two people in every picture.. the photographer and the viewer.

  10. #10
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban
    Join Date
    09 May 2009
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    147
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The problem with using trial and error
    to chimp the exposure is that it takes time, time which may not be available for professional type jobs. You also annoy the models too, making for worse expressions

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    13 Dec 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    2,051
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    chimping shouldnt take any longer than a couple of test shots when youre pretty close with your estimations already.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •