User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Lightroom: quick query

  1. #1
    Account Closed
    Join Date
    13 Nov 2009
    Location
    Near Bendigo
    Posts
    27
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Lightroom: quick query

    Been having a play with Lightroom 3 Beta (Mac), my first experience with this program in any form. So, I make some adjustments to an image, exposure, contrast, whatever, then - how do I save those changes? Is this done automatically or have I missed something really basic? Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,837
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    the changes you make to the image is not made to the actual physical file, and are instead only stored in the lightroom database

    To apply the changes to the image you need to export it as another file, or print it
    Darren
    Gear : Nikon Goodness
    Website : http://www.peakactionimages.com
    Please support Precious Hearts
    Constructive Critique of my images always appreciated

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    13 Mar 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    686
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Lightroom never actually "saves" the changes you make to the file. It keeps the original file intact and remembers the edits you've made in a separate file. Then when it is rendering it on the screen for you it applies those edits over the top of the original.

    To "save" your changes to an actual file for use you need to "Export" that image to a file and then it will write a new file with the edits applied to wherever you specify.

    Lightroom is effectively a cataloguing/database program with minor editing functions. It's primary role is cataloguing and not as an editor. Mind you it is getting more and more powerful with what it can do in an editing sense.
    Michael.

    Camera: Canon EOS 400D w/ Battery Grip (BG-E3)
    Lenses: Sigma 10-20, Sigma 24-70, Canon 50 f/1.8 & Sigma 70-200
    Software: Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 1.4 and Photoshop CS3
    Photos: http://www.flickr.com/photos/mrjorge/

  4. #4
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,137
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Lightroom does not physically alter your file at all. It creates what is called a sidecar file, this is just a small file that contains a set of instructions of the changes you have made. Therefore you do not need to 'save', it all happens automatically, on the fly.

    This method of working means you always have the original file, and you can have several 'sidecar' files that are instructions for different processing of the same original.

    So saving is automatic, but it is not really saving your edits to the photo itself, it is saving a set of instructions about what edits you did.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,837
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    lol, we all wrote three responses at the same time

    Im glad we all agree

    Tony

    Give me a call, my number's on my website if you want a 10 minute "get up and go with LR tutorial"

  6. #6
    Account Closed
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    13 Nov 2009
    Location
    Near Bendigo
    Posts
    27
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks gents. Got it! So, if working on a JPEG, for example, I can apply changes without touching the original, therefore resulting in non-lossy processing of JPEG? Does it work like that? If so, 'twould be good.

    Kiwi

    Thanks for that offer.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,837
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yes, it works like that...you can go and reset the settings you have applied at any time.

  8. #8
    Account Closed
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    13 Nov 2009
    Location
    Near Bendigo
    Posts
    27
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Bewdy ripper tube! That's enough for me. Thanks, Kiwi.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    13 Mar 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    686
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Another happy AP customer

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,837
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My 2009 AP invoice is in the mail

    You got yours yet Michael ?

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    13 Mar 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    686
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Still waiting on my pay out

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,837
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Oh Tony, while we are at this

    Look at the history in the left hand pane in the develop module

    works a bit like layers in that you can click back through the history and see the effect (or remove the effect) of each change, works great especially is you use lots of presets like I do to fix up my dreadful OOC shots

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    13 Mar 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    686
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by kiwi View Post
    works great especially is you use lots of presets like I do to fix up my dreadful OOC shots
    Oh brother! Cry me a river! <--- closest I can get to a violin playing animation

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •